Yosemite National Park Fee increase.

in #yosemite7 years ago

I don't really have much to say about it, because I don't know all the details as to why it's increasing.
I went to Yosemite just this last September.
I paid some 35 odd bucks to be allowed in for the week in my sedan. Prices are different for trucks, campers, etc.
Now I read that Trump was not only increasing National Park entrance fees, but they were going to be More than Doubled. Now, I can honestly say most of my trips to yosemite are day trips, and I have no issue paying 35$ to enjoy such a wonderful environment for a few hours. But 86$, no fucking way. That's a motel, or a decent steak dinner for 4.
I happened to be there last, on the day of the landslide. It was pretty crazy, despite being on a different side of the park. One mans life was taken by the mountain, and his wife was injured. Scary, because they were in the place me and my wife planned on going to, but didn't make it cause we arrived later than planned.
I will say that the Park Rangers lock ads at tbeir job up here, keeping everyone safe, and the park clean. If the fee increase benefited them or their wage, maybe I could see it as reasonable, but thats not the case. Its all additional revenue for the Government, and more specifically, the POS POTUS.