You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Secret Behind Our Explosive YouTube Growth

in #youtube6 years ago (edited)

This post, with over $50.00 in payouts, has used the following bid-bots.

postpromoter payout in the amount of $92.20 USD.
promobot payout in the amount of $40.42 USD.
smartmarket payout in the amount of $0.83 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value in the amount of $133.45 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform.

Please consider the long term effect on our platform before using bidbots!

You can read more about how bidbots are affecting our platform here.

This comment is by no means a judgement of your work @tangerinetravels, only an earnest appeal that we might all work together to build a great platform by letting the community curate our work and not bidbots.

@Transparencybot is a non-profit initiative, please consider supporting it and the transparency it brings to our platform.

Sort:  

Thanks, @transparencybot! This is our first time promoting a post. We really wanted to give a behind-the-scenes look at​ the tremendous amount of effort that goes into producing our videos.

Thanks, @tangerinetravels.
You’re being a real sport about @transparencybot. Really appreciated.
I just hope other people will react in the same way ;0)

I don't like the fact that bidbots have become so prevalent on this platform but it seems to me that they're here to stay. At least until a drastic change takes place (like the upcoming communities, for example).

I wish Steemit.com would create something that allowed users to promote posts up near the top of the home/trending page where instead of using a bid bot, the Steem/SBD would be burned. Sure, there is the "Promoted" tab that does exactly that, but does it ever get clicked on? I don't think so. Those promoted posts need to be more visible if we want that way of promotion to be used.

As long as bidbots are a thing here on Steem, I'd like to see them be used to promote the absolute best content. I think the trending page over the past months has been filled with mostly trash. Someone coming to Steemit for the first time would most likely see the trending page and think "Nah, this isn't for me." I know that's what I'd think if I didn't know anything about the platform and saw the trending page for the first time!

One good thing about bidbots is that it makes Steem Power more useful. Now, SP owners can earn a consistent income off of their investment. But does that make up for the negatives? Probably not.

I'm hopeful that communities will change this place for the better. Until then, I hope people will write up great posts and promote those to the top. That way, as long as bidbots have their place, we can showcase much of the outstanding work that so many Steemians have to offer. That's what the outside world needs to see, not the garbage that usually fills the trending page.

I completely agree. I think creators of quality content need to be as vain as the spammers are. If you have the money, buy your way up. But that won’ t help the people that have little or no money...

I don’t even dare to show thevplatform to my friends - lol. I don’t want them to think that’s the place I’m spending my time.

I think promoted content should be labeled as promoted content, and maybe even have its place. But I think posts should be rewarded by other authors because they are of good quality. Like it was originally intended to be.

But then you get the circle-jerking again...
Honestly, I don’t think most people are responsible enough to handle the system in a fair way. But that’s just my two cents...