You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thinking to write -Writing to think

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

To an extent that is true , but a big vocabulary can also become a crutch to make poor ideas sound good . Advice you often hear about persuasive writing is to stick to simple words (mind you, t-hat is for non-fiction) Scott Adams has some great writing advice too :

Sort:  

Wow, that was useful. Reminded me of the good stuff I learned in my writing classes and forgot when I started doing research and writing for publications in academic journals (which shows in my writing). I will have to practice a bit more now.

What I meant, however, was that choosing the right and concise words actually helps with writing simple. You don't need to use "heavy" words, of course. It is more of a difference between "clear and short" and "concise". I find it to be very important.

Hehe my wife has the same issue . Academic writing seems to sit on the oposite end of the scale.
And I agree with classic fiction writers (need to read more of them). For non fiction I think a lot of people are copying style over function though...