Abow on.. Postless in Seattle

in #yinyang7 years ago (edited)

Well, I was away for a while but back now. (and not in Seattle)
Apologies to followers but things got very busy.
Being a coder means that you have to keep up with the multitude of technologies, some for work and some for fun and some for both.
A few weeks back, I picked up three Raspberry pi 3's and a pi 0.
Though normally a new computer does not mean much work, these little puppies, though simpe and small took up a great deal of my time.
Not only did I need to get comfortable with Linux, I also had to push towards learning Python.
With some sudo commands behind me now and a few quick python scripts, I now have a few mini desktops lying around the house to post from. I will also use them for gathering data. Unlike Windows, anything beyond simple requires a bit more work, downloading, config and typing.

My dungeon station:
pidesk.jpg
I also own close to 20 domains which all are in dier need of updating.
I started playing with w3.css styling, which I am liking a bit more than min.js due to the lesser amount of additional modules required. This in turn also rolled into some SSL updates, blah and a blah and a blah. :)
That being said, I am hoping to start back up at getting some daily posts going now that it is easier.
I am digging the pi's.
I picked up the voice hit and was able to set one of the pi's up with google voice, so now I also have someone to talk to.
OK Google, how do I become a whale? "Eat more donuts" she said.
Just kidding.. but with all of that aside, I am acutally posting this from it. heh.
Since I am doing much more with AWS at work, learning python is a must. It is however somewhat similar to perl so I do not find it too dificult. I keep getting tricked on indents, so it is somewhat finicky.
It also supports Windows IOT, so that will be fun to play with some of my existing .net code.
I did notice that since I am older and obviously my eyes matured as well, soldering some of the HAT components were a bit more of a challenge. I built a speaker HAT which you had to solder all of the GPIO pins.. wow, it was a challenge to see if the solder actually took. I do not think I have taken out my soldering iron in about 20. With all of the micro soldering, I figured it would be a dinosaur from the past and at one point almost threw it away. Glad I didn't.

So here is the new 64 bit computer I am typing this on in the dungeon. Cute, ain't she?
NewPC.jpg
I can see where this can be a great thing for young people to get more intimate with computers, it is actually a lot of fun and there are a multitude of add ons you can get. I picked up a few dozen HATs to play with. btw, a HAT is just a small circuit board that does something, like relays, sound, cameras, etc.
That being said..
Don't let your yin yang..
yinyang.png
It is good to be back.
abow out...

Sort:  

Long time no see you ! Best friend