Irreverent, Sociopathic Writing Prompt Generator with a Sense of Humor and Strange Interests

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Whenever I go to the writing prompt generator to get a prompt, I can't stop playing around with it instead of writing. I'm talking about "Seventh Sanctum", the writing prompt generator found here

http://www.seventhsanctum.com/generate.php?Genname=writeprompt

If it were a person, I'd describe it as an irreverent sociopath with a dry and twisted sense of humor, and an unswerving interest in occult conspiracies. Here's some evidence:

"Oh religion . . . time to break.

"Oh ignorance . . . time to torture."

"The girl will be screaming all day, which was really amazing."

"My life is almost exactly like the story of Oliver Twist, only bloodier, which is awesome."

By the way, it spits out a lot of these, "my life is like..." prompts. Here were some of my favorites:

"If my life gets any more like the legend of Sparticus I'm going to become an airline pilot."
This is just...wow. You'd have to be a creative genius to pull this one off.

"My life is basically the legend of the Wandering Jew, only I am more ugly than you'd expect."
I thought this was an anti-semitic joke, didn't know he was a real thing.

"My life is just like the story of the Odyssey, only funnier, which is horrible."
Dunno, I think I could stomach a comedical remake of the Odyssey.

"My life is essentially the legend of Orion, except I'm a manager."
Could be interesting, sounds like the opening line of a dark comedy.

"My life is basically the story of Rumplestiltskin, only sexier."
hahaha I actually LOLed at this one

Sometimes it does make mistakes though. At least I assume they're mistakes:

"Many people believe we survived the biological war by hiding his factory."
Really? I would've thought that hiding in *the factory would be more useful."

"Getting old is my business partner, war is my business partner."
Which is it? Or are getting old, war and you all partners? Confused...

"I used to be a life support technician, with my restaurants and my restaurants."
*I suppose the repetition could be for effect, but I can't tell what that would be."

This is a tale about cruelty, alchoholism, and a famine--and it's a story not worth telling.
Not sure if that's a challenge or what?

There's also a "what if" generator that displays its inability to stray from what seems to be a constant preoccupation:

...the sinking of Atlantis involved psychics?
This one's true.
...Mao Tse Tung was connected to Benedict Arnold by a secret society?
This one's also true.
...Alexander Bell, Alfred Nobel, and Prince Charles were connected by a secret society?
This one's definitely true.
...today's most commonplace technology was mind control?
This one's true if you're in Hollywood.
...the fall of Satan involved mind control?
...the fall of Satan involved secret science?
...the fall of Satan involved occult arts?
...the fall of Satan involved a secret society?
...the fall of Satan had never happened?
Seriously, you would not believe how much this one comes up.

And here are two random ones that I could find images for. It's not that I was lazy. I mean you try to find an image of Spartacus piloting a plane or a bloody Oliver Twist.

"I used to be a terrorist, with my banks and my temples, and it is awesome."
Terrorist with bank and temples...Are you sure you don't mean "central banker"?

"I was a starshp salesperson, until the economic collapse."
So the Federal Reserve is still around in the future huh? That sucks.