Never Before Seen WWII Photos (1)

in #wwii6 years ago (edited)

Hey, what's up Steemit?

Today is the official start of my WWII photo series. These photos have been never before been seen and I am excited to share them all with you. These were taken by my grandfather while stationed overseas, in Europe, at the end of the war. You can read more about that here.

We are staring out at the beginning of one roll of film and unfortunately, I cannot be exactly certain this is in chronological order. As you will see in the first picture below, the Base he is at was captured during the last month of the war. It could simply be that is when he first acquired a camera, but it is hard to say. None the less we have over 400 exciting photos of battlefields, tanks, cities, planes, etc. to look through.

DF3FA60E-3763-4DAA-93DA-AA6D6BFADD73.jpeg

Here is my grandfather Joe on the left and some hard-charging ol’ Sarge on the right (plus a photobombing pup). This headquarters is located in south-central Germany in Bavaria. The Americans captured it and began using it to launch P47 Thunderbolts, which probably explains why we have that P47 in my original post. The airfield was used for attack missions and as a place to stage the wounded. You can read more about that here.

C1FD939D-8C17-4ACD-96E3-1514EB1BB6EF.jpeg

Next up we have this striking young man posing with a guitar chilling out behind a desk. One can only assume that this is an office in the headquarters there at Kitzigen already decorated with some lovely ladies of the day. From what I am guessing we have on the bottom left Joan Crawford, bottom right Lana Turner, top left Lucille Ball, and the top right is unknown to me. Please correct me in the comments if I am wrong or if you know who the other lady is. If only we could make out the date on the newspaper!

75C7894B-1F85-4134-8E26-27580D971310.jpeg

Lastly, here we have a sort of blemished (overexposed) photo of a young man driving a supply truck. I wish I knew exactly what type of truck it is, but sadly I do not.

Thanks everyone for stopping by and please up vote and Re-steam this post! I am really enjoying all the comments and feedback from all you folks thank you very much!

I own all of these photographs so please respect my family history and ask permission prior to use.

Sort:  

howdy there balticbadger! another interesting post my friend, and curie liked it too, great job!

Thank you, sir! Wishing you a great night/morning!

Resteemed to over 19300 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

#resteembot #bestofresteembot #winwithresteembot #resteembotvip

@resteem.bot

Become one of our VIPs like @amigurumi for 1 month free resteems and upvotes.

Byteball is doing a airdrop on Steemit, where you can get 10 $ - 160 $ for free. More infos here.

@resteem.bot

I spent a few weeks at that base before it closed down in 2003. I was there in 2002 working. I really liked that base

Wow, that's pretty cool! I was in the Army but never had the opportunity to serve in Germany, everyone I talked to who had been there loved it. I was stationed at Ft. Bragg Germany was my second choice. As fate would have it we moved to Germany anyway and plan on staying, we like it so much.

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

That's awesome thank you for doing that!

Wow the photo of the guy with the guitar is really great! So cool the quality is good enough to see the pinup girls. Love all of these. This is such a cool series you are sharing :)

Thanks a lot! I am really amazed too, finding so many things in these photos I had not seen before.

Congratulations @balticbadger! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Amazing again..this series is about to get interesting :)

Thank you, Alice! 😁

Your welcome :)