WHAT YOU DON'T KNOW WON'T HURT YOU ~ hogwash!

in Silver Bloggers16 days ago

For years now I've been drinking green tea because of all of the health benefits that are associated with drinking it.

Up to about a month ago, I bought this brand of green tea which claims to be organic. I would brew two gallons at a time, using 25 tea bags, put it in the frig, and have green tea for a week.

Here is just a partial list of some of the healthy benefits derived from consuming Green Tea. All of these claims continue to be researched to truly determine their value.

  • Contains plant-based antioxidant compounds that help prevent cell damage
  • benefit cognition, mood, and brain function
  • help with fat-burning
  • lowers the risk of some cancers such as lung cancer or ovarian cancer
  • protect the brain from aging
  • helps with oral health
  • helps with managing blood sugar
  • help prevent heart disease

In 2019, Americans consumed over 84 billion servings of tea, or more than 3.8 billion gallons. About 84% of all tea consumed was black tea, 15% was green Tea
https://www.teausa.com/teausa/images/Tea_Fact_Sheet_2019_-_2020._PCI_update_3.12.2020.pdf

Last month I read an article titled, ARE YOUR TEA BAGS MAKING YOU SICK? HERE’S WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW!

Even paper tea bags have an unsettling substance called epichlorohydrin added to them to keep them from bursting. According to a recent study, each cup of tea produced by one plastic tea bag steeped at brewing temperature included roughly 11.6 billion MPs and 3.1 billion nanoplastics
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC10389239/

After reading this initial article, I read one after the other, and they were all saying the same thing. I'll paraphrase here, STOP USING TEA BAGS unless you enjoy consuming plastics.

Here all along, I may have been getting the benefits of drinking green tea, but what the F--K.

Common sense would tell me that with this being the case,
(More tea is consumed worldwide than all other manufactured drinks combined (including coffee, soda, and alcohol). someone needs to get their shit together, like the FD-f--king-A

I guess the U.S. Food and Drug Administration folks are too busy to carry out their duties.

The United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA or US FDA) is a federal agency of the Department of Health and Human Services. The FDA is responsible for protecting and promoting public health through the control and supervision of food safety, tobacco products, caffeine products, dietary supplements, prescription and over-the-counter pharmaceutical drugs (medications), vaccines, biopharmaceuticals, blood transfusions, medical devices, electromagnetic radiation emitting devices (ERED), cosmetics, animal foods & feed[3] and veterinary products.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food_and_Drug_Administration

Protect us from medications DRUGS. That statement is a joke. I don't know what the advertisements on your TV are all about, but on our TV, 75% of all commercials are for pharmaceutical companies.
The list of side effects from taking the medication DRUGS is as long as my arm, and I've got a pretty good reach. Don't get me wrong, there are times when these medications DRUGS are one's only option, and in some cases are life-saving. How about them considering NATURAL MEDICINE.

BUT

The BIG BOYS continue to pollute our environment and the other BIG BOYS have the answer to clean up add to their mess, PILLS.

I wonder what FDA's yearly budget is.

The bottom line is that I'm responsible for my well-being and the last thing I should ever do is count on government officials to do the right thing!

Etsy Item Listing Photo (90).png

Enough with the RANT.

@farm-mom loves her tea and being that a lot of the tea she drinks can't be found packaged in tea bags, she has been brewing tea like this for some time now, perfect.

Etsy Item Listing Photo (89).png

Switching from tea bags to Gunpowder Green Tea was a simple solution. Gunpowder tea is a form of tea in which each leaf has been individually rolled into a small pellet.

Etsy Item Listing Photo (91).png

Brewing tea in this fashion not only has no microplastics in it but it is a much simpler way to brew a large quantity of this beverage.

Etsy Item Listing Photo (92).png

After making several batches this way I've found that five-level tablespoons of the Gunpower tea brews up nicely.

I steep the tea for six minutes. If you like a stronger tea you can just allow the tea to steep longer rather than increase the volume of tea you put in your strainer. I use a cloth tea filter sock. A bonus with brewing this way is that there is no waste as I add the used tea leaves to our compost pile. You can see that the rolled tea leaves expand after brewing.

Etsy Item Listing Photo (95).png

A few years ago Byrne Dairy started using glass bottles rather than plastic. Since then that is the only way we purchase our milk. We now use these glass bottles for any beverages we make.

Etsy Item Listing Photo (94).png

As Mother Nature continues to get sicker so will we!

If you have taken the time to read this post I hope it was informative and that if you use tea bags you make the switch.

Sort:  
 14 days ago  

Well, I never knew this @thebigsweed! I was only drinking black tea for years then changed to green tea bags, because of the health benefits. I also had my head in the sand! I could kick myself, had such a nice plunger teapot for herbal and loose tea that I gave away recently. But I have other teapots and a tea strainer, so will be buying loose tea from here on!
We are fed such lies but need to become proactive and do our own research!
Humph, makes one mad!
Thank you for sharing this valuable info with us my friend!

Proactive, I couldn't agree with you more. With so many things to keep on top of, which I feel like I do a pretty good job of, there is always something else.

Makes one very mad, but better late than never.

 15 days ago  

So, you convinced Marian to go out and get proper tea leaves after she opened all of her tea bags and fed the contents to the plants in our garden.
Thank you for this eye opener and she is happy.
I will be back to vote on this in the morning when my voting power is restored.

All blessings to you guys.

!PIZZA !LOLZ and !LUV

Did you hear about the cowardly pigeon?
He lacked COO-rage.

Credit: reddit
@thebigsweed, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of papilloncharity

(1/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

thebigsweed, papilloncharity sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

That is exactly what I did with the remainder of the tea that I had in the tea bags.

Thank you very much for the PIZZA, LOLZ, LUV, always appreciated.

 12 days ago  

Best thing to do and the plants will appreciate it.
A pleasure to support.

!PIZZA !LOLZ and !LUV

thebigsweed, papilloncharity sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

R.I.P. boiled water.
You will be mist.

Credit: reddit
@thebigsweed, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of papilloncharity

(2/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

I forgot to add this to the first comment, great minds think alike! 😁

 12 days ago  

Hahaha, alike minds teach each other 😜

SB_BlogOfTheWeek.png

I have been drinking gunpowder green for years now. I get it by the pound and use my espresso machine to brew it each morning. Many times I run a second batch through later in the morning to get more out of the leaves. I'd heard about the teabag problems quite a while back and have tried to limit the number I use to the very minimum, generally only while traveling.

I must have had my head in the sand for this one. I've heard that the tea can be used several times before discarding it.

Great article. I'm not a tea drinker- well maybe once a year (if that) in winter I'll have one....and I did not even think about the bags themselves, so thanks for the education and I love what you guys are doing, reusing and recycling what you can control.

This is a new one for me, but like they say better late than never. We try to leave as little of a footprint on this planet as possible. The problem with plastic is so profound I'm not sure we are making a difference, but we do what we can. If nothing else it makes me feel better.

Sounds like a great philosophy to live by.
Plastic is a HUGE problem, so over here they've banned plastic bags in supermarkets and replaced them by PAPER BAGS!, so lets just cut down more trees shall we.

I used to use my plastic shopping bags over and over and over again for everything, because they are a great size and they're strong. I used to wash them and hang them out to dry and could use just one a hundred times over- more infact.

Now if I need a plastic bag for something, I have to buy a whole roll of pissweak thin stuff which rips at the drop of a hat, and so throw that one away, then the next and the next and soon you've gone through 10, when you just wanted that nice strong one to put my smoothie cup in or lunch container so they don't leak all through my backpack (which has happened more times that I'd like to remember....) and wasting so many thins ones that have instantly ripped is a far worse outcome than having the strong ones that we could get at the supermarket.

OMG I can't believe how gullible people are and the corporate giants with all their greenwashing bullshit are laughing even harder than ever as now only are they destroying more of the planet by cutting down even more trees to make these paper bags that also rip at the drop of a hat with peoples food dropping and smashing on the ground (and who's going to replace those broken jars of food, dropped fruit and veg, not the supermarkets...), but also the huge uptake in people repeatedly buying those bullshit plastic bags anyway.

Sorry, I think that the whole thing save the environment campaign is actually going backwards as people are getting lazier, stupider and more gullible.

I mean seriously, lets stop fossil fuel mining and shut down coal fired power stations by building these mega giant wind turbines by using what? Oh iron ore from fossil fuel mining and constructing them to last FOREVER AND EVER because they will never ever biodegrade when they break down- which they often do....Oh what these corp giants are getting away with using their spin doctors to greenwash people brains is just sickening, so good on you for doing what you can.

If only everyone was as enlightened, intelligent and as proactive as you guys!

Sorry rant over...lol...

Rant on my friend, it's a pleasure to see that some people are on the same page as us.
Trying to reduce humanity's carbon footprint is a great idea, but the government thinks they are going to solve this problem in the blink of an eye, never thinking of the ramifications of how this new technology will impact the environment as well.
Most people would just rather roll with the punches without ever asking a single question.

 16 days ago  

Microplastics are a huge concern of mine. For years now, I've been storing food in glass as much as possible, and I know I use far less than the average American (just look in their refrigerators), but I am still alarmed by such things as: my water drawn from a spring but stored in plastic, my compost which is made in plastic easy-to-rotate bins, and the meats I buy, which are produced under excellent conditions but frozen in plastic. Even the local farms package stuff that can't be sold in bunches (greens mostly) in plastic bags. I've been drinking loose teas for years to avoid the microplastics in those tea bags. I'm glad you found out.

The FDA is a joke and should be defunded and discontinued immediately. Same for a lot of those alphabet agencies, if not all of them.

75% of all commercials are for pharmaceutical companies.

My understanding is that these are not intended to increase sales for big pharma, but rather to capture the media, which could not continue without the revenue from those ads, and so they also do not investigate the pharmaceutical industry and all associated alphabet agencies. We can see this very clearly now, since the covid con started.

There is no way anyone can get away from plastic entirely, so we do what we can. We also store our food in glass containers. They are quite expensive and it has taken us a while to replace all of the plastic food containers with glass.

It seems that as the plastic heats up, the problem gets worse.
The one plastic we can't get away from is the vacuum seal bags. All of the veggies that we grow and put in our deep freezer are stored in these bags. At least the bags and the veggies are put in a deep freeze and hopefully the cold prohibits the plastic from breaking down. It's a constant battle to stay on top of it all.

You are the second person who said that they use loose tea because they knew about the microplastics in tea bags, I must have my head in the sand for this one.

The covid con, a hoax that we are still feeling the effects of especially with school children who in reality lost at least a year of schooling.

 15 days ago  

I'd hardly say missing one component is having your head in the sand! You guys are mostly way ahead of the rest of us.

I understand about the vacuum seal bags, although I've never used them, mostly because I'm such a newbie. I'm hoping to get a freeze dryer and pressure canner this year, so I can avoid the freezer as much as possible. We'll see.

Our kids lost much more than a year of schooling. The covid con has trained them to obey orders, from just about anyone in the government, that do direct harm to themselves. learned how to be good citizens of a totalitarian government, they lost their freedom and their sense of safety. They I urge people to get their kids out of the schools for starters, which were prisons when they finally did reopen, and will be prisons again unless a great many more of us say no.

We do try to stay informed, but there's always something popping up.

If we didn't head out of town for a few months every winter I'd can everything, but when we leave we shut down the entire house and the mason jars woulduntitled.gif

The government is always up to something. I doubt that they practice all that they preach to us.
The only way to get kids out of school would be to home-school them. Homeschooling is a great way to go, but almost impossible to do because most households have both parents working.

Schools are teaching a lot of shit besides what should be taught. Some of the stuff that our teenage grandkids tell us is going on during the school day is off of the charts.

 16 days ago  

You just keep getting smarter. Really nice post my friend, very informative.
untitled.gif

I saw some tea that are pack with something like cloth, now I start to wonder if it's bag was made of cloth or plastic. Thank you for this info.

The best way is not to take a chance with any tea bags and go with loose tea.

Growing up only using black tea leaves, after brewing on the stove for family of six with two spoonfuls emptying the pot to leaves only, a little cold water added then poured around rose bushes the next day.

We tend to drink very little green tea more red tea that is locally grown, still owning teapots to boil on gas it's always cheaper option getting loose to brew, then swill it out into the garden when finished.

Whenever I see nice glass containers in all sizes I hang onto them, transfer most products out of plastic into glass they tend to last longer. Seeing the milk bottles in glass a bonus, now to find corks to fit them and you rid of the plastic tops as well !LOLZ

What do you call a hospital for horses?
A horse-pital.

Credit: reddit
@thebigsweed, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of joanstewart

(2/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

I've never had black tea, but the stats say that it's the most consumed tea of all, I'll have to give it a try.

Thanks for the info about pouring tea around rose bushes. @farm-mom has a bed dedicated to roses. I did a little investigating and everything came up roses. We will be doing this in the future, thanks.

Good idea to use corks instead of plastic lids. I guess we'll have to empty a few bottles of wine.

I save all corks, when at weddings etc. champagne normally nice solid cork tops !LOLZ

Did you hear about the remote control that went to jail?
He was charged with battery

Credit: reddit
@thebigsweed, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of joanstewart

(6/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Thanks for the LOLZ.

🤣 I save crazy stuff to use....

Since Green tea lowers the risk of having cancer, it means it is good for anyone who has cancer to take it right?

I don't think it can cure cancer but it may help to prevent it.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@papilloncharity(2/15) tipped @thebigsweed (x2)

If we all want to improve our health and lose weight, we all need to consume green tea and avoid other teas.

Congratulations @thebigsweed! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 8500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 9000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge