My Love Story

in #wylschallenge6 years ago

I took a commercial bus from Uyo to Calabar, in Nigeria on 7th November 2014. I was really tired from my journey. It was roughly 2 hours journey and the preparation for the journey was hectic. I had so many luggage ( as a lady we pack both necessary and unnecessary things😆). I was struggling and trying so hard to carry my luggage and not leave any one behind because I was going to take an uber to my destination. Then this guy, walked up to me and offered to help. While he was helping me he started gushing about how much he thinks I am beautiful. I looked at him in his uniform... A cleaner at the park?!😡 such effrontery. He couldn't differentiate girls of his calibre or what? I rolled my eyes and let him do all the carrying himself. I just made up my mind that he wasn't my type. He was just a mere park cleaner😑.

He asked of my name, I lied and told him Mary(that's the name I tell people when I don't want to disclose any information about me). He kept talking and I decided I wasn't going to pay any sort of attention to him.

Just before I found a taxi he asked for my number. Well, we exchanged numbers because I thought I will need his 'carrying' services later and just to remember his face u looked at him.
Omg! He was really handsome, tall and Dark, with light brown eyes.
But I ignored his physical features, reminding myself that he was just a cleaner.

He called me several times and I didn't pick. One night I got bored and picked his call. We discussed at length.

He told me how he has been struggling for two years to make sure his younger sister and only sibling finished her secondary school just like he did. since his parents passed away in a car accident.
He told me about his dreams and aspirations.
I felt terrible for looking down on him. We continued speaking on phone and we got to know ourselves better. I started developing strong feelings for him🙈 wishing that it was reciprocated.

And daaannngggg! He asked me on a date💃... Destination: the park. With time I understood he didn't have money to fund the classy date he thought I would have liked, hence the hesitation to ask me out on a date.

I arrived with some snacks..We strolled around the park with our hands entwined eating and playing subtly💑 like lovers. We talked about every and anything. It was a wonderful date.

download (1).jpeg

We couldn't wait for our second Valentine together. We talked about it almost every time we discussed.
On 10th of February I travelled for a wedding hoping to return any day before 14th February. I and planned out a little Valentine surprise for him. I was going to tell him I will love to be his girlfriend and that I love him🙈.

On 12th February, I got a call from his sister that he was rushed to the hospital. He was down with hyperthermia with no definite diagnosis.

By 4am on 13th February, I got a call from his sister. This time she told me He was dead.

I was in shock.

I never got the chance to tell him that I love him.

I never got the chance to tell him that I would love to be his girlfriend.

I never got the chance to tell him thank you for teaching me more about life.

He never got the chance to know the surprise I planned out for him for Valentine.

Derek, you thought me a lot. You thought me never to look down on any one.

You never got the chance to call me your girlfriend.

Thank you for coming into my life. Thank you for seeing that proud saucy girl at the park and still talking to her.

If you love anyone or have feelings for anyone, don't bottle it up inside. Tell them your mind today because you may never get the chance again.
d63.jpg

Happy Valentine!

Picture credit: google