Flavours from Kathmandu

in Foodies Bee Hive14 days ago (edited)

IMG_20240505_155847.jpg

Only if we could have lunch at the Nepalese & Indian restaurant today, as was the case yesterday... I know - it was special as it was our Sunday outing that can't happen every day. The reality is that today we already had a normal but also tasty lunch made by me, at home, however, I can't get the taste of yesterday's foodie experience out of my head.

Even if we didn't have to travel to the capital of Nepal, for me it was a great journey of flavours. To go to eat in Kathmandu (Kathmandu Restaurant) was my son's idea. He went there many times but me and my husband were not brave enough to do it - until yesterday. For the first time, my sense of taste had the honour of enjoying some of the traditional dishes from India and Nepal and I think it was kind of love at first sight. Or at first taste, to be more precise.

IMG_20240505_160510.jpg

It was a special experience, but to be honest, a bit pricy too. It is not a place I could afford every day, but the food and treats were indeed top-notch. The napkin was also of good quality so I felt pity to use it and spoil its nice appearance... (of course, I used it not long after I started consuming the starter).

I wish I could be able to do a nice review, something like @ninaeatshere can write, but I know I am not an experienced food reviewer. I do like to introduce traditional dishes to myself of the places we visit but talking about them is already a bit more challenging. Anyway, I will try to do my best. 😇

I am starting with the starters 😁

IMG_20240505_155815.jpg

Meat and Vegetable Samosas

The recommendation for these starters came from my son as he already tried both of them and it seems that also liked them. He was not wrong, they are tasty snacks filled with boiled green peas, lentils, mashed potatoes and probably some other vegetables and spices. It was more spicy than the meat samosa.

They came with a thin thread of sauce, which was sweet. Interesting combination of spicy and sweet. In some moments I was unsure if the hot feeling I got was coming from the dish being very warm or spicy. The meat samosa was filled with minced meat and vegetables and as I said, it was less spicy than the vegetable samosa.

I loved both the meat and the vegetable versions.

IMG_20240505_155938.jpg

Vegetable Samosa

IMG_20240505_160022.jpg

Meat Samosa

The main courses arrived after a few minutes of break, just to have a bit of rest from the starters and let our tongue recover from the spicy tastes. I ordered Chicken Tikka Masala. Before we left our home, I already read the menu on the restaurant's page and decided that it would be the dish to order. It just sounded familiar and it gave me confidence.

The dish contained tomato sauce and cream, and the meat was bathing in the sauce that you see in the photo. I really liked it, but I couldn't finish the whole portion. It was too much and too strong for me and I also tried the food that my son and husband ordered, so I ate more than I should.

IMG_20240505_160104.jpg

Chicken Tikka Masala

My son's choice was Chicken Mango. This is the yellow sauce with cream you see, and also the meat was in the sauce. The photos don't do justice as you can think these are small portions but the plates are deep.

There is quite a lot of food in this bowl. I tried it and it was a bit sweeter than the sauce I ordered. We also ordered basmati rice with our dishes as gourmet and Naan bread.

IMG_20240505_160157.jpg

Chicken Mango

IMG_20240505_160239.jpg

Naan Bread

My husband chose Lamb Sekuwa, with a sauce that came in a separate bowl. The marinated meat was grilled and came sizzling. The photo is not blurred, it is the steam coming from the dish. I tried this dish and the sauce too, and in the end, I couldn't decide which was my favourite. I think I just equally loved all the food that was served.

IMG_20240505_160330.jpg

Spicy food and a bit spicy bill. We paid almost 60 euros (it is around $65) for this lunch, which I guess is reasonable if we take into account the tasty food and the quantity of the same. Still, we usually pay a bit less in other restaurants.

However, to the question would I come again here... the answer is of course positive! I loved the new flavour, but maybe it is just as in general I like food!! 😁

IMG_20240505_160432.jpg

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

I've never tried that kind of food and it looks delicious! For that price and the quantity... it's pretty good! Yes of course there are cheaper places, but it's a rarity food hahaha.

I loved seeing the dishes and the textures... well just to see.🤣

To see - now. But I am sure you would also like its taste, when you try it 😇

I'm sure you will! I love trying new things, there will be no shortage of opportunities. Thank you! Good evening✨

Looks utterly delicious and bit like our local Indian restaurant, they’re expensive too but very nice indeed.

I suppose that the price we pay is also having something exotic for us and the spices that make this food so tasty!

I agree, it’s a bit of luxury

The food looks so colorful and tasty! I like Indian flavours so I am sure I would love all the dishes :D

I haven't seen broccoli 😋 but how tasty was everything... 🤤

... but maybe it is just as in general I like food!!

Me too, I like food in general and that's why I think I understand you very well.

You did a good review. I would go to this restaurant after reading your review, before reading I don't think I would be tempted. I like other people's food but I wouldn't go that far, although I am used to Chinese cuisine.

I think it was a bit expensive but I realized that it costs the same in Bucharest for such a meal, and in Romania, salaries are much lower than in Spain, so it's an advantage for you.

Me too

It is good that we like food, I mean that we are not spoiled or afraid of trying out something different. We have a good Chinese friend who has a restaurant so we visit her place very often, that's why we got very used to Chinese cuisine. I didn't know I would love this much Indian cuisine too! A lot of flavours 😊

I've read about Indian food full of flavors and very spicy but I haven't eaten it until now. I think I'll try it too, I trust your taste!

All those plates looks great and very testy I'm sure the experience was worthy of the price you pay

Ya me dio hasta hambre 😋 gracias por compartirlo señorita Mipiano de la comida de Nepal 😁

It was worth it, of course! Btw, it was also Día de la Madre in Spain that day, so I "had" to listen to my son and where he would like to take us to lunch (the only thing is that it was not him who paid the bill 😂)

😅😅🤣🤣🤣

Yuhh sounds and looks tasty!
By the way you why not to put such excellent place on pinemapple map?

Yes, it was very tasty! I usually pin my posts that are more focused on travel, but this one had the only spotlight on food. That is why I didn't pin it in pinmapple 😉

Delicious food is always welcome! jajaja..I love indian food... spice and taste!

If you love Indian food then you understand now my delight 😊

What a dish that I had never seen in my life haha I once tasted a super spicy food and I couldn't finish it because it was so spicy, Buhito's feathers got burned 🤣

Even if it's expensive, once in a while, you can treat yourself 👀 that food looks amazing ñam ñam 🦉

Oh, please take care of Buhito's feathers! This was not too spicy, it can be survived haha, even the little owl would not complain, but yes, there were dishes shown on the menu with two 🌶🌶 or three 🌶🌶🌶 by them haha. It was a sign for me - avoid 😂

Look delicious 😋

Congratulations, you received an ecency upvote through the curator @sahi1. Keep spreading love through ecency

It was 😇

That really looks delicious !

I like trying new places and new foods, well, I did before covid. I got away from it so long, I forgot how fun it was.

I also like to look at menus online before I try a new place if there is one.

I'm glad you enjoyed the food, especially if you are paying more than normal, but maybe you can keep it in mind for the special occasions at least.

YUM !

Yes, for special occasions it is fine, and for sure it is fun to try new flavours. We like to go out on Sundays, but sometimes we skip (if I am not too lazy to cook or the household budget is in survival mode 😂). I am sure next Sunday we will stay at home lol

"or the household budget is in survival mode"

ha ha... been THERE too many times !

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @gwajnberg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you 😇

It's good to take a treat occasionally and don't consider the cost. Your food was topnotch and I am sure you all had a wonderful time out.

That's right, occasionally it is good. And also, maybe it would not be so special anymore if I could do it every day ;)

The foodies are extraordinary and I see them so delicious. I so love the plating as well. Have a nice time dear and more dining days at Nepal. Much love!

It was my first time to try some traditional Nelepese cuisine and wow, so good and tasty!! Thank you, we will see when the next time life will bring me those flavours 😇

Everything looks delicious , especially the chicken tikka masala but also the mango ones , looks really exotic and yummy, sometimes restaurants are a little pricey but it's worth it.

The mango chicken was very tasty, it was an excellent choice by my son and indeed, sometimes we need to go out to places like this, it is worth it 😀

All the dishes look delicious. I'm not a lover of spicy food, but it would be interesting to try recipes different from our customs.

I don't eat very spicy food either but it was not so much. It was fine. Though there were much more spicy dishes, which we avoided hahaha :D

the food arrangement is very nice and beautiful and colorful, I like it 😍

It was a very nice journey to try these colourful and tasty dishes 😇

Oh my days! What wonderful plates of food

🤤 wonderful and tasty :)

I guess so yummy

To play for the presentation of the dishes the food was excellent. It is good to know the customs and flavors of other countries, I really like the spicy food at home we use it a lot. The meats especially acquire a different flavor but not exaggerated just feel the spiciness on the palate. A nice day with your family was worth it. Greetings friend.🥰❤️

Thank you @mamani for visiting this post where we had a bit of spicy food, not too much, as you say not exaggerated ;)

¡Pero qué dices! Tú reseña esta genial!

The important thing is always to be honest, in the end the food is there for us to enjoy. If something is good, it has to taste good to anyone, unless we don't particularly like something, the experience should be elaborated to make us have a good time!

Jejejeje, gracias Nina (oh, ayer vimos un trailer de una peli y nos acordamos de ti ;) ) Parece interesante 😎

La comida allí me gustó mucho, mi hijo tenía razón. 😁

Hi, It looks like all Indian tastes. Nepal is a neighbor of India and they have similar or might adopted what Indians have huge varieties of food. It looks delicious. And sure you enjoyed it. :)

We did enjoy it, and as I say, would gladly go back whenever I can. It liked the variety of the tastes 😇