It's a fish... with a hole in its back

in NeedleWorkMondaylast month

IMG_20240409_200255.jpg

I have never asked my aunt what this crochet table mat represented.
My first thought was a fish with a hole in its back, and it stayed my second thought too. What else it could be?

Ok, I know it is not a guessing contest here so we can think whatever we want, but I see the eyes, the tail, the whole body...

My student who came today for his piano lesson saw the crotchet items on the table and commented that it is very Eastern European style of things I gathered there to take these photos. And that it is somehow a "granny" style. Maybe I am getting old? 😂

IMG_20240409_141621.jpg

I found several crotchet table mats, though I have more. Somewhere, in one bag that I didn't have time to search for... these are also nice examples of the fruits of my deceased aunt's hobby. She crocheted so many table mats, tablecloths, decorations, and laces and gave me a handful of them. I don't use them as decoration on my furniture like it was the tradition many decades ago in my family. I just keep them as a memory. I got them more than 20 years ago.

IMG_20240409_200228.jpg

This one is bigger and I folded it in 4 for this photo. I don't know how much time someone needs to finish an item like this one... those who crochet or knit would know it better. And so many nice details they have.

IMG_20240409_141707.jpg

I have never learned to crochet or knit although I remember that my aunt and grandmas wanted to show me how to do it. I was a bad student for this activity.

So, I am surprised that one young lady learned by herself to knit items like this:

IMG_20240409_130920.jpg

When my son got it as a gift we thought that it was not possible that it was handmade. However, we were wrong. The next item that arrived was a bigger garment. A huge blue sweater with white flowers. First, she made the small parts and then knitted them together.

IMG_20240409_131156.jpg

I liked it so I asked my son can I wear his gift. He was not thrilled but I tried it anyway 😁
The luck is on his part - it is too big for me so I can't steal it from him.

IMG_20240409_141517.jpg

The next knitted items might be funny for those who live in warm parts of our globe, but those who have met cold winters will find these knitted socks useful. Very useful when you can't warm up your feet in any other way.

I got them from my mom, but a little accident happened to the white pair of socks. I washed them in warmer water than should so they decreased in size but my feet didn't! 😂

Now I can't wear them anymore. Just the grey ones with the orange and yellow flowers.

IMG_20240409_115524.jpg

All these crochet and knitted items travelled today to my blog as I got a little inspiration from some answers from this post. It was the HPUD guessing contest held by @livinguktaiwan where she asked about an item she showed in her post. She will announce her winners in her post, but my part was the extra section. It is explained there how I got 25 HP to be shared further if there would be some interesting and creative comments I liked.

Well, there were quite a few answers to the question What am I that caught my attention.

From the open mouth of a fish, like @leaky20 said, or spider webs of different kinds coming from Hivers like @hoosie, @alonicus or @incublus (oh, there some snakes were included too). We also had some answers that included leisure activities - @edje was in the mood to play golf and he would use the mysterious object as a golfball catcher/goal, while @duskobgd would use it as a sunshade to protect himself from the sun while fishing.

An elegant and educated lady would use that item as a lady's parasol - I learned it from @lizelle, so maybe I should have one while I take my walks. @nanixxx doxxed the host of the April HPUD guessing contest saying it was LUT's artwork displayed in the Fado museum. In case we want to visit that museum and Portugal itself, the easiest way would be to use a portal but be careful as you can end up in a pastry shop; according to @ahmedhayat, it is an open cave leading to the sweet world of Portugal.

If you are reading this little summary you are still human and not made out of crochet. Well, it could easily happen if you fall into the Woven portal to an inter-dimensional wormhole of time travel. That's true, I read it in @ablaze's answer and he had a lot of photos as proof - Snowpea. Hope you are still not lost in all these answers... as imagine now being a giant and having half a bra - you would laugh a lot, right? It happened to me while reading the answer that @grindle left to our imagination.

As a judge who has the freedom to choose one or more answers to this part of the contest, my decision goes into sharing the reward of the promised 25 HP. The answer I laughed at the most is receiving 5 HP (and I will not even try to find the other half of the bra), and the other users that I mentioned in this summary are receiving 2 HP each. Sharing is caring, and this little exercise was meant to increase our creativity and have fun and engagement with each other. If you don't agree with the decision of the judge... well, you can try to catch me with that item you saw in the April HPUD Guessing Contest post and throw me to the bottom of the ocean.

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

I remembered so many things with this publication. My grandmother, my great aunt and my mom made things like this, they loved it and made beautiful things, and very similar... what memories! Many times they look like they are not handmade but it is amazing how beautiful they look!!!

Thank you!!! They are beautiful works!❤️

Yes, sometimes they are made with that perfection that we can doubt but then we see the real work and how much patience and practice was needed so everything is possible 😇

It looks like it's machine made and I love those things, but who said that about old? hahaha they are beautiful things.

Good night @mipiano!!! I'm falling asleep🤣

Good night, falling asleep activity here too 👋

Good morning! Have a beautiful Wednesday!❤️

Good morning (did my morning arrive just now? 😂)

I'm almost time for the Argentinian mate.... mate but before ... Mercadona hahaha

Thanks for the mention and for the award 🙂
I will remember this post of yours so that when I go to my mother's house, I will pull out all the crocheted tablecloths she has and make a gallery of her collection.

That would be nice to see. I know that crochet tablecloths were (or still are) very popular 😇

Laughs, the hole is where the fin use to be!

Anyways, this might be considered old or granny and righteously so ey? But the image of that is burned into my childhood!

All hell was loose if you spilled coffee on one of those! xD What a throwback!

But if you see the mat from the top of it, like seeing both symmetric sides of the fish, then it's the back of it (can't explain it better in English 😂)

I know, I know. If coffee or juice is spilt on these crochet treasures 🤐 then we better run. As quick as we can hahaha

I needed a laugh tonight, so thank you for this post @mipiano, I also chuckled at that half a bra answer! That image still is a mystery, I am very curious about the answer.

Do you know what I see besides a fish, it could be the side-view of a bird. The hole is his eye, and he has his beak wide open. I'd love to know what it represents!

I still have a couple of crochet cloths, kept the ones that have the 'vintage' look like the one in your second image, but the others with 1960s look are slowly walking out of the house;)

Thank you again for cheering me up with this post! I was searching for photos of my Dad for @ericvancewalton's Memoir Monday, and discovered cards, old letters, and way too many photos that made me sad!

And thank you for the HP <3

Elegant lady with a parasol, you are very welcome and I am happy you cheered up with this post 😇

Let's always knit fun and good vibes into our days 😋

Haha, yes, it totally looks like a side view of a bird with an eye (the hole)... I think this bird is hungry then :D

What beautiful crochet fabrics. I have always admired people who are capable of making these creations and out of pure curiosity to know if I can do it, I started learning crochet a few days ago, I think it will allow me to appreciate the creations even more. best regards 🤗

Good luck with your new activity, learning crochet! 😇
and yes, it is quite admirable, all those little details and patience one needs to do it well!

jajaja...I do hope you enjoy the bottom of the ocean jajaja...Nice collection.. I got my collection from my mother , she used to make crochet...

untitled.gif

Hahaha, yeah, I do enjoy the bottom of the ocean 😂

Let's see if I come back to the surface one day

I'm sure you will jajaja

I definitely see a fish as well, but then, I may have a "thing" for knitted fish... 😅😂

Thanks for the HP also 😁

You do have a thing for knitted fish 😂

Crochet is an activity that I have never been able to learn. I admire those who do it and especially those who do it as beautifully as your aunt. It is a work that takes patience and knowledge. Making those complex pieces with a skein of thread and a needle is a titanic task. It can take months to complete a large piece.

The first mat also looks like a fish to me...with a hole in its back 😂. I loved the knitted socks and your son's sweater (pity it was so big 😜). I think you know wool can shrink in very hot water 😆.

Very fair decision by the jury 🤭. Hugs.

A lot of patience and feeling for that, I guess. But we can also enjoy the patterns by observing them or even drawing (to some small, rounded surfaces hahaha)

Hot water - the worst enemy of wool. Once a beautiful sweater finished at the size suitable for a doll. 😭

Believe me your writing style always brings smiles... Some really beautiful crocheted items, and mommy couldn't make use of that crocheted sweater:(

Some interesting guesses by the people but who would have guessed it half a bra🤣🤣🤣. Omg.

@tipu curate

Hahaha, thanks, I am glad smiles or laughter can come from these posts.

Well, we will see from Livinguktaiwan what was the real answer, but that bra answer was the one I laughed the most at 😂

thank you 😇

Wow what a relaxing walk you gave us dear, with this story of these wonderful works of art, you showed me another way to see the crochet, as a fascinating journey of creative craftsmanship.

This was definitely another way to see crochet as I can't do it so at least here came the works I got as a gift. Thank you, I am glad you liked this post 😉

This is how a judge should be, fair. Those little tablecloths and socks are super cute. Hehehe... how nice that you have all these memories. And if you ever feel cold, you can always use mipianito sweater, of course he lends it to you without any problem.. The bad thing would have been if it was too small for you.

;)

(aquí estoy acabada de llegar del trabajo que fui a buscar unas cosas y toallitas húmedas)

Mipianito was reading the text while I was writing the post, he approved what I wrote especially the part that I can't wear it hahaha. It has too long sleeves, my arms are lost there. 😂

Trabajo - aquí empezó también 😒

Oh, I like to wear big t-shirts when I'm at home... Thanks for the power up!

but too heavy and too long sleeves. well, maybe I had to demonstrate with a photo lol

good night 👋

Te creo, te creo... además ya mipianito dijo la última palabra, aunque esto tan bonito se te pudiera caer así, sin querer, en agua caliente. 🤣

Sin querer 😂

🌼🌼🌼

Thank you for the reward ! 😀

All those crochet things are wonderful, and well worth preserving. You might be able to save the white socks.. You could try scrunching up some acid-free tissue paper and pushing it into them so there is a slight but even pressure. Then leave them for a week or three and gradually add a little more paper as needed, always making sure the pressure from inside is gentle and even. With any luck, it'll gently stretch the fibres back to their original shape.

You are welcome, and thank you for the tip about saving the white socks. The unfortunate thing is that it became inextensible like I can't stretch it enough not to hurt my feet 🤐 but yes, I can't lose anything trying out your advice with that tissue paper 😇

As warmer water decrease the size, can colder water increase the size?😕

Unfortunately, it can't

Oh that’s sad

My first thought was a fish with a hole in its back, and it stayed my second thought too. What else it could be?

No no no, you got this all wrong. You put your ice cream cone through this so the ice cream doesn't drip on your hands, and you can wipe your mouth with it afterwards🍧🍦

I don't know how you managed to find a winner, the guys and gals went crazy wild with their suggestions!!!

untitled.gif

Hahaha, now it is clear why that hole is there 😂

You are right, all these answers were brilliant, but now we are waiting for the revelation of the real answer from you 🤓

Wow,It is very interesting😱

Hahaha what a nice fish with a hole in the middle, I guess your aunt placed a specific object in the center of the fish you didn't get to see your aunt wove very beautiful how nice that you kept them so well in all this time.🙂

Maybe it was just the design like this, but anyway I keep it and the other table mats. They are "recuerdos" ;)

Thank you for your kind reward, it is wonderful news. lace doilies, yup I remember those when visiting elderly relatives, many many many years ago, sitting on sideboards and dining tables to protect the real wood surfaces from stains and marks. A time when "proper" furniture was the norm, now it seems to be all MDF and chipboard. Cheers Ikea!!

Yes, that combination of real wood and these doilies was a thing! (thanks to you now I learned the word doilies, I was struggling yesterday to find the adequate English word, so I went with lace table mats)

Also, these were placed below the little porcelain figurines, so many of them, and also tiny doilies for tiny figurines. A bit challenging to clean all of it from the dust 😂

lace table mats is good, I knew what you meant. 👍

Thanks, but it is always good to make our vocabulary of a foreign language wider ;)

I totally agree one must do ones best

Oh, pronounced

Doy lees if that also helps

And thanks to the pronunciation tip too :D

you're welcome

Thank you so much, that 2 HP might make me 20000 HP faster 😂

Of course, it adds to it 😁

And luckily, now we have that dangerous spider web that protects us from snakes 😂

Exactly, snakes are worse than spiders so we better be friends with spiders 😂

Hola @mipiano, que bonitos tejidos, yo también tengo tapetes y otras cositas que mi abuela tita me regalaba. Que chulos esos zapaticos. Lindos recuerdos. Mis deseos pases un lindo día. 🥰🤗❤️

Hola @mamani

Parece que las tías y abuelas eran buenas en hacer tapetes de ganchillo. La mía los hacía y luego vendía o regalaba a nosotros en familia. Gracias por sus deseos y también un día bonito para usted. 😇

🤗🥰😁

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 32000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 32500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

for all these things I love crochet, it makes me smile.