PEOPLE I IDOLISE

in #writing6 years ago

You never ask.. Well I have two:

Sue Townsend.

She created Adrian Mole; my hands down favourite character ever. I've read nearly everything shes ever published. To me, she's an inspiration. I remember the week she died, because Peaches Geldof also died, which took up all the big headlines. I think I actually cried, because I was devastated I'd never read anything new by her. I said I'd read nearly everything... because I want to save something. Sad right?

Paul Birtill.

Assumed to be still alive, but very good at being a recluse. Trust me, I've tried to find him. A few years ago, some guy leant me his poetry book, and I'd promised to give it back. I never did, and that might be the best/worst thing I ever did. Because this book helped me so much, more than I can say. I'm no poet, but PB definitely influenced my writing style. I'm still not a massive poetry fan, but this book is like a Bible to me. And it's fucking signed.

Tell me about your heroes, please?

Sort:  

Ah I have so many, people I follow for inspiration and their insight on the dude's side i'd say:

  • Elon Musk
  • Garry Vaynerchuck
  • Chamath Palihapitiya
  • Rand Fishkin
  • Jordon Peterson

On the ladies side

  • Danica Patrick
  • Abby Martin
  • Kathryn Minshew

Oh I've heard of Elon Musk.. sorry, I'm not as clever as I think I am, cos I don't know any others, why do you like them (not all of them, yer fave few)?

All for pretty similar reasons they overcame mad odd to achieve their dreams and they’re not afraid to speak their minds and say it like it is!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @tigerlily321! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

i believe they did a series once.. the tune kinda stuck in your head..