You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1,500 Words of Triumph: What Influence Has Yoga Had On Your Life?

in #yoga7 years ago (edited)

You bring up some valuable things. I find that the more regularly I practice, the easier it is to maintain a regular practice! If I skip a day or two, it's a lot easier to continue skipping days and then it feels "harder" to get back into a routine. But no matter how long it's been, every time I come back to my mat it comes right back to me. But what it gives me/what I take from it can be different with every single session.

Yes, I agree that the breath is foundational! I think it's way more important than the physical postures, but in many of the Western yoga classes I've been to more emphasis is placed on the poses than the breath. I think it's vital to keep the focus on the breath! Plus, the breath is ALWAYS accessible, no matter what you're doing you're always breathing. If you're at the office or driving around or something, it's harder to pop into a headstand to reset yourself than to take like 10 really deep, amazing breaths. :)

Yoga is so fast and effective for conscious reprogramming because it has the unique ability to activate the sympathetic & parasympathetic nervous system at the same time IF you learn to tie your movement to your breath. It's fascinating to look at the science behind it all!

I highly recommend giving it another shot if you have turned away from your practice. The poses and even breathing are only a few aspects of a really rich yoga practice, and perhaps if you look at it again you will find the exact aspect you need in this moment :)
Motivation & commitment are a few of my biggest challenges with a practice. If I get bored with a physical practice, I find it might be time to crank up the intensity, or sometimes even switch to something more mellow and nurturing. OR it might be time to consider deeper meditation and less movement for a bit.

For me, even if I'm not getting physical every day, yoga is a lifestyle that I can never fully disengage.

Blessings, @mattmcclanahan~*~