Focus On The Step And Not The Staircase

in Reflections10 months ago
Authored by @Technicalside

Well Hello There Fellow Hivers!


Well I'm Glad I Can Say Two Down And Two To Go!


What this means is that I've passed two tests and I still need to pass two more! So yeah I'm halfway done with my techie levels!

I'm not sure how these things work over seas or in other countries but here in South Africa we've got the Petrol course and then we've got the Diesel course and how these work is a little tricky but let me try and explain.

As always we are left with options in life, I can do either one Petrol or Diesel or both! But the steps to gain them are different.


The Diesel Mech Course.

Let's say I want to do the Diesel Mech course, well then I've got to work four years before I can actually do the course, which is a little tricky because you'll stay on apprentice level for four years until you can qualify. But then you only get a Diesel Mech certificate.

The Petrol Mech Course.

The other method is doing the petrol where you have four levels to complete but you can't do all four levels right after one another. How it works is that you have to work for six months and have an already qualified technician sign off on your hours, this also requires you to work for an RMI registered company, you can't do the course unless a company sends you. Meaning I can't work in IT and then decide to do the course for fun, just as an example. Okay so every six month I can then go and do a level which adds up to two years which is a much better deal in my opinion. You have up until four years to complete all of the levels. But let's say you've done them in two years flat. Well then you can go and do the Diesel Mech course which I assume would require you to work another six months.

The Benefit Of Doing Petrol Mech Course First.

Here's the catch! If I want to do the Diesel Mech course I have to find work at a workshop and then hold out for four years with them before I can do the trade test. Now with the Petrol Mech course I also still need to find a job and do the time before I can start doing the levels albeit you are able to cut the time in half! So let's say I've got my four levels in Petrol Mech and I am now a qualified Petrol Mech. I can then do the Diesel Mech whenever I want to, be it two years from then or ten years from then it does not matter. The biggest upside to this is that you can then sign yourself in for the Diesel Mech course and cut out the company that "HAS" to sign you in.

Let's say I do Petrol and then my Diesel compared to someone that just did his Diesel. I would have the upperhand in getting a job anywhere and the reason for that is because I can show five certificates where the Diesel can only show the one. I get a certificate for each of my Petrol levels so that is four certificates and then I'll get the trade test which is the Diesel. It doesn't mean much more than making me look like someone that really put in some effort rather than to skip it all and go straight for the Diesel.

I hope all of this makes sense.


Where I Like To Be!

Well I won't really say like to be since it is a stressfull en-devour but certainly worth it all! Ironic little story but someone from the family actually works at the college. Not that I get benefits of any kinds though but it almost feels like home if you're not their to do the levels.

This is just part of the college, I didn't really get all that much photos, I think I was a little too worried and besides that I didn't want to get photos of all the shady characters coming to try and write their levels.

That's one thing I've never understood is these backyard hill billys coming to do their levels, they rarely pass as well! In all honesty they make the rest of us look real bad, especially since I have a passion for what I do and then I fall under the category of that dirty mechanic everyone looks down on!

Laughs my story is a little bit different! You know how you can spot a mechanic over a weekend when he isn't working because he is still a little oily or dirty or his clothes might be dirty. Well this is not the case with me! The first thing I do when I get home is take a nice hot bath and scrub myself like I haven't scrubbed myself since last night! My clothes or overall well that goes into a bucket with some degreaser to soak out all of the oil and then it goes into the wash! I have a reputation to uphold and boy do I love it!

IMG_20230816_094446.jpg


The Last And Final Test I Took.

Pssttt The Easy One!

I was at the college for about three days, the first day I was there till five and the other two days I left around 1-2 pm where I headed to work to get some of the jobs out, yeah we are always behind!

I wrote about eight tests in those three days of which seven were practical tests and the eight one was a theoretical test which is the one in the picture. The theoretical test was by far the easiest since it was A,B,C,D questions so the answer was right infront of you. The practical however was a little harder, not that the actual work was hard but you had to get a 100 % for all the practical tests so if you leave out one step that should have been in or one measurement and it's the end of that! Then you'll have to go back in a month to rewrite it again!

Anyways I passed so!

I am going to try and push for my level three and four. I want to write level three at the start of March next year, if I pass that I can then shoot for my level four before the end of 2024!

Let's get going!

IMG_20230816_094419.jpg


Dated 17/08/2023

To everyone who made it this far into my post Thank you for the read and the support.

If you found this entertaining or educational please consider a re-blog and up-vote.

Most of all please leave a input in the comments below, whether is good or bad critic I would like to know, whether its your opinion or your way of doing things in a different manner I would like.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Connecting the people of #HIVE across South Africa. #hive

Sort:  

Well done on passing your tests man! Sounds like you have a solid game plan ahead of you!

!LUV

Thanks a million bud! All I need to do now is see it through!

You are a man of willpower and commitment! You can do it!

Oh of that you can be sure!

Much love bud!

!BEER

@technicalside, @zakludick(6/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx