Balancing Technology and Family Connection

in Hive Learners12 days ago

We were having a family conversation one day, and suddenly, I lost track of the whole discussion and pleaded for a repeat of the previous statement. I got distracted with my phone checking through notifications. The conversation lasted barely 5 minutes when I shifted my attention to my phone—really a bad habit, right? I totally accepted and embraced change a long time ago, but it will interest you to know that I am not alone in this habit. Many of us are victims of this habit, all because of the technological devices we are blessed with in this era.

20240507_131513_0000.png


Family connection in this digital era is becoming a challenge. Over the years before the advent of technology devices like our mobile phones, there used to be this kind of bond that existed between family members without much distractions, but now it's been a struggle to maintain a genuine connection without interferences caused by our phones. Many people are becoming phone addicts, and we failed to set boundaries during certain family times, thus creating connection gaps between family members.


Family time is usually one of my most cherished moments. That time of discussion, dinner time, family day out, or even celebration brings an unusual bond with each other, creating long-lasting memories and strengthening communication. It's fair to say that families can always make the most of these moments without our gadgets serving as distractions, but looking at this from another point, you would agree with me that such family time may also need a technology device to capture the moment. You will feel great sitting down on your own and going through your gallery to watch the past nice times with your loved ones. This is one of the reasons why I am not totally in support of banning the use of a phone completely during family time but rather set boundaries.


Talking from the perspective of a parent, I must admit that the use of the phone during family time doesn't send great lessons to my kids. In other words, I am telling them that it's okay to combine the two. Let me quickly share this revelation with you. I was once embarrassed by my 6-year-old son. He said, Mom, can you please stop making hive and eat your food?

Screenshot_20240506-224345.jpg


It was dinner time, and I kept hearing notification sounds left and right. I couldn't overlook it but shifted attention to my phone.. really, his statement pierced through my heart, and I took the correction immediately. Imagine when a child throws such a statement at you; it wasn't a pleasant experience, I would say. There's time for everything indeed, and family time brings more connections and nothing should interfere. But then, there was also a time during a lovely moment with my family, and in the process, a call came in. My second son said again, Daddy, I know you won't be joining us again in this game after the call. Hubby was a bit reluctant to answer the call so his son wouldn't feel unhappy, but after dragging with his spirit, he picked up the call, and behold, it was a man who got his contact from someone. The man said that he called a few days ago and he didn't pick, and this time was his second and final try. Then he may change his mind and give the contract to another person, even though my husband was highly recommended to him.


These two scenarios made us discuss family time and phone usage at home, seeking balance instead. During our family time, there's only a partial ban on phones; the use of phones is for very important calls only and capturing the moment sometimes, and we made the kids understand that, while educating them on our decisions.

20240507_151412_0002.png


Many times we are physically present at family outings or gatherings but lose sense of connection; it's all about our devices trying to meet up with one thing or another. Before my family implemented discipline and restrictions during family time, we were almost losing the kind of connection we once had, but I was glad that it got restored after heart-to-heart discussion about the use of phones and our family bond.

Technology was designed to make life easier for us, and instead of allowing it to control us, we should rather control it and make maximum use of it positively.


This is my response to the #hivelearners community contest on the topic titled, Family Time, No phones

Ps: Image 2 here, image 1 & 3 were taken from canva.

Thanks for reading ❤️❤️❤️

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Haha I can’t even imagine my little cousin telling me to put my phone down and eat
Nbs shut up and things he will hear especially knowing that he is right and I’ll be feeling embarrassed 😂😂😂😂

 12 days ago  

Haha 😂😂😂
Embarrassment in the highest order
I didn't want to explain how embarrassed I felt that day

Oh boy..I nearly squeezed his mouth 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

🤣🤣🤣🤣

 12 days ago  

We are living in digital world and use of smartphone is very natural. Most of people are addicted using smartphone.

you would agree with me that such family time may also need a technology device to capture the moment.

I think it's ok if it requires only few clicks. But if capturing takes priority then It's like capturing dead moments. Moments can be store in our mind also. I want to say in a limit it's ok and good but crossing limit is not good.
!LUV

nkemakonam89, intishar sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/3) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

 11 days ago  

Yea, everything should have limits
It's always amazing to observe limits in all we do
Good morning

 11 days ago  

Good morning.
Hehe it's noon time here already.

 12 days ago  

i am so addicted to my phone i was the reason why my elder brother banned every member of the family from using phone during family gathering. banning phone during family gathering will really be cool

 12 days ago  

It sounds cool..phone addicts everywhere
God please oo

 12 days ago  

Amen

 12 days ago  

Exactly 💯
I agree with you ma
We should maximize technology and control it and not the other way round.

Family bond, family time is key and should be cherished.

Thanks for this awesome post ma

 12 days ago  

Yea..it should be cherished with minimal to zero distractions if possible

 12 days ago  

Yes ma
Very true

 12 days ago  

Mommy, they said leave hive and eat.😂😂 If only he knew that mommy is a celebrity on hive.

You’ve really made a good point and I can see that you have trained your kids to know what is right from wrong. I really admire you.😅

 12 days ago  

Help me warn that little boy to respect the elders, lolz

Thanks for your nice words and for your visit ❤️

 12 days ago  

I will.😅

You’re most welcome.❤️

 12 days ago  

The need to eliminate distraction in family gathering is very important and being the senior here, I have the lead by example.

Smartphones have been a huge source of distraction in the world today and it's important that we control our addiction.

 12 days ago  

George be playing senior role to his siblings..that's great, leading by example... even in relationships, smart phone have broken bonds

 12 days ago  

Using phones during family time won't give chance for full attention to the activities. Smartphones is a way had created a gap between humans, we are not so close to each other like we use to. Some people can choose to live alone for a long period of time as long they have a phone and connection to internet.

 12 days ago  

Yea... gradually we are replacing human connection to the internet.so bad.. thanks for your additions here

I think phone is becoming an addiction these days...

But on another hand, most of us work with our phones and even while we're having family time, we might get a call or notification as regards our services.

I feel we should rather, let those around us know the nature of things we do and while at it, also keep to boundaries.

 12 days ago  

Everything should just have limit... during family time, phone shouldn't distract except for a very important case

 12 days ago  

To be honest,your cousin was actually saying the truth in all honesty. It's a rule of table manner too mama😂 so let's pardon your cousin mama😂.

We shouldn't be too addicted to our phone too much because I also fall as a victim in this aspect sometimes too😂.

I really support the motion of restricting phones while with our family.

Well-done mama
This an amazing post ❤️

 11 days ago  

Haha 😆
He has been pardoned for talking to elders like that
Lol
I know you are a victim too, lmao..we plenty
Let's put restrictions oo

 10 days ago  

Ahhh mama😂🏃🏃
I sure will mama
Thank you for sharing out this amazing post

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

 11 days ago  

Thanks for the curation

Congratulations @nkemakonam89! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 31000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 32000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
 11 days ago  

Yeah you're right, we can't permanently ban the use of phones during family time but we can just reduce it incase there's an urgent thing we need to attend to or capture the moment.

 11 days ago  

That's what I feel
Thanks for reading through , sholex

I’m also guilty of this as well. I can relate 🤣🤣. Whenever my mom wants to talk to me, she would asked, can you please drop Your phone.

 11 days ago  

Chai
Haha 😆😆😂
Repent bro
Lol

I’m adjusting 🥲

 11 days ago  

Ouch! 😁
That boy just have felt a little deprived of his momma's attention because of Hive, and he didn't like that. On the other hand, though, you must have such a great relationship with your kids for them to know about Hive and what you do everyday here. Balance is important, however, and you people as a family are working on that. I found this gem on Dreemport, by the way.

 11 days ago  

Oh, those kids knows a lot about me and hive. They knows ur name, Georgedee, vickoly, hope, and merit's name, hahaha... don't ask me how, that's how we roll

And yes, that my second son is too sensitive to his environment and wouldn't keep calm if he notice anything that troubles his heart, I love that about him anyways.
Yea, balance... really there was a time phone nearly took away our family bond..all thanks for communication, it salvaged the situation
Thanks for visiting, Jay!

 8 days ago  

Oh, wow. They know us? That's surprising and interesting. I wonder what you tell them about us. Lol

 8 days ago  

Hahaha
Curious Jay
I usually show them your robotic images, then they watch George Dee food videos with me... and merit and hope song presentations, and see Vickoly's call for giveaways😂

So these names stuck into their minds and they call u guys name like kilode while playing "concentration kids game", hahaha

Am wondering if you're an american mom, but when i look at the long ignore name I'm reminded that haha.. I know this aunty, she's an original igbo woman from Nigeria😅

I love it how you got such bonds with your hubby and kids, it must have been a foundation and of course a good one.. Well done sis❤

#dreemerforlife

Knock knock...
ERROR: Joke failed.

@bpcvoter1, You need more $LOLZ to use this command. The minimum requirement is 0.0 LOLZ.
You can get more $LOLZ on HE.