A Solution to Consolidate Bitshares 2 Wallet Login Types

in #bitshares6 years ago

The Bitshares GUI wallet currently has 2 types of logins that operate 2 differnt wallet types. It is a cause of confusion and one source of constant password and login issues. I propose here that it is not necessary. Only a single wallet type is required. A user should never have to "switch" wallet types.

The Givens

The Cloud wallet derives private keys from the password.
The Local wallet gets private keys from an encrypted local file.

Either way you are loging in with your private-keys.

After obtaining the private key they operate in exactly the same way.
There's clearly no reason to seperate into two different wallet types after this point.

Unifying the Two Types

The only function a local wallet has that a cloud wallet doesn't is storing multiple accounts keys.

It is possible to unify the 2 types, while retaining all the vaious functions like multiple accounts, login from anywhere, backup files, etc while still maintaining the same levels of security we offer now.

Bringing the two types together is fairly simple in design, I don't know how difficult the actual code changes would be.

A user would be given a login window. Username and Password. The password can be either the private key for the account or the password from which the keys are derived(same as current cloud login).

Within any account you have what I'm calling a Key-Ring, or Key-File, or just simply a backup file. For a single account this is just a list of that accounts private keys. The Key-Ring can be downloaded(backup) and encrypted with a password of their choice. This isn't really necessary if you only have 1 account and have the password but the function is there anyway if someone has a use for it. Maybe for offline storage with simplified password, unencrypted or maybe a brain-key.

Loging in with the password or private key is the equivalent of the cloud-wallet-login. Access from anywhere.

For the local wallet I propose a simple button in the field for username that allows you to select a Key-File (key-ring , backup). The user then enters the encryption password for the key-file. The first set of keys found can work as the active account while the remaining keys can be easily switched to from a menu item(like we have now in local wallet).

A user would be able to add and remove accounts from their key-ring(backup) file whenever they want. As well as create and save any number of different key-files containing the accounts of their choosing.

Security

Currently the cloud wallet auto generates a password that is roughly equivalent in difficulty to brute-force as the private-key itself. No change is necessary here so a single account retains the same level of security as we have now.

The local wallet we have now is just an encrypted file containing the private keys for the various accounts. This is no different than the proposed Key-File(backup). The Key-File can be just as secure as an individual account depending on the strength of the encryption password used. The local file is also secured by the fact that it is not a public file on the internet and only the user should ideally have access to it. I want to point out that logging in with a key-file is not necessarily more secure than logging in with the generated password or private-key. As all accounts are subject to brute-force against the private keys. The file isn't necessary for this. The keys and generated passwords are long enough though, that this kind of attack should be impossible.

Switching accounts

The current Local Wallet enjoys the ability to hold multiple accounts and can switch between them easily without having to supply a new password. The proposed model would have exactly the same feature. Supplying the password for the Key-File gives access to all the keys for the multiple accounts within.

Do you see any problems with the above rough outline for a consolidated login/wallet ?
Please let me know in the comments.
I appreciate any feedback, suggestions, and criticism.

Thanks.
-Xel

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

hey man,

pardon the off-topic comment…

I made a post today regarding a large-scale idea to advance Steem’s development, am aiming to get this in front of the audience who’d be in the position to do something with/about it, and it was recommended to share with the witnesses (hence, this):


The $1 Billion Steem Development Fund: How Steemit Inc.'s Stake Could Be Best Allocated To Grow A Thriving Network Of Applications And Users...

would be cool if you could have a read, and IF you feel it’d be a great idea that’d serve the community, forward to anyone in particular you know who might be in a position of influence to advance the discussion.

either way, your continued service to this (and the Bitshares) community is appreciated. 🙏

cheers,

Rok

hey man :) are you still alive ?

Thank you for posting @xeldal.

Your proposal is sound and would likely correct the confusion.

It is a bit disconcerting to see the options appear on the page and then one wonders...am I doing this right?....I still do not know if I am using it correctly however as long as one can trade...everything must be alright...at least one hopes so.

Thank you for your service.

Wishing you and yours a Happy Christmas.

Cheers.

I did in Italian a video guide how to use bitshares, I'm thinking in the future to build a complete series guide how to use this amazing exchange's platform. Is completely in Italian and also, is an unique guide at this moment. Fell free to watch it ;)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@zaragast/bitshares-exchanger-decentralizzato

Hi @xeldal, Trust you are well? I am just wondering what it will take for me to get on your autovoter like the other creators you support? I have been a daily content creator for the last year, doing at least 3 posts a day (dtube, steemhunt, steempress) and I have made a considerable progress for my account. I am currently seeking support to help meet my SP goals for the year and I truly believe you could hold my hand in this journey . Please put me into consideration,
<3 Elsie.

Loading...

Hello @xeldal,

You are one of my Steemit witnesses almost from the beginning, and I'm here to inform you of a fantastic opportunity to promote STEEM.

Please check out the information in my article:

STEEM On Netcoins Contest: EVERYbody Wins!

While I have greatly appreciated your support in the past, I'm not looking for your vote or reSteem...

I am asking you to take action to promote this opportunity!
It seems clear to me that it will benefit the entire Steemit community.

Thank you in advance for your consideration!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks kind of helpful tips! Thank you for sharing with us. Looking forward for a new post

useful info ,thnks

Thanks for sharing, this post is very useful for the community

am I allowed to use your content in my telegram channel mentioning the reference?
for learning purposes..
not many followers on steemit yet..but I can refer to this in my telegram channel

useful great post @ xeldal :)
and cute name by the way :) xel dal

thanks for sharing post

i new and i started with bts , for me works brilliand but i still to have a lot to learn

Very informative. thanks a lot

Good information~

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

Hi pal. I've just been getting my head around Bitshares. I noticed you're a witness over there so I dropped you a vote. I also noticed you are a witness here as well so I've just dropped you a vote here too.

I know I'm a bit late to the game but I'm really excited about Bitshares and will be using it a lot. Thank you for maintaining the block chain.

@fortified

Hey there, you are among the Chosen Ones on my post on Dmaina. I think this post is great and could attract a lot of attention. If you think the same, kindly share with your followers as well. Here is the link to it.
https://dmania.lol/post/talhajaved8/all-steemians-should-be-proud-zg1hbmlh-7osju

Hi @xeldal,

Apologies for the unrelated comment. but I am running a project called the Steemit Success initiative, which is a project that aims to support and aid the growth and development of Steemit as a platform, as well as increase the amount of DAUs by helping them develop on the platform.

I am currently looking for support on the project, and I would really appreciate any advice/support that you can offer. I have set a two month goal of 20K-30K of delegations, and to have run at least a few workshops around Dublin, have upvoted 5-10 undervalued posts a day, and to have a full guide to growing on Steemit as a beginner available as a Udemy course, which I will provide for free if I can get support on the project.

If you want to know more, I am happy to talk on Discord or Steemit Chat (or email if that is easier), as I would really like to get the project moving as much as I can! Thanks for all of the work that you do.

followed you and voted!!

great info. voted and followed you man!

Hello dear we will see soon in new topic ? Because it's been a long time.

I spent many hours trying all different options to get cloud login from local wallet before finding this post, costing BTS each time. Now I see it isn't possible at this moment, your ideas are what is needed and expected. For the time being I shall have to uses two different types of login accounts, one for local logins and a completely separate one for access by cloud, which will cost double BTS to use, and doubling my cryptocurrency accounts, splitting funds. Please can someone blend the two so I can consolidate funds into one place and reduce my headaches. Many thanks for the explaination

Hello @xeldal. I was reaching out to people both on and off Steemit to do a couple a email interviews and would like to have one with you. Do let me know if that is fine.

this is very handy info thanks

i have searched for you post but i didnot know how to make attention of you
sir kindly have a look on my blog @xeldal
https://steemit.com/art/@samiurrehman10/bracelet-making-for-steemian-xeldal
DQmUHonfE6Df8aDmHYAKRfxSuTFF7Z6ojoVnmEdNZT4DbAC.jpg

and dont mind it

Greetings, @xeldal,

Please pardon this 'off-topic' comment as coming from a Steemian who has followed and supported you with my witness vote for a long, long time.

I'm here to ask: When do you plan to adopt Steemit condenser version 19.10?

I encourage you to update your witness node to 19.10 at the earliest possible opportunity, so that its much needed and long awaited features might be released as soon as possible for our use and enjoyment.

Thank you kindly in advance for your prompt action in expediting this matter.

Your supporter,

@creatr

😄😇😄

@creatr

Congratulations @xeldal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 74000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @xeldal! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @xeldal

I just bumped into your account a moment ago and I was wondering if you gaved up on Steemit already?

It would be such a shame if this platform would lose someone who invested that much into it.

Yours
Piotr

@xeldal. Wow. I came all the way to say and appreciate your help and support. Thank you again. And also. Thanks for being who you truly are, even your name speak more of you to the greatness. Thanks. Greetings from Nigeria.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi there,
I am the administrator of a manual curation project in Spain @templo looking for some support for daily cutarion, I have not found a way to contact you in another way, I hope at least one day you can take into account this humble request, so sorry to abuse your kindness, regards

Congratulations @xeldal! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 81000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 82000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hugs. I sincerely wish many successes in your publications and curations. Greetings with affection from Cumaná-Venezuela.

Thanks for this article.

Thank you for your contribution.

I want to thank you for your activism and concern for human rights. Here’s my post on Palestine: https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@yahia-lababidi/does-palestine-have-the-right

Thank you sir, I appreciate the upvote on our Twitter promotion. It helps us to move forward to grow our community by promoting Hive on Twitter. Cheers

Hello @xeldal noticed that you weren't upvote following lately on the @v4vapid upvote, did something go wrong?

This is @truthforce writing.

Please let me know, thanks!

this is something extraordinary, but so far I have never felt a mistake, thank you for sharing your experience, very useful for everyone, good luck

Excellent publication, esteemed @xeldal , it is propitious the occasion to thank the visits that you make to my publications on yoga. I wish you every success in your publishing work and in curating our works. congratulations. @omarrojas

Thank you for article information. I'm speechless becouse you upvote my post. I'm very very happy dear. I wish u always success. Thank u so much❤❤❤❤❤❤☘️☘️💝💝💝💝💝💝🙏🙏🙏😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😍😍😍😍

Thank you for article information. I'm speechless becouse you upvote my post. I'm very very happy dear. I wish u always success. Thank u so much❤❤❤❤❤❤☘️☘️💝💝💝💝💝💝🙏🙏🙏😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😍😍😍😍

very useful, have a nice day

amigo espero su visita y apoyo con su voto, soy venezolana en crisis de pais, saludos y gracias

There are 2 pages
Pages