A Steem-powered Twitter competitor is coming soon... & if you haven't got some ZAPPL from Openledger, you're doing this wrong. Invest in a piece of social media history.

in #zappl7 years ago

1. What is Zappl? Why not just use Steemit.com or Busy.org?

Zappl.io is going to be a brand new take on a Steem powered social media website, instead of a Reddit like experience the developers are going to take advantage of the Steem blockchain to create Twitter-like experience, that will hopefully be the next big thing since the inception of Steemit.com. The content on Zappl will show on Steemit.com, but Steemit.com content will not show on Zappl, from what I understand, meaning Zappl will be an ecosystem entirely of its own making. Which will hopefully be complimentary to both Busy.org and Steemit.com because it will provide yet another avenue to onboard users onto the Steem blockchain.

Imagine how many people we can sign up without them having to be writers, bloggers, vloggers or anything special at all, normal folks are going to flock in like crazy! It's going to be like the launch of Steemit, but with even more blockchain noobs, new investors & social media gurus. I don't think we can even properly estimate how fast this could blow up if launched properly... and after talking to the team I feel confident they will deliver a solid product that is not only fun to use but worthwhile and user focused from day 1.

2. Is it based on Steemit or are 'Zappl's' a new currency?

Zappl's are technically a new currency but there were only a certain amount issued on Bitshares as a way to get start up funding, 1 SBD is equal to 1 Zappl and there will be a buy back in the future to reimburse all early investors. As I write this post Zappl.io says they are roughly 80% funded and there is only roughly 8,500 Zappl available to purchase on OpenLedger.io, so if you are looking to help fund the project and get some neat perks at launch and access to investor information along the development timeline, be sure to hop onto OL and get that done quickly. You will need to have 1 SBD for every Zappl you wish to purchase. 

3. Why is this a big deal, why should I care?

Twitter didn't get lucky, they make millions of dollars because they built a product people would like to use, lets face it, people have short attention spans and forcing them to write large essays in order to get any sort of reward even just pennies is sort of like expecting people to work for pennies an hour, it just won't happen. So the entire selling point for Steemit just wen't out the window for these type of folks. But if you give them 256 characters, image processing, and some cool emojis, I bet you every single one of those people who didn't use the site before comes back in full force ready to use your brand new service, 24/7... mark my words. Tweeting is so easy even Donald Trump can do it, but when's the last time you saw Trump write an essay, make some custom images, upload to the internet, then go around marketing his post for 3 days? I thought so. Twitter's just has a better concept I fully believe Zappl has a chance to make the Steem blockchain really shine with this format they are chasing.

4. When does it launch? How do I sign up?

Everyone who has a Steemit.com account will automatically have a Zappl account, due to the fact they will both use the Zappl blockchain which is going to be good for not only Zappl but for Steemit as well obviously. So just watch zappl.io or follow @Zappl for more information as it is being developed.

5. How do I get Zappl's right now? Why should I buy early?

There are current roughly 8,500 Zappl left to purchase on OpenLedgar and they only way to purchase is with SBD. 1 SBD = 1 ZAPPL and you will get rewards listed below depending on how much you purchase:

https://steemit.com/zappl/@zappl/the-perks-of-contributing-to-zappl

6. Where Can I learn More about Zappl?

https://steemit.com/zappl/@zappl/sneak-peak-video-of-zappl

https://steemit.com/growth-proposals/@zappl/proposal-bringing-a-twitter-like-service-to-steemit

https://steemit.com/zappl/@zappl/zappl-bitshares-crowd-sale

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@zappl/zappl-decentralized-micro-blogging-social-media-website

I personally decided to go with buying 250ish Zappl, and I look forward to watching this ground breaking idea come to life. I already use the crap out of Twitter so this will be wonderful for me! Feel free to follow me on Twitter until Zappl launches, oh wait just follow me on Steemit, should be the same follower list I would assume...

Closing Points

Either way, if you read my last post "How I turned $500 into $25,000, and will most likely turn that into millions and you can too. [aka Crypto101]" you will know these are the investments that, if you believe in, you would be smart to invest in. Besides, they are going to buy the Zappl tokens back at a later day at higher prices anyways, AND give you cool perks for investing early. Win win.


Twitter has millions of average, everyday users, there is very little skill involved and that is the golden mixture for onboarding people to the wonderful world of Steemit, this project is going to be HUGE. Looking forward to seeing everyone supporting both Steemit & Zappl!

Sort:  

Also: upvote this please for some Zappl exposure!

ugh I would but I can't stand reddit lol, sharing everywhere else though this is awesome!

What a great update on the new upcoming Zappl!

Thanks for sharing and I do stay tuned... Namaste :)

Awesome, the more of the archaic social media platforms we can replace the better. :) Looking forward to its launch. I agree that it seems Twitter fills a valuable niche that needs to get Steemrolled.

Thats the idea man! 1 by 1 they shall fall.

Amen to that.

You are doing such good work everywhere.

I have not heard back from you recently but I named you in some more posts and PIVX blogs ( a few times) online the last few weeks as a force.

I have't really been able to keep up with all the pings I get in PIVX slack and the history is deleted every 2 days :/ I saw your twitter message though and upvoted a couple of your items!

I know you are busy, I saw that one month and some of your trending stats, you picked up some ridiculous huge stats over a short period, it caught my eye also LOL!!

Btw the posts, tweets and PIVX slack stuff, I wanted everyone to know how good you have been for that community and stated it a few times.

Good job buddy.

I didn't know either of you were into PIVX, I'm on the slack too but like everyone these days can't keep up with all the messages lol...Nice to see you both here though, and how awesome is this Zappl???

Wow! I just heard about this... Innovations like this are going to change the world. This is the beginning of the end for centralized systems!

Imagine all the possibilities of the Steem blockchain now...

To making the world a better place lol :)

I would... LOVE a Steem-powered Twitter.
Twitter is succumbing to what I like to term "tumblr-itis", thus a new platform with the advantages of microblogging (and the power of Steem) would be a win-win

Exactly! It's going to be the most awesome social media site out there (besides steemit :p)

This sounds awesome, and thanks for the heads up. I have noticed that almost every time an ICO lists the token on the exchanges it drops in price right out of the gate then kinda levels off in one or two days around a certain price. I'll wait till it hits the exchange and buy in then. Have just been burned too many times with overpriced ICO tokens. I have more patience now!

The Zappl's themselves are useless and will be purchased back from you by the Zappl team in the future anyways, less risk this way... sorta.

Gotcha, love the PIVX shield by the way, I went into PIVX hard at around .20 cents. Holding and staking until the end! They need to get the Zerocoin protocol out!

I've been told thats the #1 focus of the devs right now, give it a few months should have some solid progress.

Awesome, Looking at the roadmap, if they can get the zerocoin and elastic blocks going it will have much more staying power.

That was 10 minutes ago.

Great, PIVX about to take flight!

Interestingly, 1 SBD every day for the longest time now, is actually trading way above the $1 USD peg -- so every SBD has been trading for ~ $1.50 on average now for quite awhile.

And as high as $2 briefly. It's worth about $1.70 USD today, so that should be noted.

That was because everyone suddenly needed a bunch of SBD and started buying it on the markets, I paid $1.70 -1.84 for my SBD since everything else is locked away.

Thanks for sharing! I will follow them for more news!

Thank god. Love the twitter style of social media but it feels so stagnant now. Nothing new except more ads and now the broadcast television? Let's go full STEEM ahead!

Gab.ai was touted as a Twitter challenger, but I've yet to see it "take off."

Never even heard of it, could be why? :p

awsome work mate...

I visited OpenLedger.io, which promptly froze Chrome colder than a witches arse. Won't make that mistake again :-(

Lol perhaps try Firefox? It worked fine on Chrome for me though so thats odd..

Chrome. I couldn't close the tab (or do anything else on the page)

Congratulations @decentralizd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

what's this all about? did you win a prize lol?

All of this is getting out of control. Hopefully they all win.

Oooh, how exciting! Great article, thanks for the heads up; I'll be curious to see how Zappl develops.

So let me get this clear , we shall get reward with Steem ? or with Zapps ??

Very cool. It is going to be exciting to see where Zappl goes. Currently I am a Gold Member Zapster but I am thinking about going even further. It seems like this can really take off. What do you think 1 Zappl will be worth 1 year after launch?! We shall see!

nice post. i also witnessed and promoted this project from the start. the first phase is now 100% funded by the Steemit community and everyone is excited to see the alpha version in Aug. 2017...

I love Twitter, so Zappl will also get my love when it launches. Plus there will be an added advantage to post things on it to earn Cryptocurrency. It's a really a brilliant idea. Thanks for the heads up.

and with more characters allowed than Twitter too right?? I'm like a kid in the candy store lol

this is exciting times

now following you here and at twitter to keep on top of this new site.