Zero waste, a personal journey. Part 1.5: Composting in action - my garden

in #zero-waste6 years ago (edited)

As I mentioned in Part 1, composting took over 70% of the load of my trash, allowing me to go from one garbage bag a day to one each 3-4 days.

This is good enough, but the best is the opportunity it created. It allowed me to have a healthy vegetable garden without buying dirt, or any additive. Granted, there is more to the story. I'm using permaculture principles galore here to the best of my limited knowledge.

My garden is savage, and I only work on it a couple of times a year. To save seed, to seed, and to clean up for the next session. I don't disturb the dirt, just add on top of what I have.

Here are some images along the time:

cantgero-red.jpg

lechuga 2017.jpg

zapallo-red.jpg

nispero red.jpg

Do you have an edible garden? Are you a permaculture fan? I want to hear all about it. Please leave me a comment below so we are in touch.

Next Post in my Zero-waste journey. Making soap out of used oil.