Contest #184: Favorite Memory Of My mom (Grandma)

in Ladies of Hive23 days ago

Whenever I count my blessings, I count the blessings of Mom twice. Their large hearts that accommodate wrongs amazes me. It got to a point where we realize their threat to deny us food when we did something wrong was on the surface, it's a matter of time before we see them presenting food to us. We knew their love was greater than any of our wrongs and that was one confident we had. She beats with the left hand and embraces us with the right hand.

I grew up with my Grandma. She Is one woman I will never forget. When I was 1 , I was diagnosed with a certain disease. The severity made everyone conclude I wasn't going to survive it except her who traveled within states until finally the cure was found, I was 12 at that time. I only have a short memory of the places we traveled to for cures and she has been my mom ever since.

Picture of my mum with my elder brother

One of the funny/favorite memories I have about my grandma was in the process of making me a man. Maybe the fact that I didn't grow up among friends made me timid. So she was bent on making me realize I can face any challenge.

There were these boys in my street who wanted to dominate the young boys around my area,so they fought anyone they came across and from stories they were undefeated. They sought a chance to fight me and this made me scared of walking freely in the street. I ran back home anytime I saw them and I wouldn't go out throughout that day no matter what happened. My Grandma noticed this, I believe she noticed the speed in which I take anytime I see them and decided to do something in order for me to overcome my fears.

IMG_20240509_224452.jpg

Picture of my grandma with her husband and inlaw

I had gone out one fateful day and while returning home I saw them along the path that leads to my house. Instead of running home which i couldn't, I ran into another street and made sure I ran for some hours hoping they have left so I can run back home and go into my room. But to my greatest surprise, while returning home, i saw them at our doorstep. I was about to run back when my grandma's voice came from inside ordering me to come back. "You must stand and face your fear," was what she told me in our dialect. I had no choice but to stay and fight the boys I had dread all the time. My grandma allowed us fought for some minutes, and I realized I could even face the two of them undefeated. Within the minutes that we fought, no one between us brought the other down and this helped me overcome my fear. Liberty at last I could hear me telling myself and never at a point did I dread them or anyone in a combat.

There are so many memories with her, the times she sprinkled cold water on us early in the morning in order to wake us up because she wanted to teach us punctuality. The times she allowed us to cook so she could teach us how to cook well, or the moment we went to fetch wood together and stay to plug some fruits together. It's been a great time with her. Now she's old and frail and can no longer walk.


All pictures used were taken by me from a photo album

This is in response to the Ladies of hive contest. Its open for participation

Sort:  

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dwixer and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (18/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@dwixer, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Awwwn, Dwixer the fighter, lol. It's good your grandma gave you those wonderful trainings which has helped you in life.

#dreemerforlife

Hahaha. At least I fear no one now

Eiiii! So you fought? 😂 I like your grandma oo unlike my grandma, she will tell me fighting is not good 😂
#dreemerforlife

Hahaha. My grandma actually allowed me fight

I love your grandma. Please hug her from my side. And thanks for sharing these personal views into your childhood.

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife

Hahaha. She was a strong woman. It pains her daily that she's frail.

And you're welcome, it's good recalling memories

I am SO thrilled to see so many guys entering this LOH challenge! and the stories and memories in each brings such joy to my heart! I'm sitting here reading this and SMILING at how you fought! hehehehe

you know I can't wait to see you in Mauritius even more now ! hahaha My son will love to hear this story! LOL He's a fighter too (but also has lots of love!) hehehe

now - in the picture??? mixed heritage? hehehe like me???

do explain for me!! :)

Hahahaha.
It seems we will have plenty stories to share in Mauritius
Great! your son learned his fighting skills early, unlike me. 😂

And for the picture. One of my Aunts got married to a white man and that's him in the picture.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you for your entry to our weekly contest! 😊

!LADY

073

View or trade LOH tokens.


@thekittygirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dwixer and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

You're welcome

I think your Grandma did a wise thing. She knows the opportunity to have you go beyond your self imposed boundaries and free yourself from what holds you back.