You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hiking in Vienna ๐Ÿ‚ (New drama on Hive, newbie scammer network revealed?)

in Deutsch D-A-CH โ€ข last year (edited)

One would imagine that a hive meetup would be open to all: even to the individuals who are yet not registered on hive and would like to meet the community and learn more.

Sadly, I was told in the Vienna group that a new person is allowed to attend the hive meetup only after they register for a paid workshop. Unfortunately, the first impression for an outsider looks like the hive meetup is a closed community.

Any suggestions/ideas how to on-board a new person and introduce them to community without them taking a workshop?

Sort: ย 
Loading...

Everyone can come to our meetups without paying, or booking any workshops. I think the best approach is indeed to come to the meetup and getting help from other hivers to create an account. For free. Offering mandatory workshops would be shady and is not the case to my knowledge. I think the paid workshops are a different thing outside the meetups, i'm not involved in.

ย last yearย (edited)ย 

Ah ok I thought you wanted to do another talk with me at another event... I involved you in everything concerning our plans with @winalab.

This is not correct, the Vienna meetups are open to all, for free. There is also no owner of meetups, "meetup" is not a protected name. Anybody can create a meetup! This is blockchain, not web 2.0.-business!

ย last yearย (edited)ย 

Then create one ;) you just need two hive users who want to meet. https://peakd.com/hive/@stayoutoftherz/re-manncpt-rquxnd

ย last yearย (edited)ย 

I attended the Vienna Meetup first before I decided to join the Hive and nobody forced me to do anything or asked for money - on the contrary, I was even invited for a drink and received help from all sides to get started. I experience the meetups as really nice get-togethers and non-Hivians were also present at several of these meetings and welcome. So please no "I heard something" stories, thx.

Who told you this? I never heard of anything regarding payment for participation. Did this happen to you?

Wow, that is ridiculous!! Hive is a very open community and happy for every new member, WITHOUT money! Itยดs sad that a few money sharks damage the reputation of Hive. !PIZZA

Btw. Getting new members on board is very easy. If you have any questions, I will help you!

@ravenmus1c a lot of things a clear now! ๐Ÿ˜Š thank you for offer.. Now I know the community a bit more where to ask for guidance ๐Ÿ˜‡

Good to hear! Then welcome to Hive and I wish you great success with it! =)

ย last yearย (edited)ย 

That's not correct. You were told there should be nobody coming to the meetup who is not interested in joining hive. (Next meetup I will make an exception, because I need security for me and my girlfriend after all the onchain attacks of people I trusted one day... )

You jumped into my comments voluntarily, I have not tagged you.
This topic is consuming too much time. This discussion ends here for me.
Long live and prosper. ๐Ÿ––