I've got a friend!

in Food & Culture11 months ago

Look who is here after a brief visit with @ravenmus1c today! It's Matilda!

We are going to have so much fun together, wielding our rolling pins and other kitchen implements in the fight against, well, whoever is up for a fight I guess? But first of course we'll be celebrating her arrival with the drink both she and I like best, and none of us care if this is not the proper kind of glass of for it. Cheers!


Since I'm posting this in Food & Culture, I'd better say something about the history of this drink. I'll start with what I've heard from others: Gin and Tonic was invented by the British invaders of India and Southeast Asia as a drink to cure malaria, or at least alleviate the symptoms. The gin part makes you drunk, and the tonic contains quinine which might actually help. But quinine is so bitter that they diluted it in sugar water to be able to drink it. Later on someone invented sugared bubble water, and hey, this is good! Since then the drink has spread across the world, and every bartender has their own way to make it.

And here's a bit of culture: A former Swedish diplomat turned author, Jan Mårtensson, has his protagonist mix Martinis and express his thoughts about he different versions in almost every book, if not all of them. I'm not sure if those books are what made G&T a relatively popular drink here, or if there were other influences. A Martini is just a G&T with vermouth added, after all. I do know they influenced me - every book has a recipe in the afterwords, and if the food is good, the drink probably is too.

Spending a few minutes with wikipedia to check my facts... turns out I wasn't entirely taught lies :) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gin_and_tonic#History


It's getting late now, and I think it's time for sleep.

Thank you so much @tengolotodo for introducing me to Matilda, otherwise I'd never have known to invite her to my home. And thank you @ravenmus1c for letting me exchange my Discord prize for this lovely lady! (You're a lovely lady too, and next time I'll not let your card go! ) And lastly, thank you hiccup hiqu hick #hiqsters people for publishing your magazine. Every time I read it, I realize that I have no idea what's going on, and no chance to figure it out.

Sort:  

The before and after pics here are TOO funny! You did some damage on those suckers 😂 !LUV !PIZZA

@treefrognada, @grindan(1/4) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | <>< daily

Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

It's really just tonic water and a few slices of lime, since it wasn't a good day for drinking ;) But now that I have restocked the gin cupboard, I'm prepared if a sunny day should coincide with hubby's day off work! I'm not sure why, but G&T is an outdoors drink for me, it tastes best in the shade of a large tree, or at least a huge parasol!
!LUV
!ALIVE

@grindan! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @treefrognada. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

@grindan, @treefrognada(1/3) sent you LUV. | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

@tengolotodo, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/2) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @treefrognada gets !LOOL from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Zwei Elefanten sehen zum ersten Mal einen unbekleideten Mann.
Sagt der eine Elefant zum anderen: Wie kann er damit nur essen?

Credit: captainloken
@treefrognada, ich habe dir im Namen von @hiq.smartbot einen $LOLZ Token gesendet
Verwende den Befehl !WITZ oder !LOOL, um einen Witz und ein $LOLZ zu teilen.

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
.(6/8)

Congratulations @treefrognada! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 9500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 10000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Yearly Authors Challenge Status
Feedback from the July Hive Power Up Day

I hope that she did not drink you out of house and home with the gin!

That is brilliant that you got Matilda though. She is of course a wonderful character card in @craftink

!hiqvote

Disregarding the house, and not mentioning the home. I think I have met my match! Do you think Gordon's might slow her down a bit?

hehe she grew up on Gordon's so that is like her appetizer 🤣

Mmmm, G&T as appetizer before the main course of G&T! I love the way Matilda thinks!

I think she has picked up some wisdom in the G&T game lol

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@grindan(1/10) tipped @treefrognada

Hey @treefrognada! Thank you for sharing your post to Food & Culture! I didn't know the history of Gin Tonic. And I see you have a Japanese Gin 😁 I must get a bottle of Gin next week.

It's nice to read histories behind food and drink we enjoy. We can enjoy them away more. Have a nice weekend!

Ohh I like these both Gins alot! =) Good choice. :) Have fun with Matilda!