When your phone number is spoofed, it really is a pain...

in #zappl6 years ago

Found out today my phone number was spoofed. People calling/texting me in response to call or text someone made, but not me. I didn't even know such a thing happened! Only recourse is change phone number. Years of contacts to notify... sigh

Sort:  

Yooo the same thing happened to me. WTF did we get on that takes your number like that????

I found out that AT&T has had a lot of this spoofing going on in the Nashville area code area (615). My cell phone (and only phone) had a 615 area code. Makes me wonder if it was done by someone inside AT&T. Surely you have to have the technology to do this. But I also had one part of my website where my phone number shows. Taking number off business cards, brochures, website, etc. now. I now know why I don't see many websites with phone numbers on them nowadays. But I really don't know how or why I was "picked". Makes 2 Factor authorization a pain when number is changed....