Community Garden Update: Re-planting New Seeds and Seedlings with the Kids

in Agricultural Mindset10 months ago



Rainy season has started, so it has been rainy the past weeks. It's not really a good thing for our community garden because a lot of weeds grow easily when it rains.

We asked one of our neighbors to do the massive weeding and also get rid of some of the overgrown okra plants. We just left a couple plants because I'm planning to get some of their seeds once the vegetables dry naturally.

Since we've gotten rid of most of the weeds and overgrown plants, it's time to plant new ones and two of the older kids in our community volunteered to do so. Mama and I guided them on what to do.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


We decided to use this part of the garden for now. And once we have more good soil and we're able to germinate more seeds, we're going to plant on the other side of the community garden where the okra were once planted.

image.png

image.png


As you can see the other side still has some weeds and rocky soil. We usually add more loose and good soil before planting something in this area. Hopefully, it won't be too rainy on weekends as it's the only time I could help. Good thing, it's the kids' vacation from school and they volunteered to take care of the garden.

image.png


I'm waiting for this bunch to wither a bit and collect some seeds to plant. We had a lot of okra plants that the community wasn't able to consume all of them. haha

image.png


Wild chili spotted in the community garden. I actually took out the ripe ones and dry them to take the seeds as well. Here they are below...

image.png

image.png


I also took some withered okra and took out the seeds. I opened two withered okras and had the seeds planted by one of the kids. I took some with me to try and germinate at home as well. Not all of them grow into sprouts, but I was able to grow a couple of sprouts in the past using this method. Anyway, each okra has a lot of seeds inside. :)


It's been gloomy and rainy the past few days, too. It's good for me, but I'm sure the plants miss Mr. Sun. Hopefully, he shows up from time to time to shower the plants with his might. haha

I'll document the growth of the new plants in our community garden when I get the chance. I don't visit it as often due to my schedule and the rain.

Thanks for checking this out! See you around! (^^,)/

Sort:  

Kids be volunter in the garden. And usually kids Will be exited when pouring water into the plant.

I never see okra plant in my country. But once I cook okra and maybe I wrong about the method. The okra has too much mucus. I steamed them not Boiled. Ahaaha

Yes.. they enjoy it. But it's been raining a lot recently, so they didn't have a lot of chances to water the plants.

Yes.. steamed okra is the best... Ohh, grilled okra is yummy, too!!! 🥰🥰🥰

So, when you Steam the okra, they have Mucus when we bite them?

Just steam or grill the whole okra.. it would still be slimy, but less... 😁

Ah okay, now I know slimy texture is normal thing ahaha

Yes... It's an okra thing. 😁😁😁

This is so wonderful. This reminds me on how i love following my parents as a kid to the farm during weekends and I would be so amazed how seeds germinate and develop into fruit. Then we do cultivate bean,melon,okra,corn, cassava and pepper. This is where I developed my love for agriculture. I wanted to practice this farming, so I used a little space beside our house as garden where I started with the cultivation of Okra, pepper and tomato. I would always monitor and maintain these crops everyday and feel so delighted when I noticed the development of the fruit. Hahahaha... My mum would always tell me congratulations for getting a new pet.

Hi.... I just noticed your reply... Sorry.
Anyway, that sounds interesting. It's indeed fun and fulfilling to take care of plants. :)
And I agree with your mom... though I call my plants my "babies" rather than my pet. hahaha