How Many Words Is A Short Story Or Flash Fiction: The Differnt Word Counts Of A Story

in #writing6 years ago

Depending on how long your work is, you story will be considered be a different name. This is not a definitive list, different sources will move the word count here and there. This is just a way to classify length, and you can say short story or novel to make it easier, but in case you're wondering, here is the list:

Drabble: A drabble is around 100 words. But you can tell a story for less. There is a story about Hemmingway who won a bet in a bar when he was challenged to write a story in six words (This is known now as a six-word story). He wrote "For sale: baby shoes, never worn." That sentence said more than some novels do. Drabbles are good if you have an idea you want to get out but don't have the environment or characters to expand on it. This length is good for a quick post on steemit if you have an idea but can't take it further.

Flash Fiction: This is what I write a lot of on steemit. It is considered flash if it is under a 1,000 words but that is a good length for a social media site. There are other terms like dribble for 50 and sudden fiction for 750, but I like flash as an umbrella term. You can get out an idea, a character or two, and even explore a section of a world in that length. You don't want to flesh out too much in that small space but for a quick tale or an interesting idea, this is a good length.

Short Story: This is the normal length that many people are familiar with. A story that is less than 7,500 is considered a short. Shorts are long enough to let you explore a world and a character but short enough that the writer must keep it clean. Short stories can be as deep as a novel and Alice Munroe, who won the nobel prize for writing, exclusively wrote shorts. This is also a good length for people writing posts on this site as it gives them the space to tell a great story and is still digestable.

Novelette: This is another term term that you don't hear often. People usually just use novella but anything that is 7,500 to 17,500 is technically a novelette. For this length as long as novella, I find they just happen naturally when you are telling a story. Sometimes a character or an event needs more room and yo find yourself here. I think you should let the story be whatever length it is going to be and if that happens to be a novelette, then so be it.

Novella: Anything that is 17,500 to 40,000 is a novella. If you are trying to publish your work, it might be in your interest to make it a novel but if the story only needs so many words, then for quality, it is better to make it a novella. This, as with novelette, is an odd length for a steemit post but could be broken into pieces.

Novel: The standard measure of a story. A novel has to be over 40,000 words. That is the cut-off. This is for a full exploration of characters, worlds and events. If you are going to post a novel into your steemit account, you should do so with chapters or pieces. blogging-336375_1280.jpg

Sort:  

This informative post contain a very basic information about different writing formats of story.

Yes.. This post is very informatif and very usefull for us..

hard to become novelis

to become a good writer you need lot of skills but everybody should utilize his spare time in writing it really pays a lot be it your imagination, writing ability exploring different areas etc.

Very informative post bro

This comment has received a 0.29 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @steemgainer.

You boost your own comments too. Thats awesome bruv

I really see this list as being most helpful, it resumes exactly what needs to be known when writing, especially here. Thanks!

Hi. First time I read this classification. I would like to continue deepening. At the level of the schools it is very important to stimulate the writing of stories, narratives and other types of texts so that children can take ownership of the importance of writing. I will take it to my blog. thank you

It's not like everybody writes a story. I am very careful of foreigners and foreigners who I have read and read. The person who turns it can write the story from the beginning. Thank you for the information.

What the actual fuck?

You got a 28.72% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @whatageek!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

woaahh so hard to become novelist ^^

This is quite interesting i only heard of like three of these types I never knew there were more and that there were classification on word count as well good read.

Very interesting story..thanks have share brother.

excellent post, I love your work really seems to me of very good content, keep it up, congratulations I always follow your work

Educative. I did not know the other types of writing, except for short story and Novel. I didn't know there were so many. I consider myself a Flash writer too. Like you said, it's perfect for Steemit. You don't want to make your pot way too long that they require hours of reading. You will lose your followers.

Loading...

It's nice to know that stories can be classified into different type of categories just based on word count.

I struggle so much just to get started writing fiction or even non-fiction but I think the trick here is to write as short as possible.

Then as I get more confident where I want to extend the story then it will go into these phases that are identified here.

From drabble to flash to short story to novelette to novella and finally a novel.

Nice to know what the roadmap is here in writing.

inspiring article bro...thanks

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @postpromoter valued at 95.00 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Congratulations @whatageek, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Hero account holder (accounts that hold between 10 and 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Hero account holders during this period was 345 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3502.32. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

The content is very much needy to beginner's writing. I really appreciate it. Thanks for sharing...

Thanks buddy over his science, after I read your writing increased again the science of how I write a good and true. Success for you.
Best Regard @airil280708

Thanks for the breakdown. I never knew the full scope. It would be interesting to see the response of a novel posted on steemit. lol.

Great information, I must remember them.

Very informative and interesting. Thank you for sharing)

Thanks for the clarification. I'm in the process of writing a short story, but due to word and page count it's hard figure out which format it's going to be.

As someone who writes stories as a hobby, this is definitely something I find useful. Thanks for the info.

Congratulations @whatageek!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 8 with $ 232,4

The information you share is very good for people who are beginning to write basic texts. I had the doubt if the extension of a text defines the gender. Thank you.

I love drabbles, they show that there is so much to be said with little words. In spanish we call them "microstories", and I find it a challenge to write them. What do you think about the Hemmingway story? I've heard it's wrongly attributed to him.

Steady and extraordinary your post, thank you for sharing

I just started writing. Now I understand some of them are drabbles and the others are short stories. I did not have a clue on Novelette and Novella.
Thanks for the information. I upvoted and will follow you. I am new to Steemit community and need support from you all. Please help.

Thanks for this insight .
Twas very helpful 👌👌👍

Very nice! I have a creative writing degree and have never been presented with definitions this clear :)

This contains amaizing information

I've been started my writing carier with poem in 8th grade, then I was started to writing short story then novel till the date. It was fun but now I can't write a short story.

posting a very good friend good luck always.apvote and follow me too yes

Hello, good content, enjoy it. regards

Thank you! I typically write at the novella length (about the 20k word range) - I've done a novel, but I don't enjoy the length in my style of writing - it almost seems forced. Novellas allow me to "get in and get out" and make it short and sweet, but still with enough substance to have a good story out of it. But again, it's hard to find someone willing to publish it for me. (But for Steemit, it might be ideal.)

I've become more familiar with "flash fiction" (I like that term) since joining Steemit, and even came in 3rd place in a recent contest to do a story of only 199 words! Still, I prefer the novella. :-)

Thanks for the article, knowing the terms is very useful!

wanna read another short story? check out Zombies Need Not Apply https://steemit.com/entertaining/@keeco/zombies-need-not-apply

really cool post that very useful once
@tasier22

This is a great and unique. I love it @whatageek