wtf do i do with all these veggies?

in #wtf7 years ago

soooo the CSA was way more overwhelming than I imagined. I also have no idea how to go about blogging about the veggies since they repeat throughout the weeks. I also try to use a bunch of veggies in one dish- kinda makes me feel like i'm on chopped! I saved up a bunch of photos and recipes and will go back through what i've created. I always try to keep it simple, something imagined in my head without looking at a cookbook or going to a store to buy more ingredients.
i guess my style of cooking is seasonal kitchen sink. (did i just invent a fuckin cookin style?! shhh let me believe it)

two thursdays ago, i picked up my csa, and managed to make an insanely delicious salad from the goods i picked up- it didn't take toooo long to make (maybe 30 min). and i used some much veg in just one meal!

IMG_1620.JPG
roasted carrots, apple, tomato, toasted pine nuts, cotija cheese salad with homemade green goddess dressing

IMG_1586.JPG

roasted carrots
-preheat oven to 350
-cut off the tops and soak in cold water or put to the side to wash later
-scrub the carrots
-slice down the middle (long ways), if they're thick, slice the halves in half so you come out with long quarters
-place in a lined (aluminum or parchment) baking sheet
-drizzle olive oil, salt, pepper, honey, and some sort of hot pepper flake (I use Cappy's -it's literally great on everything, run by a husband and wife team in LA, you can find them at the Calabasas Farmers Market on Saturdays!)
-roast for 15-20min
IMG_1614.JPG

Green Goddess Dressing
I used the NYT recipe but with a few replacements.
Herbs I used: carrot tops, dill, basil. Instead of mayo I used greek yogurt, and I didn't have any anchovies so I skipped them. dressing came out SO good. def was eating it by the spoonful
IMG_1595.JPG

IMG_1617.JPG

thinly slice up apples, grate or slice some cotija cheese, toast pine nuts (in oven for like 5-7min) wash & dry lettuce (i had two types of lettuce from the CSA so I used both), slice up some tomatoes, assemble, and you are good to go!

IMG_1590.JPG

IMG_1605.JPG

IMG_1619.JPG