Riding The Perish Wheel

in ThoughtfulDailyPost11 months ago

IMG_0093.jpg

!.png

"They kept going. They did it anyway."

This morning as my eyes drifted over the above words penned by Ryan Holiday in Courage Is Calling, I found myself pausing for a bit of ponder.

I'm gonna be honest here. For most of my life I have never had an issue plowing forward. My mind has always gone full tilt, flitting about like a butterfly at a pollen convention. Even when I was in the worst of my thyroid and auto-immune dysfunction there was never a thought about stopping.

I wanted to learn it all, do it all, I wanted to exist.

Here lately though, here lately I find myself not wanting to go. I want to stop. I want to hide. I want to be left alone.

I suppose this is entirely normal for a person to feel this way, especially one who is medium aged and has lived a very full existence thus far. I have just never experienced such an overwhelming urge to not want to keep going.

But then, as I read those words, I thought about my ancestors, both near and distant. They kept going through blizzards, sabre tooth cat attacks, crop failures, family member deaths, war, famine, and through all manner of uncertainty. They kept on human-ing.

And really, it's what you do when you are down that sometimes makes all the difference.

So, even though I'm more than a bit weary from it all, I will most definitely trudge on, because there's work to do.

IMG_0091.jpg

Living in the 21st century as a human being is taxing in a different way. I won't starve if my crops fail, but never before in history has a person had more stimuli. As a highly sensitive person I think part of the existential exhaustion I am feeling is the weight of all that stimuli. All around me is a constant throng of dopamine drip-inducing distraction.

So, instead of just being exposed to all the things in my insulated geographical community, I am constantly bombarded with all the things on the entire planet. Already I limit my media consumption, but I think an actual sabbatical from it all might be in order.

That and a hefty dose of focused, purpose-driven action. It's easy in this era for our attention to be fractured and fragmented across a multitude of things, and I sometimes wonder if more of what ails the planet would benefit from a collective exhale and refocus on specific things that matter.

But that's a post for another time.

IMG_0092.jpg

Tomorrow, I am heading out into the wilderness for a couple of days. A bit of restorative time in Nature, free from all the burdens and cares of this postmodern life is usually all it takes to snap me back into proper living life intentionally and wonderfully form.

Because we all have a job to do.

!.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's currently exhibiting lackluster battery life iPhone, the header and footer images were made in Canva.

Sort:  

A day spent alone enjoying Nature is the best therapy one can do for oneself -- even better if you can walk barefoot at some point and connect with earth (the term is "grounding").

Enjoy yourself! @generikat 🔆🌳👣🌲💫

!LADY
!LUV

@generikat, @ninahaskin(1/3) sent you LUV. | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

You have already used the number of tips you had for the day. Please try again tomorrow or buy more LOH tokens to send more tips.

I so, so agree with you and enjoyed both some quality alone and with dear friends time in Nature for the past few days. There might have even been some barefoot grass touching!

Thanks so much for the well-wishes! I had a fantastic time and I hope you had the very bestest weekend!!

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@generikat(1/15) tipped @ninahaskin

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ninahaskin, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @pizzabot and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/8 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

When I was younger, I tended to jump at any interesting activity that came up. My sister wondered how I ever got my kids home schooled because we were always traipsing off on a field trip or some other activity. The only time I slowed down was when there was a baby that needed to be on a schedule of sorts, or when I was terribly sleep deprived thanks to said baby. Now that I am older, I do find myself thinking twice before I take off to do things. Do I really have the energy for this? Will I be sorrier tomorrow if I participate or if I don't? Can I afford the gas to go there? These are questions I now need to answer.