The value of effort

in #effort8 months ago

Hive, much like many other cryptocurrencies, at its core, is people buying the currency and people selling it. On a day by day basis this determines its value, supply and demand. Now there's many factors involved of course, but I just wanted to bring this up for those who may have forgotten or are new to the ecosystem while I go on talking about providing value to the ecosystem.

Let's look at buyers first, it could be many different ones with different plans and thoughts behind it. It could be short term buyers, those willing to place some value in the token on exchanges then quickly placing a sell order at a price higher than what they bought it for. They don't care about the token, what it does, what they can do with it, etc. They just want a certain profit out of it and they move on after that. Much of these could also be done by bots in many forms.

Then you have your medium to long term buyers, these could also be regular people or institutions, countries, what have you. As long as they have access to Binance and the plethora of currencies offered to be traded there, they may dip their toes in some Hive and want to keep it alongside others for a few months to a few years and maybe take some profit then.

Lastly, you have those who actually do research, check out the pages like hive.io, some of our front-ends, read up on FAQ, create an account, get involved, etc. This is a minority of people I reckon but they do exist and join every now and then. These are the ones who get the most out of Hive as it requires some knowledge to make the most out of it. That said, this minority may become even smaller considering the unstaking period and many not being okay with their value being locked up for 13 weeks, but that's the way it is for now.

Those who've done their research and are investing with long term in mind get the most benefits, they can stake their liquid Hive, earn 3.2% APR on HP and another 8.5% on average from curation or delegating their stake out to some projects. In a way you can also consider that those holding liquid Hive for longer periods are being diluted by those keeping it staked. If everyone had Hive staked there would be very little liquidity on the exchanges but close to no one would then be "losing out" on returns. This also means, since currently over half of all Hive in existence is liquid, that those staying staked are earning even more at these times than if there was more hive staked than liquid. This is because the inflation of Hive is constant but decreasing over time, this new Hive has "got to go out", whether it goes to you or me, that depends on curation, but if you're holding your Hive liquid, you don't get a say in it. If 75% was staked compared to current under 50%, you'd be earning less from APR and curation rewards and if it was 100% then you'd be earning half of what you earn now. This is why people often tell you that during these bear markets is the best time to be active and make the most of it, this and because there's usually less active authors and curators as well, although the latter not as much as the former.

Now let's take a look at some of that activity.

There's a lot of different kinds of active users as well, some that are passive, they've invested or earned in the past and are now mainly earning curation rewards and HP APR or potentially also HBD APR. Then there's also those who have earned in the past, have invested and are also active posting. Add on other things, like having a witness, getting funded by the DHF, being involved in many dapps and earning various tokens, etc. If you've been very active on this chain for all its lifetime, you generally do really well when it comes to earnings, unless, well, you've never really provided much value or made any good connections.


I was initially going to get through many different kind of Hive accounts here and their activity, but I think that would become a much longer post, maybe I'll save that for another time but I'm sure most of you reading this can imagine there's many different ways some people go about their earnings on Hive and what they choose or are forced to do with them for one reason or another.

Let's instead start talking about the point I wanted to make with this post initially. Value.

As you can imagine, those long term investors, either off-chain or on-chain, are one of the reasons Hive has value to begin with. It's one of the reasons posts have a $ value assigned to it and people can earn from such activity, if there were no investors, we'd all just be earning tokens worth close to nothing (look up blurt I guess to see what that's like). Those investors who are very active here are looking to distribute their inflation towards activities they deem worthy of rewards, they either entrust others to do the distributing for them or do it themselves. Obviously it's not always the case but I think most investors and regular users here would want the token to appreciate in value because that would open quite a lot of more doors for opportunity and growth and to put the chain to test in regards to scalability.

I personally curate my feed quite often, I follow some accounts (when I remember) based off of reblogs or other curators but one thing I put a lot of importance on is their activity. They've got to be active on chain socially. The thought process behind this is that most users who are here aren't some bigshot influencers or investors with a lot of connections outside of the ecosystem. At the same time very few of them are providing content that's so valuable in and of itself that it's driving a lot of traffic from within and outside towards their posts. I made a post some time ago asking that if there was a subscription method on Hive where you'd have to subscribe to certain authors to be able to consume their content and if they would pay for it, very few said they would and very few of them could name any authors that came to mind. While this is normal at this size of the platform and this amount of "revenue" through inflation, it also proves my point that most of the content here in and of itself isn't that valuable.

I have of course tried my best to give everyone an opportunity to bring more value to their content through things like Proof of Sharing, even though that got nipped in the bud by Twitter for now. The issue I have with some users is that they think they can just be content with posting and earning rewards without a care in the world if anyone is consuming it or if their presence is bringing any value to the platform. Value and posts and everything is very objective of course, I'm not going to debate that, but at the current stage there's not that much of a difference between one post or another. Based on genre's, originality, the author, there's a lot of factors there too, but let's for instance take this post by myself as an example.

Someone who's been around quite a bit on Hive could've easily written a similar post themselves. This user, same as me, would also not have any outside influence, i.e. being able to direct traffic or share this post somewhere where they could bring a lot of readers to it who may not have a Hive account yet or be aware of the platform. Similarly let's also assume that other than posting, this user doesn't do anything else on and around Hive. Posting is all there is for both of us, without even getting into rewards, long term viewpoint with their stake, curation, etc.

Now let's say this user is very active with responding to comments left on his post, he replies to most of them, maybe upvotes a few without responding. It generates a lot of discussions back and forth and his average comments per post equals about 20. Me on the other hand haven't responded to a comment in months, don't even curate any of them, the only thing I do is just post day in and out and earn some rewards based on my consistency with posting.

The question now is, if the content is of similar quality, similar genre and similar rewards earned, which one of these users would you downvote if you had to downvote one of them?

Now of course downvotes may not be the best example here, many choose not to participate in it at all and most of the time I can't blame them as it's quite a headache. A better question is probably, who would you support with your votes if you had to choose either or, or if you'd vote one of them higher than the other.

Here as well there's a lot of factors involved, you may know one of them personally, you may have a history with one of them, etc, then there may also be some backroom handshakes and deals between curator and author we may not know about. Then there could also be difference of comments, maybe one of them is just posting "good post" over and over or "thanks" as a reply to comments and that's all they do while the other has a lot more effort behind his.

My main point for this example is that, since most of us here today don't have an influence outside of the ecosystem and at the same time aren't such well established or sought after authors where people are on their edge of the seat waiting for new content from us, we may want to reward those more who at least keep attention from within on their posts and build longlasting connections with others that make the platform a better place to be for everyone involved.

From the viewpoint of investors, I think I'd speak for many of them when I say that I'm sure they'd want to reward those where effort and longterm connections are being built rather than those who may not care too much about the "community" and accept rewards on whatever. It's also a lot easier to sell rewards if you've spent close to no effort/time gaining them than it is for those who've put in some sweat to get to where they are today, but even so that shouldn't mean the battle is over and that you can now enjoy rewards forever no matter your continued effort and potential consumption from at least within the ecosystem.

This is how we "mine" Hive after all, compared to Bitcoin Miners where they have machines guess their way to solutions, we're using brainpower to earn some rewards instead, hence proof of brain.


I may get into more ways people can get involved and "bring" value to the ecosystem other than just being an author and doing common sense things like not taking this place for granted. I think for now this post was long enough though but may be a good intro to what value I think we ought to focus on and why I'd hope more curators, especially those casting votes manually, should look at more factors than just post content when curating. Curation helps us see more of the things we want to see, so as long as you're doing it manually and not auto without overview, you could put a little more effort behind the votes to check on the history of the accounts you're voting on.

Anyway, just some thoughts and something we've been striving to improve and keep on improving with our curation. Thanks for reading and as always feel free to leave your thoughts on it in the comment section!

Sort:  

Hi @acidyo, I'm a bit "late to market" on this post, but I'll still share a few rambling thoughts.

On the "trading" front... having watched this for almost as long as you have, I'm pretty sure the vast majority of Hive's daily volume is done by people who sit in front of a chart and do technical analysis and may hold hundreds of thousands of Hive on an exchange, but they don't actually even have a Hive account... and exist entirely outside the Hive ecosystem. Think of the numerous times when traders on Upbit send Hive spiking and subsequently spiraling... and $300 million suddenly trades in 24 hours. I really don't think it has anything to do with Hive; as you suggested, probably just bots. We can talk about "the percentage of Hive held on exchanges" till we're blue in the face, but it's unlikely to ever change... we might as well count it as "off the table."

"Value" is a slippery beast. Consider why a token with virtually no use cases on a blockchain with barely any use cases and very little activity is worth 10x what Hive is and more likely to increase in value, from a strictly factual perspective? It's all perception. We humans are very fickle. Even if we don't *admit" it, instant riches on speculation fascinates us far more than growing rich slowly through hard work. As I have said/written before, Hive is becoming more and more like a utility token, which is — sadly or not — far less "sexy" than something wildly speculative.

For me, value comes from focusing on the actual work part.

I'm a writer/blogger. That's what I do; what I've been doing for 25 years. I create content; sometimes in the form of articles; sometimes "commentary." Content that I find interesting has value, to me. And likely to my peers/colleagues. I don't have a "general" following on Facebook or twitter, or elsewhere. I have a "narrow niche" following. There's a difference.

Which introduces an angle to your conversation about "value" that doesn't often get touched on. Since becoming part of this community, I have become a far more "general" content creator.

Some years back (when PeakD first added user accessible tracking metrics) , I wrote some "targeted" posts specific to my offsite following, and promoted them to a couple of my Facebook groups and pages (about 30,000 sets of eyeballs) and the articles were at least opened several 100 times. But these were non-Hive eyeballs, so there were few comments and upvotes, and the content was actually "not interesting" to the broader audience that is Hive.

So... where does that fit, on the "value" scale? We're left with the question "value, but to WHO?"

My particular niche (narrow band of psychology) doesn't preclude my being able to recognize that gaming can add value to Hive, or video (3Speak) can add value to Hive, or music can add value to Hive, or DeFi can add value to Hive... those things just don't happen to fit inside my wheelhouse.

Leading to...

Hive is at the point of "growing up." Just like few people say "you should be on the Internet" or maybe "You should be on Facebook" anymore, "being on HIVE" is increasingly going to lose traction in favor of individual things you can DO on Hive. I think Splinterlands was perhaps the first step in that direction; the game "existed" as itself, with Hive simply being the framework.

Whereas I admire the current LeoFinance initiative, and it may still work well, we're probably closing on the end of just going after "users," and should instead be going after niches.

Sorry about the long-ass dissertation... but I think you're bringing up important considerations, here.

The way I see it (and I'm a nobody so it doesn't actually matter here nor there) is that Hive should be open to pretty much anyone that wants to take it seriously, irrespective of what kind of "investor" they are. Everyone started at the same point at some stage. Yes, there are those like yourself that have been here since before day one and migrated over - that group of people had a vision for what Hive should be which was decentralized and not open to being bought out by one or another party who could call the shots. That in itself shows that there was foresight as well as a long term view, but I get the impression from your post (and I could be way off the mark here) that it isn't going the way it was originally envisioned.

New Hiver users are not going to know anything about witnesses when they start unless they've had a proper walk through or taken the time to actually research it, the percentage of those is probably very low I'd say. I've been here over a year and I don't think I have used my witness votes...I don't even know who half of the witnesses are to be honest.

As for getting involved with anything other than posting, most people are not going to know anything about the dApps, some won't even know about Splinterlands and even fewer are going to get involved with the coding side of things...does this make them less valuable? I don't know - it's very subjective. What I consider value may be vastly different to what someone who's been around from day zero considers value.

I read a post a long while ago about how people would feel if Hive simply vanished one day and most of the comments reflected they were horrified at even the thought of that. I don't think (on average) that people take the place for granted, but that's my perspective which could differ from others that are seeing things from a zoomed out point of view. Like I said, I'm a nobody so I'm not privy to all the ins and outs.

Anyway, sorry for the long ass comment. I know that's annoying AF, but you know me - I AM annoying as fuck 🤣

Nice post, I found some important parts:

First, I found it interesting that you mentioned investors, this is necessary to avoid collapses.

According to influencers, it is really difficult to bring someone to HIVE, and then we come to two factors that make it difficult:
I believe that we are on a path of simplification at HIVE, that is, things are moving towards people understanding more easily, how to post, act, avoid plagiarism, avoid spam, in short, the community guidelines.

Furthermore, unfortunately, we still have many people afraid of getting into cryptocurrencies, I see for example based on my profile, I'm not an influencer, but adding up my profiles, Instagram/Facebook I must have +- around 6k followers/friends, unfortunately many Of these, they end up entering into financial projects that promise absurd returns of more than 1% per day, or 30% per month, things that we know would collapse an economy if it were that simple, then after losing money, they end up avoiding entering blockchain networks. for fear of losing money.

But I think we're changing over time, For example, today I try to interact more in communities by commenting than just posting and I'm evolving, With that, I'm extremely happy when I gain a follower and the person comments DM on Discord or the post saying that some of my content was useful in some way, and I believe that more people have this idea of evolving and adding!

Thanks, uncle @acidyo

Hive is not perfect and has many aspects that can be improved, but it is the one Web 3.0 place where I like to be and where I like to spend my time.
I'm just a dolphin who dreams of becoming a whale here on Hive so I don't have much weight but I think and agree with you that interaction should be considered and rewarded more.
Those who comment on other authors' posts incentivize authors to keep writing and create connections. Connections create users who are fond of a platform or a project, and these users are the pillars of any project.
This is just my humble opinion but in my opinion:
Level of interaction, effort put into writing a post and Hive-Power/Power Down ratio are the three elements that 90% identify a user who brings value to Hive considering the social part of Hive.
It would be nice and useful to have a tool that quickly measures these three elements

Thanks for this useful post!
@tipu curate

Yeah I feel like engaging is the least an author can do, especially if they don't have anything else to provide value with to the ecosystem. I mean we see people engaging on twitter and youtube and other web2 places where it's a mere investment that it may give them more visibility and drive later to maybe earn some adrevenue, here they're already earning rewards with close to no followers and interactions yet not bothering to spend some time to drive more traffic towards their posts. This often leads to posts with close to no engagement with autovotes/blind votes on top and it starts a negative spiral for the author where they instead focus on utilizing/maximizing the daily rewards they can extract from their posts instead of the real value of interaction and discussion-rich comment section that would get them more upvotes in the fuutre potentially.

Greetings @acidyo, very interesting your publication, I learned and refreshed a lot with this article, from the topic of investment and even the comparison between two different types of users, when I had the opportunity to be a curator, I learned many aspects that have helped me to at least avoid mistakes and be able to continue making life in the blockchain.

I consider that interaction is very key to grow as a user and make yourself known as an independent user, but as you yourself explain it should be a coherent interaction, that makes sense with the topic that is being discussed.

In the past, my activity was not the best without a doubt, but for everything there is reflection, when you want to, you can correct and improve.

In the creation of content and interaction with the comments I consider that quality is better than quantity, leaving generic comments like the ones you gave as an example does not show the valuation of the content and does not allow the author to generate a response with good interaction. There I consider that reciprocity is also a bit present.

Every day I learn a little more in #Hive of some aspects that as they apply here, can also be applied in one's personal life, I have always said that Hive has given me opportunity and has allowed me to grow as a person, I also owe it to the people who invited me to join, who have helped me and who have passed on knowledge and experience to me.

Definitely a nice article!
Although, I've made some connections through Hive, my real connections with Hivians are often made through Discord.
This because, there is a chat in which I can talk one on one. Ofcourse I could for example use threads to communicate with those people, but still, I don't want everyone to see all communications.
Why do I tell this? Because, I think that just measuring someone his/her interactions on Hive only, doesn't always tell you the whole story. Maybe that person is connecting with a lot of Hivians though other mediums.
Ofcourse I totally agree that often these people will be rather active on Hive as well.

Just a thought which passed my mind while reading your article. :)

What a long interesting post!!
People invest in hive for different reasons, posting and earning is one of those. I use to be the type of user that would just post and go hoping for some votes but I've been trying to change that by actually engaging other people. I've noticed some changes no doubt and I know what happens on Hive now compared to other times. I actually care about feedbacks, seeing comments on my posts make me happy and I love to think that others care about hive too.
I just hope that we all get better with time and also learn how to add more value to hive...

What an extremely long article. Kudos for that alone. And additional kudos for the value it brings discussing the value that the ecosystem holds/offers/provides/incubates/breeds.

On the other hand, wouldn't it be better that people/users wouldn't even know anything about Hive?

That products and functions themselves would offer enough opportunity/attraction/value to be used and then the root value could grow intrinsically?

Just thinking...

@tipu curate

I'd like to see a front-end/app try that.

Me too
!LOLZ

Being a waiter may not be a very glamorous job
But at least it puts food on the table.

Credit: reddit
@acidyo, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of ervin-lemark

(1/1)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

Maybe you're onto something here. If you shroud something in mystery, it will pique people's curiosity.

Perhaps that could be a cool option to advertise - instead of long articles or what-not, just a line that says

"What is Hive?" with the logo. You could maybe work in a QR code or something.

Speaking of value in a perhaps unrelated way, usability is an asset in creating quality content. I know you have contacts and can relay the message or report the bug where it is able to be analyzed and fixed.

I noticed loading images appropriately to create is a challenge and many images have to be uploaded half a dozen times or more to load properly if they even load at all posing limitations on content. High resolution images with a large pixel count is a challenge but I also noticed many lower pixel count are also not loading properly leaving only a grey bar where an image should be and such from talented users have images not found on their post aka 404 error front and center and overall, looks bad at first glance especially to outsiders looking in judging the platform's value and usability that may affect the first impression and likelihood of joining in the first place.

Properly loading images would make the platform and process much more enjoyable and much less frustrating for content creators to create (visually) valuable articles and viewers experience alike. If this bug could be looked after and fixed would be a great asset for hive overall. Thank you. xox

Could you tell me which front-end you're talking about? I'll take a look.

I never knew one simple line could confuse me this much, what is a front-end?

Do you mean peakd? Is that a front-end?

Thank you for this insightful post! It has certainly given me pause for reflection on how I can enhance my contributions to this ecosystem. While my initial aim here was to earn rewards through my weekly gaming challenge posts, I have grown to genuinely enjoy blogging and sharing various aspects of my life with the Community 😁

What has truly made this journey fulfilling and fascinating is the opportunity to gain insights into the world through the posts of others and learn from the diverse perspectives of everyone here. The interactions and connections forged are, in my opinion, the genuine essence of being part of the Hive family and striving to create value for the Community 😊

Thank you again for all the good work that you have been doing!

If you've been very active on this chain for all its lifetime, you generally do really well when it comes to earnings, unless, well, you've never really provided much value or made any good connections.

my rewards are not bad but they are very depend on one follower. If he votes my post rewards can be around a dollar. If he doesn't vote my post rewards are only a few pennies. I was a bit sad that my youtube shorts were making more than my book posts or let's plays. Having a few more followers with a big stake would be nice but for now it is what it is. Now when I have over 8k HP my curation rewards are getting more decent. My biggest earners are splinterlands battle post but I can only post them twice a week.

I never had any real problem with downvotes. During my time here I only got a few of those.

This post is a master class on how the HIVE ecosystem works, since many enter the platform without being thoroughly informed about how it works as such. When I think that it is necessary to study in depth where we are, to know its economy, how healing works, to work on strengthening the hive with our contribution, perhaps small. Grateful for sharing your experience, I will take it to share it with my friends who I am guiding in their first steps through HIVE.

Not trying to be (much of) a dick but... Whales are upvoting good posts at 100% and good comments at 0-1%. And then you wonder why there's no engagement? People won't write comments to a 100:1 ratio when they can shitpost and earn more just by being lucky

I don't disagree fully but I also like that whales aren't upvoting their comment section too much, as in spending their daily voting mana just on the comments. In general yes, it would be better to see more curation in comment sections and not just in your own posts.

People won't write comments to a 100:1 ratio when they can shitpost and earn more just by being lucky

By that logic, we wouldn't be seeing more people commenting especially on posts where they know the author doesn't have any stake to reward their comments with. And yet we do because there's a population of users on Hive who don't really care if you upvote their comments and just want to engage than hope some whale votes on them?

there's a population of users on Hive who don't really care if you upvote their comments

Not saying people don't want to engage without being rewarded. People do it all the time on Twitter or Facebook. Yet we are on Hive and people want rewards. The "population" you are talking about is probably at ease, financially.

Anyway, all I want to point out is that the comment section is empty on many posts I see - even when the post is earning a lot. And it's kind of sad to see.

I think the posts that generates the most engagement should be - oftentimes - the most rewarded. But that's not how it works.

Conclusion: Post earning is not correlated to post quality and/or the engagement it generates. I think that may cause a problem in the long run.

The "population" you are talking about is probably at ease, financially.

Dunno which communities you hang out but that's not what I see where I'm hanging out.

Anyway, all I want to point out is that the comment section is empty on many posts I see - even when the post is earning a lot. And it's kind of sad to see.

I think some form of content just needs tips that empty generic praises. I see good visual art content, I got no words but still in awe. I don't need to comment I'm in awe. I do it on socmed, do you do this too? just press like and leave even when it's decent content? I don't know, maybe I do it on youtube videos I like.

Post earning is not correlated to post quality and/or the engagement it generates. I think that may cause a problem in the long run.

I agree on the first sentence but I don't think there is inherently a problem with that. Some content are just consumed as ah, ok nice, move on. Nothing wrong with the quality and etc, it's just content that leaves less room for any meaningful discussions and taken as is on impression. Some content receiving nice votes can just be explained by the author being likable enough. If Taylor Swift just said Hi Hive on a post, hypothetically if the legit one ever did bother, people/fans are going to upvote it to a hundred dollars and I wouldn't really care about it, that's their opinion of content worth rewarding. It would probably drive more traffic to the blockchain than regular posts about how someone's day went.

Thanks for the talk, I don't want to debate this more than necessary. I'm not against anything you say. I think diverging opinions are important for any community. I just have a feeling that Hive is a touchy subject around here, and we can't say anything against it. I like Hive, else I wouldn't waste my time here. But nothing is perfect.

I just often see actually good comments @ 0 reward, and that makes me a tiny bit sad for those people.

I think the posts that generates the most engagement should be - oftentimes - the most rewarded. But that's not how it works.

yup.png

Who else has that badge?

I may have one, not sure how to check.

Nice badge there @nonameslefttouse 😉 One day when I'm big, I'll try have that badge too.

Careful what you wish for...

That sounds rather foreboding. I doubt I would ever write a post well enough for that to happen anyway 🤣

How are you?

That's something I kinda tried to bring up at the end of the post as well, curators ought to look out for this and not blindly reward those either not receiving comments which may indicate the content is being consumed or if the authors themselves aren't even bothering to engage at all either outside their posts or within their own posts, the former may affect the latter often.

If I wasn't busy with a lot of things on Hive I'd be all over many posts like I was in the early days of this chain, it's baffling to me how little time others spend consuming content here and engaging. It might be a cause to why we see so many "empty" posts as you describe but I'm pretty sure curators are partly to blame for that as well. At @ocd we take this and many other things into consideration when curating authors, as long as there's attempts by them to drive engagement it's okay with us.

Thanks for the reply, I'm glad some curators take this into consideration.

As for engagement, looking at the number of comments alone doesn't tell the whole picture either. If an author replies to every comment, that means that the engagement inbound is half of the comment number. Then how many of those comments are "Nice post boss" or "I found this very interesting" - these should be disregarded as there's a good probability that the person didn't even read the post. Just as there's (subjective) value in post quality, the same can be said for comments and engagement.

You get pretty good responses which shows that people actually read your content and take some time out to write a decent reply. It's not always the case though if you look around. Generic comments I think should just be muted, they aren't adding any value to the chain (but that's just my opinion).

Yeah for sure, a quick glance at the comment section usually helps with that though. For instance there's days I don't even read the full post of certain authors like tarazkp as I know he's not just shitposting or trying to take advantage of autovotes, etc, often times I find myself reading more of the comments rather than the full post. Just as an example as he's someone I've curated and supported with my votes for years manually.

Same can be said about ocd voting, we often get recommendations/nominations on what to curate, it's not necessary that we always re-read everything other curators/community curators have recommended for votes but a quick glance at the comments on the author's post or the comments of the author themselves usually paints the picture quickly and easily. You can tell if they've at least been trying to not just reply to comments on their own posts but attempted to build connections with others, even if they're too new to not receive a lot of engagement themselves, that's usually enough for us. The thing I don't like is when authors don't even try yet somehow get big and consistent votes landing on their content.

Thank you so much for sharing this.
I really learnt a lot on here. Most especially the aspect of trying to impact the ecosystem and not just posting and running away.
Thank you so much.

Sharing our into Web2 some responded, Twitter most definitely picked up with people sharing before the take over, wait and see perhaps in time this door will open once again.

Takes time to build with being consistent many simply don't read content or prefer a bot to vote which I am not a fan of, comments go a long way to making actual friendships/following online.

Thanks for taking the time to write this up. I've thought about how best to bring value to Hive in ways other than marketing and onboarding, and the only thing I could come up with is building dApps, services, truly impactful stuff that requires substantial coding prowess that I unfortunately don't have much experience with. Which makes me wonder how big (or small) the coding community is on Hive, aside from the witnesses. It also makes me wonder if we would have a more robust coding community if we go down the EVM route.

I look forward to your next post about this topic!

Some time ago I read a post by a Hive user about the lack of engagement and interaction between reader and author in some interesting publications on Hive. I can totally agree with his idea, Hive has gone to a state where it's just people publishing, hoping for votes from big whales.

A great example of this are the content creators of Splinterlands, not all of them, but a large proportion only show up for the weekly challenges and disappear for the rest, not even bothering to answer some comments. Perhaps there needs to be a greater incentive for those who participate in the community?

I've nailed a term for that "Whale votes farming".

I also think it's pretty bad for the platform.

The so called "weekly challenges" of many communities are oftentimes pretty boring and don't add anything valuable to the platform... Unless we're talking to the 2-3 persons ( almost always the same ) participating.

Sometimes I'm wondering if the engagement - comments - should be rewarded a percentage of the post value ordered by the number of like ( not the value) . That's how you create engagement.

These are very valuable lines for everyone in #Hive, at least for all those who, in one way or another, see #Hive as a place "to be very much"... I am an IT professional retired in 2012, More than 25 years between offices, projects and computer centers turned me into something I call "a human with a keyboard"... When I arrived at #Hive at the end of 2021 I saw that I was facing something very difficult to replicate in other blockchains, here everything seems to be built "to be and get involved" (and believe me, I'm generally quite "ascetic") but #Hive opened a charming panorama in front of me, which made me fall in love... Reading this post I understand that this feeling is also deep-rooted In others, that makes me happy... I hope that many of those who "take #Hive more lightly" read these lines and put into perspective the true value of a place like this where you can create, share, be, expand, invest , learn and invest time in a pleasant and very productive way... #Hive is beyond sitting in front of your PC or taking your phone and sharing something... No, in #hive you have the possibility to "be" and that what you are is "yours but for everyone"... I mean, when you get involved in #Hive there is a "own presence" that you couldn't replicate in other ecosystems that I know...

This is a great post, worth reading, I appreciate it very much...

It reminds me of a time, when I was very new to #Hive, I read a post by @fermionico where he said something like: The best token you can invest in #Hive is called "time"... That stuck in my mind since then, and that is why I invest a lot of my time (and greatly enjoy) in #Hive...

This is a "special corner" and things like this article help to understand that... Thanks to everyone who "feels #Hive"... And a round of applause @acidyo friend for these lines full of certainty...

!VSC

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @acidyo

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @acidyo

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 19/25

Interesting

It is important for curators to not only contribute, but contribute meaningfully. There will always be different types of investors. Coming back to @emma-h2 comment above, I agree I have been here for many years and still don't properly understand how the witness vote works. New Hive users do find this confusing and overwhelming.

I think I'm going to go read up on this and see if I can fully wrap my head around it and then I'll go use my witness votes once I've found out more about who they are and what they do as individuals.

Subscription based was probably never going to work as it would require pulling in a lot more traffic from outside. I also think as always behaviour is core when upvoting. The follow the whale is still an experience. I remember when I was making videos and interviewing projects I scored top external views and were bringing in outside viewers. Took hours upon hours to plan, edit and create that content for a few bucks. While others shit post a few words and get $100+ not to mention the tax bill I copped at the end of it.

Then there is the "in crowd" and inconsistent approaches to upvoting and projects. Some people are allowed to post twice a day and earn a lot others get accused of vote farming.

All that over a couple of cents.

So even with great content and pulling in outside views, doesn't equate to outcomes. There are many doing great work. But still, good post.

There was a long time you were one receiving most votes by ocd per month as well, guess it's circumstantial.

And now it's 0 plus that was because i was engaging in the contests and the groups that were being promoted.

And put forward by group leaders for creating good posts and yet I was accused of vote farming. Could just not vote an all the posts all the time instead of attacking me 🤣

It also depends on how you handle things I guess, you seem to like blaming everyone else while having many times shot yourself in the foot and kept shooting at it with different guns over time.

Negative, last shit storm was purposely done to promote. But crypto crash ruined things :/

Yeah cause if the crash hadn't happened you would've been golden by the way you do things.

Thats a throw away comment 🤣
-100k in USDT was raised

And in relation to your specific issue. All communities like me and were putting me forward. It was your leadership and operations that caused the fight.

Don't blame me for your stuff ups

P.s. YOU didn't handle it well and that's fine bro. It is your ops. Such is life

Excellent your post: very useful for those who, like me, although we have a lot of time on Hive, do not master various aspects of the platform, especially for lack of technical knowledge. I am one of those who try to post daily, to comment on others' posts, to answer comments, to vote for others. Thanks and greetings, @acidyo.

cheer up @acidyo ! always write so that many people can read it

what fun if we got something without effort right?
but yeah. investing in Hive is very great for me

Congratulations @acidyo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1220000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1230000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The countdown to HiveFest⁸ is two weeks away - Join us and get your exclusive badge!

Insightful post. Thanks for sharing.

Re. Q about who i would downvote (i don't) or vote for. i delegate quite a big chunk of my HP to leo.voter to support their onboarding RC requirements & earn LEO, same with ecency. i also delegate sime smaller amounts to some communities and people to support their good work onchain.

i retain about 20,000 HP for manual voting (although i follow some trusted curation trails but that doesnt stop me voting as i'll go a little under 80% VP (the pointbat which i set trails not to vote) most days so i get to vite when i'm able). Not sure if that makes sense. Anyway, basically i vote on posts AND comments ever day which i perceive as bringing value to the network.

i also outreach on Twitter & Telegram fairly often, and have onboarded a few.

The topics i write about are mostly controversial and challenging to viewpoints of many, yet i think it's important i do my best to share the stuff i do to help humanity overcome much needless suffering due to the misinformation spread by the corporate machine. Having seen others who do similar (sharing controversial stuff) be downvoted due to disagreement with the content (and even leave as a result), i'm aware that could happen to me too (not that has yet), but my motive for sharing is only partly for monetary reward so i just plod on regardless.

Ok, i'm rambling a bit now so will stop.

Sat Nam
Atma

I agree with you that people should pay more attention to this "effort". People who are active consumers and make good comments on the post, not in the form of "good work" but much more, should be rewarded more. I know you are already working on this and I hope people realize the value of it.

So you're saying what I'm saying?

there is almost no content from content creators dedicated to rock, metal and rock journalism in Hive u_u...... I will exemplify, my interest in the national rock of Venezuela to such a degree of being active in the cause, gave me cavida to be an announcer (without being graduated as an announcer or in social communication) since 2011 I have my digital media that was born as a hobby in 2011 in a page of Guatemala, then I had a radio program in another digital media, I have militated in some cultural movements on rock and metal in Venezuela, All this led me to meet Gillman, a legend of hard rock and heavy metal in my country, for my contribution in these almost 10 years I earned the respect of a legend, to the extent of having been invited to his TV show, Kultura Rock TV and be recognized as "disseminator and promoter of rock" last year by the hard rock and heavy metal musician with 46 years of uninterrupted career. ... what do I mean by this.... ? that everything is forged over the years, with a lot of resistance and being constant to grow .... today there are bands that value my work, digital media that treat me as their colleague in journalism despite I am not a journalist, which I achieved by self-taught.

I feel like there's a community directed at exactly this but can't recall the name right now, I'm sure if you searched it up on the community page on peakd you'd find it, though.

Ahh, ok, thank you very much, Acidyo. n_n

I am using hive blockchain from steemit days believe me getting support from top curators is very very difficult but luckily hive have very diverse ecosystem and users base so one like me still can earn decent amount of rewards even if he is not able to become top content creators

I have a slight memory of you being someone who comments for the sake of commenting and often has very little if any substance or relevance to the post. That's not the way to go about finding support long term.

Sr. Thanks for giving this useful suggestion to grow and get long term support, to be honest i should admit this sometimes I don't read whole post before commenting because as a non English speaker it's not easy for me to understand each and every word in any post

But please try to understand I am not focused on comments you can check data on Blockchain, mostly I tried to write my own post but still struggling to grow or see any noticeable progress

I have to improve my English, writing and communication skills no doubt. But 5 years is alot of time, I think unfortunately I am labeled as a hive user who only care about REWARDS it's true I love to earn more like many other hive users but I also love to make new friends, grow my account and help others to achieve same success and rewards

There is a some misunderstanding Sr.

It's a same like someone say good morning on hive blockchain and someone's comments Good night in comments so you can say it's not relevant to the post but may be its happened due to different time zones of two users

That's why nobody can understand completely after Reading a post and comment, what's in the mind of another person, it's all about understanding so please try to understand not all hive users have same level of understanding and knowledge

yeah sorry but there's only a finite amount of time and life and I'm going to go ahead and ignore your input in the future.

There’s people who Invest their time and then there’s people who invest their money. Staying committed to the platform is key. At its core hive is a databank. I would love to see your post about the different accounts on Hive. I look forward to that one in particular.

How nice of you to mention it. It is my practice to value many other things and not just content. I think we should all watch out for the level of engagement and effort of authors, because that's the only way for Hive as a blockchain to acquire more and more value.

Loading...

Thank you for this post. It highlights a lot of things that I appreciate with Hive compared to others. Not only does Hive encourage interaction between the users, it also gives most of the power to the users to decide how they want to show their appreciation. While some can abuse it, the community as a whole has been really excellent in policing itself.

@acidyo, I always enjoy reading your posts! And this one, at least IMO, hits it right on the head! I remember when I first joined Hive, I often saw people posting and that was that, which to be kinda dumbfounded me as the very first piece of advice I got when I joined Hive was to spend as much time reading, and commenting on other people's stuff as you do with posting.

Every now and again I'll see someone asking why they aren't getting any upvotes or something of the sort and a quick glance at their activity show that they hardly do anything other than post! IE No commenting, replying, etc!

Can't wait for your next post!

Been here from the start + Steemit times and active this whole time.
I have always voted comments under my posts, even comments like nice post/cool pictures( a couple user trail also follows me) resulting in about 0.20+ reward. Recently farmers get on my nerves with with comments that provide absolutely no value for me.Even though the comments are often pretty long. Every comment is pretty much the same story and clearly nothing has been read what I wrote in my post.
I even reply to every comment but recently I only say thanks to these kinds of comments. Idk maybe I should stop voting for comments or at least comments that are always the same from same people.

This is a self explained post that covers all of the essential aspects of the hive ecosystem, value, engagement, connections, consistency on-boarding reach out, creating awareness etc, I have personally fell in love with this project, I know of a friend who even has to quite his 7-3, well paying job to focus more on hive and I have done same as well...

Please pardon me let me draw your attention to a recent post I made About the statement you made born out of my curiousity for the ecosystem and so I made some deep research on it..

This is how we "mine" Hive after all, compared to Bitcoin Miners where they have machines guess their way to solutions, we're using brainpower to earn some rewards instead, hence proof of brain.

MINTING NEW $HIVE $HBD THROUGH CONTENT CREATION USING THE HIVE BLOCKCHAIN TECHNOLOGY: The Mystery Simplified

It is indeed an eye opener for many of us to actually know what this awesome project is doing in our different lives, I hope @acidyo you get to see this, cause to me HIVE everything there is and I'm trying to onboard as many as possible into the platfor via the ongoing phase two of the @leofinance Zealy campaign that will soon start off ...

I really appreciate the time and effort you put into publishing such a great post this will go far..

I agree with you that curation should take into account the users who grow their account with their HP every day, on the other hand taking into account the interaction and activity within the platform. But I have also seen users who have their Power Down activated and whose account has low HP, so I consider that it should be taken into account. I am a curator of the La Colmena project, and to apply for curation the interaction of the users is taken into account, greetings

I agree that effort is very expensive, I just learned how to write on the Hive blog use @actifit The theme I use is GYM sports, the world is now experiencing very rapid progress in the field of technology, we can use @hive-00 to write and develop the crypto community. nice to join with you @acidyo

Nice logo

Value.

What does it really mean?

I suspect each of us has their own definition, but I suspect there will be many areas of overlap.

And in the absence of overlap, many would adopt aspects of others definitions, if they took the time to review them.

As a longterm user of the platform, I defined it as producing good content, engaging with and upvoting others, and in doing so encourage growth of the platform.

Additionally I think people, myself included, provide value by creating projects to benefit others, educate, teach, and promoting the project on Web 2.0 platforms.

I think these things are one definition of value, and by extension describe accounts or people who bring value.

If I have piqued you’re interested in promoting value based on those benchmarks, I hope you will review my account.

Then consider supporting the projects I create to help others who are bringing value to the platform, or who need assistance benefiting from certain segments of it.

Thank you.

A thoughtful-provoking opinion and perspective on the value of effort in the Hive ecosystem. You've spontaneously highlighted the diverse range of users and their motivations, from short-term profit seekers to those deeply invested in the platform's long-term growth. Your emphasis on active engagement within the community is crucial, as it not only fosters connections, relationships, but also adds value to the ecosystem. Your analogy of "proof of brain" is apt, emphasizing that contributions, connections, and effort are what truly make this platform thrive and evolved.

Not to sound rude but are you inputting my text into chatgpt and generating a response that way? Most of your comments sound similarly styled.

So sorry about your experience with me. I do make finding about what you post and added mine. I do hope you understand me. I'm new here. I'm just trying my best to connect and make a meaningful impact, impression and engagement.
Maybe my writing styles seems similar to you, not to take offense.

You didn't really answer my question, are you generating your responses with AI?

No, i only put my write up in grammatically to check up suitable adjectives to use.

This screams "I want to impress people so bad than just be myself and try to give compliments"

Yeah not too fond of these type of comments.