Ancient Wars - Dwarfish Runes Introduction

in #writing6 years ago

Dwarfish Runes post cover.png

Ancient Wars is the name of my upcoming novel series/franchise. Central to the story and theme of Ancient Wars are the Dwarf Kingdoms.

I have developed a lot about the Dwarfs. Their culture, their clans, details about their military and physiology. I had even gone as far as to develop to begin developing a language for them, very much like J. R. R. Tolkien did for elvish in Lord of the Rings.

Additional to language, we all know fantasy Dwarfs use Runes. Because of this I developed some runes.

Dwarfish is a very efficient language and so are their runes. Technical, informative and condensed. Their runes and their language needed to say a lot about the dwarfs themselves.

So I do not yet have a working rune set for language itself. The runes that I have developed is to deal with numeracy. Dwarfs work in a number base of 14. We work in decimals which has a digit for zero, nine units and then a one and zero meaning a ten. Ten tens is a hundred and so on.

With a base of fourteen there is a zero, then a number for every digit from 1 to thirteen and then another rune that means 14.

I will be posting these up little bits of time and I invite anyone to learn them if they want. Being published here on the will make them safely my intellectual property after all.