Check yourself before...

in #wysiwyg-vyb2 years ago
}

I stumbled onto a statement yesterday that brought everything into focus.

> Many of the long-time bloggers on Hive - looking at you @taskmaster4450 and @tarazkp - have often called your Hive account a "business".

How depressing.

(This was from the latest HiveStats update post, so I think I'm safe in saying that it's a fairly echoed POV in the LEO community, I added the tag in support).

That detachment from humanity is a huge flaw in logic, imo. When we start talking about automation, AI, "enter sci-fi scenario that seemed impossible 20 years ago, but now.." and there is a separation on this level... I see these mentalities as doomed to fail (well, depends how many coins you have in your pocket really, nice food and wine can soothe the ignoramus).

My Hive account? It's me. An expression of myself. Verified and real.

---

There is a vicious circle that is being returned to over and over. It always has these things involved. Money. Hierarchy. Limited perception.

When you see everything in terms of monetisation and rewards, do you carry along the same old mental models that come with them? That being thoughts and feelings of fear, greed, survival, dog-eat-dog, slippery ladders, rats in go-karts.

Paranoia is another one. The python around the mind. I had a realisation yesterday about it and security in particular. Is there room for paranoia if you take what you need and give more than you can carry? I don't think so.

...

This has been a relatively heavy one for 9am on a Friday morning. I guess I'm just tired of waking up to see the same ol' shite being plastered around these Hive walls. I'm a more-or-less silent passenger in the MANNA and BrightID projects (Hedge for Humanity) after all. They do seem to be making some solid strides forward.

Anyway... ask yourself, is your Hive account a bank/business? Or is it, you?

Consider the implications of them both being the same thing and think about how that may taint the mind.

You do know what a Metaverse is, right? It's on top of your shoulders.




Sort:  

Right on! I love the frank and honest openess you seem to protray in this content, sometimes we need to unhinder ourselves and speak from the source and I believe you have done this quite well, It ain't easy to speak with such honesty and I commend you for doing what many are afraid to do.

My applause is echoed by those afraid to speak, but I will happily back this geasture with my word whatever may come.

Lord knows we have all wasted endless hours pursueing material we once thought relevant only to find out that is no longer the case, Time to move on and add value to the content that resonates...

Some important food for thought, to be sure.

Hive (and what thereof follows) is definitely not a business. However, I might call it a game, and I have long been fascinated by the gamification of the social web.

A long time ago, I was attracted to the old chain by the idea of the immutability of the blockchain, and the possibility of being able to finally leave some long term thoughts here as a more permanent record. Having been part of "social content that pays" since 1999, and having watched every single one crash and burn on the premise of money making as a primary objective... I have some skepticism of the business angle. Not suggesting that this can't — as a sideline — end up as a nice long term savings account, but that's a whole different kettle of fish from "a business."

"A business" means I'd set up shop here and sell something for Hive, as the transactional currency. And I actually still hope that could come to pass. Because I am also still a (naively, perhaps?) believer in the original premise of cryptocurrencies as... currencies, rather than the wen-Moon-where's-my-Lambo conventional Wall Street financial greed that seemed to usurp the whole concept somewhere along the way.

And yes, I still read both Taraz and Taskmaster. And I still have my MANNA (or whatever the latest incarnation is called) account...

=^..^=

I really enjoyed this video clip!

So, in my opinion, it is a little unfeasible to treat the Hive account as a service/business only, mainly depending on the profile of who says this, in my case it's kind of impossible because I have an ambition to be very sincere and only write what really I feel that it is naturally mine, which, as we well know, does not bring the biggest payouts. It is obvious that I hope to make a profit from my content and I dedicate myself to writing hoping for rewards, but I have a vision of being little by little creating a framework of information, of content around here that will be fixed on the blockchain for eternity, setting up a little bit of the scenario of life that I have and had, and who knows, this will be a kind of diary for the future, where my grandchildren will end up looking up my name on google and will end up in this immense social wikipedia. If all this brings me financial benefits, of course I will have more momentum to stay dedicated, but I think back to the whole pre-social media era, when we would dedicate to writing hours of content on obscure blogs with complex addresses for practically no one to read, and we would without thinking about any profit.

Seeing it as a business is nothing unusual. Hard to find someone focused on creating content online fulltime not working to establish their brand; then selling merch for instance. Kind of difficult to be an artist or entertainer and avoid all aspects of the arts and entertainment industry.

People can run a business in life and have their usuals come in. Like a bar or coffee shop. It's not unusual to become friends with these people and shoot the shit with them. Of course treating them with respect and dignity. It's not an act.

I've always treated the money side of things like a business. I think it's great people show up to my party, and get rewarded, because I made the choice to manage my money in a way that grants me these opportunities.

And never in the history of arts and entertainment could someone come along to enjoy whatever it is being offered, not be charged a fee, and leave with more money than they started with.

The exact opposite of 'selling out'.

What is art without eyes? What is a joke without laughs? The people come before the money. Now look around. Look at all those blogs where folks post daily, for rewards, and not people. If they applied even the tiniest bit of business common sense and flipped it, working to impress and be interesting, they'd be making more, getting more views, and making a lot more friends. One cannot run a business by becoming disconnected to the people.

The truly disconnected types are the ones sitting there surrounded by silence, trying to earn, and nothing else. Thinking people are only there to sprinkle crypto on them.

Totally fine to just come here and shoot the shit as well, relax, have fun, do whatever. Nobody frowns upon that. Some people build parks, some people enjoy parks. Some people go to movies, some people make movies. Takes all kinds to build a community.

Imagine if content was rewarded for it's quality rather than it's insider connections!

Maybe we will achieve that on VYB because it will never happen on Hive...

It is though. At least in my case. And you saw that, from damn near day one.

Several others as well. I've always thought it to be unfortunate people knock others down for doing well and just write it off as doing something wrong. Frowning upon any available genuine success stories with negative attitudes. I've not once enjoyed being around that element. It's like I'm not even allowed to say, "Yeah, you can get somewhere here and accomplish things. There's a future if you want it." Yet I'm living proof. Absolutely no control over what comes in and how many people show up. It just happens, like it's supposed to, by design.

When I'm out voting, I'm only voting for things I like, when I like them. I have one account, and never once used an automated service. Tried to set a good example. But at the same time, I'm not in the business of telling others what to do and how to do it.

I've been watching VYB. Closely. If it happens on VYB it's happening on Hive. It's all the same. There are no walls between communities. Just roads. Those 'dividers' are an illusion. Segregation will be your downfall if that's the goal.

I disagree with several of your points here but you like to argue and I'm a bit over it. @onealpha.vyb clearly likes your comment, and he is fully entitled to give you a surprisingly large upvote for it.

You like to knock people down. Hopefully you don't expect folks to sit there and take it. What is there to disagree with? Everything I said there is true. Every single line. But let me guess, in a couple days out of the blue you'll come call me a prick again, like you've been doing; because it's me that likes to argue?

For someone who has nothing to say in return, that was one of the lousiest excuses I've ever seen. Saying 'nothing' would have been more productive. I have no control over what onealpha wants to vote for either. You know him better than me.

Like I said I've been watching VYB. Here's your opportunity to be a 'whale' and play a lead role. Every tiny little thing you do affects the reputation of the entire brand. I'm rooting for you folks so try not to run it into the ground.

OK you argumentative prick...

PS. Thanks for firing me up to write todays post!

Do you realize I'm not even attacking you?

Imagine if content was rewarded for it's quality rather than it's insider connections!

Well noted.
Generous rewards on a very HIGH QUALITY posts start to appear :

That post cracked me up, and I make a point of giving a generous upvote to anything that makes me laugh.

Right now I think this place needs laughter more than ever! Humour is quality too.

Depends on point of view.
I see there post with only 8 typed authentic characters, and 4 copy-paste GIF's, without source (which perfectly match the definition of plagiation)

Long ago you downvoted one of my alt accounts for a post containing one original meme and 10 copy paste memes - no big deal, we are only talking a few cents, but that was my first ever interaction with you, and it struck me that you were not into memes.

Fair enough, not everyone is, I'm not into actifit posts but I don't go around downvoting them or telling other people not to upvote them.

What I'm trying to say here, is that if we are both going to be VYB whales, wouldn't it work better if we respected each other curation preferences?

2021-12-17_121207.jpg

You mean you're not into posting the same boring crap twice a day and earning lots of hive from your insider mates? Why not, it's a great business...

LOL, it sure is. Not my cup of tea mind. The penny will surely drop, right?
It's going to be interesting to see how this all develops, I'm here to have fun and to shuffle some embers every now and then.

I actually read taskmaster's post yesterday for the first time in a while. It seemed to be in support of the legacy philosophies that were expressed in that HackerNoon post I shared with him. Oh how the mind boggles.

Pennies seldom seem to drop!

I suspect that as well as liking lots of insider votes they also like the the sound of whatever it is they type their endless words on...

dog-eat-dog, slippery ladders, rats in go-karts.
Paranoia is another one. The python around the mind.

Dude what's with all the animals yo.......you mention three in a row....and 'dawg' twice...........I'm here yo....WOOF........ya hear me?

Hey WOOFER, we're all part of this animal kingdom! Dogs, cats, birds, sheep, chameleons, snakes, cows, fish, and the list goes on!

I'll never forget the flaminbarge though, you can count on that 😎

Social capital before financial... every time!😍

Definitely!

I can understand some of the why behind the mindset which leads me to the conclusion that it isn't pushed in a malicious way.

taskmaster4450 for instance has been creating content for years and as robotic as he may appear to be at times, he's still susceptible to crowd-think. I still remember when I shared an article on HackerNoon with him about Bitcoin distribution which ended up inspiring a post of his about it (that was a real sense of accomplishment at the time as he was my favourite author on the chain, almost 4 years ago now).

tarazkp was a favourite of mine too. I remember a post he shared years ago, which I reblogged, that told of his issues with video games and how he'd wasted countless hours on them over the years. He'd made the decision to stop entirely and move forward with the intention to make up for the lost time. I related and the memory still sticks with me. You can see how he's poured himself into content creation, his posts are very open still to this day. Although again, he is not susceptible to crowd-think.

These authors definitely shaped my thinking back in the day. If you check the comments you'll probably see me as one of the fanboys, dropping by and hoping to connect in some way. These days I am genuinely bored of that kind of content (not to say I always will be, that's just how tastes change) and would much rather spend my time exploring depths of creativity instead of technicality and information.

Does this mean I dislike these guys? Of course not. How could I possibly when they've been a part of helping me discover sides of myself in this confusing, yet beautiful, environment (and they still continue to do so, just not in the same light of the past).

At the end of the day, they remain part of your journey. It may be that the fundamentals of their content has not changed at all, simply your perspective on it has, and how it influences and shapes your life. ;-) I think you are right that the positive take from all of this is clarifying for yourself what type of content feeds your soul, inspires you and propels you forward. Personally, I find it very fortuitous that you are immersed in the depths of creativity, as this is the type of writing that inspires me and propels me forward hehe...and the cycles and spirals continue...ever outward ...ever inward 💗

hehehe I dont mind people seeing it as a business.

I don't mind people seeing it as an expression of themselves.

I see it as something I thoroughly enjoy, made connections with people all over the world, invited people to share in my dreem and help it all to thrive, and also get to make great investments that have paid off along the way!

i don't really mind what anyone feels about it - whatever floats their boat is great for them.

But for me - i find my peace in my own definition and marinate in it hehehehe

love you my Cal

But for me - i find my peace in my own definition and marinate in it hehehehe

This is where I'm at too, it's silly thinking that one point of view is the right way to think (imagine thinking that? lol).

You guys at Dreemport have been inspiring me a lot lately actually! Maybe it's because I'm seeing more of your posts up on POB (from @wrestlingdesires excellent curating 😎). The peeps over there really know how to get down with the good times, and that's church, yo!

Love you too Leah! Hope you're having a wonderful day ❤️