You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The value of effort

in #effort9 months ago

The "population" you are talking about is probably at ease, financially.

Dunno which communities you hang out but that's not what I see where I'm hanging out.

Anyway, all I want to point out is that the comment section is empty on many posts I see - even when the post is earning a lot. And it's kind of sad to see.

I think some form of content just needs tips that empty generic praises. I see good visual art content, I got no words but still in awe. I don't need to comment I'm in awe. I do it on socmed, do you do this too? just press like and leave even when it's decent content? I don't know, maybe I do it on youtube videos I like.

Post earning is not correlated to post quality and/or the engagement it generates. I think that may cause a problem in the long run.

I agree on the first sentence but I don't think there is inherently a problem with that. Some content are just consumed as ah, ok nice, move on. Nothing wrong with the quality and etc, it's just content that leaves less room for any meaningful discussions and taken as is on impression. Some content receiving nice votes can just be explained by the author being likable enough. If Taylor Swift just said Hi Hive on a post, hypothetically if the legit one ever did bother, people/fans are going to upvote it to a hundred dollars and I wouldn't really care about it, that's their opinion of content worth rewarding. It would probably drive more traffic to the blockchain than regular posts about how someone's day went.

Sort:  

Thanks for the talk, I don't want to debate this more than necessary. I'm not against anything you say. I think diverging opinions are important for any community. I just have a feeling that Hive is a touchy subject around here, and we can't say anything against it. I like Hive, else I wouldn't waste my time here. But nothing is perfect.

I just often see actually good comments @ 0 reward, and that makes me a tiny bit sad for those people.