Gone Never To Be Seen Again

in Hive Learners15 days ago

image.png


Today, I want to share a story about a loan. It wasn't me taking a loan but rather loaning money to somebody else. Just to give some background, I'm fortunate enough where I never had to take a loan in my life but that doesn't mean I'm rich or anything. I would say my parents are well off but I never asked for money from them nor did they give me money besides maybe Chinese New Year. On a side note, I have borrowed money from friends before before but it's such a miniscule amount that there's no juicy story about those. Adding on, I don't plan on taking any loans in the future either because I would prefer to pay it off in one go than to pay interest if possible.

The story goes to one of my jobs at a business networking club which is an NGO that focuses on members having fellowship and then getting together to discuss about any possible collaborations in their businesses. Since I'm like an admin in this job, I know every member in the club. There was a person and for this blog I will just name the A because I don't want to expose them or anything.

A was a friendly and nice person. I would consider them as an extrovert. A was really good at speaking publicly. Anyways A would chat with me now and then and it seemed that they did had a stroke of bad luck. A lost their job and then they mentioned that they had car issues. Then there was one day that A texted me. It was one of those texts that were like out of the blue and you just had the feeling based on the chat that they were going to ask for a favor. My gut feeling came out to be correct and A asked me if I could lend them RM200 which is around 42 USD. A wanted the money to cover some urgent payments on their car or something, I forgot what exactly. Due to the previous chats, I guess I did pity A so I lent them the money.

I have mentioned in one my previous blogs about how I moved out and struggled. There were people that helped me in that journey like the couple I was paying rent to and after that someone that let me stay with them for almost free basically. These past experiences also helped me decide to lend them the money because I also want to help others. A seemed like they were in a bad spot. After sending A the money, A promised to pay me back after a month or two.

About two months passed and I never heard from A. Then randomly one day after the two months, I remembered that A owed me money so I texted A. A told me that they will pay me soon. Then after that A has ghosted me.

Honestly, it's kind of sad because I thought I had a good read on A's personality. I guess they weren't as responsible as I thought and they also lacked a conscience because if they did have one, they would've paid me back. Personally, if I ever borrowed any money from anybody, I would pay them back as soon as I was able to. I would keep thinking about it in my head that "oh I owe X money". After that experience, I find it hard to lend money anymore. I probably wouldn't at the current stage of my life but if I ended up really wealthy, maybe I wouldn't mind.

What do you think of my story? Did something like this ever happen to you?

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 15 days ago  

I had a similar experience, people would play the Pity card when they are in need of help but the moment they get the loan, they show their true self.

Which makes the kind people not want to render help anymore

 15 days ago  

That sucks that you had something similar. I guess I'm just happy that it wasn't a huge amount of money and I did have in mind that I would be ok losing it in the worst situation which unfortunately did happen x.x.

so are you also one of the kind people that doesn't want to help anymore?

I still want to believe in humanity but I don't know I lose faith when this happens.

 15 days ago  

It is risky to lend money to someone especially to whom you didn't know clearly. Anyway, you helped A which is good but it is bizarre to know A didn't return it on a fixed date. You have a lesson here, you should not trust any person regarding money lol.

 15 days ago  

ya maybe not but it's hard cuz you kinda want to help them too? What about you O.O has anybody ran away with money you lent?

I have also learnt this lesson hard bro. Now I follow a simple strategy. I don't ask for money and also don't lend to anyone. People feel bad when I say no but this feeling is better than I am feeling sorry. Many people played pity cards with me and I lost a few thousand $$ now I don't trust anyone when it comes money. Also now because I said to a few people so they are not in touch with me anymore. But it's fine.
Sad that you're going through this but learn a lesson and move. We can't expect people to be responsible. Mostly are not and it's a bitter truth.

 14 days ago  

woah alok you didn't ask or lend O.O. Wow didn't expect you would lose thousands . This is real life or in crypto that you gave them the thousands. Oh this was maybe a year or two ago. I have moved on though but still :( I guess it'll be hard to lend money unless its maybe family member or really close friend

Both bro. Crypto and real life too.
In crypto I trusted someone but he cheated me. Also in real life many people did the same.
I think it's necessary to learn from mistakes and I learnt.
Many people in real life stopped talking to me because of money. It feels bad that my relations is gone and money also. Better say no upfront so that I can at least save my money.
I am not rich but I manage my expense with my income and this is why I never ask money from anyone unless something really critical

 14 days ago  

O.O owh that hurts. good thing i never asked you for money :'). hopefully when splinterlands get better tho yall can hlep me upgrade the guild tho O.O.

it's all good tho i prob wont trust too many people with money anymore. There's probably only one that I would since he trusted me with his money o.o

Congratulations @shawnnft! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 31000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 32000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024