You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's a fish... with a hole in its back

in NeedleWorkMonday2 months ago

Thank you for your kind reward, it is wonderful news. lace doilies, yup I remember those when visiting elderly relatives, many many many years ago, sitting on sideboards and dining tables to protect the real wood surfaces from stains and marks. A time when "proper" furniture was the norm, now it seems to be all MDF and chipboard. Cheers Ikea!!

Sort:  

Yes, that combination of real wood and these doilies was a thing! (thanks to you now I learned the word doilies, I was struggling yesterday to find the adequate English word, so I went with lace table mats)

Also, these were placed below the little porcelain figurines, so many of them, and also tiny doilies for tiny figurines. A bit challenging to clean all of it from the dust 😂

lace table mats is good, I knew what you meant. 👍

Thanks, but it is always good to make our vocabulary of a foreign language wider ;)

I totally agree one must do ones best

Oh, pronounced

Doy lees if that also helps

And thanks to the pronunciation tip too :D

you're welcome