Wednesday Walk - Up Corstorphine Hill to see the tower

in Wednesday Walk10 months ago

A few days ago, I took a walk up Corstorphine Hill, on a nice sunny evening.

-EXLygo8Tr2xFyNiyy1UHA.jpeg

The Hill is here in Edinburgh, and just near our house. There is a tower at the top of the hill, and it takes me an hour to get up there and back.

H_jl_85tSIuAdDuMAHYUwQ.jpeg

Its all uphill going. The first part of the walk goes up through Murrayfield Golf Course. The path is actually walled and basically goes through the middle of the course. As can be seen, it really was a nice evening, with beautiful blue skies.

LQOQxO3ITG-wkAYjAXMkzw.jpeg

I often see golfers hitting their balls, and they must go astray now and again, although I've never seen one coming may way yet - but the warning signs are there !!!

eW0O-h1GSaWQK6xqBlf_ug.jpeg

At the top end of the golf course, there is a view point called 'rest and be thankful'. It looks back over the golf course with the city in the background. It really is a lovely view, and this picture does not do it justice.

_Iwu0QhdSESbAHE7asrXFA.jpeg

From this point onwards, its more of a track up through the forest - which is quite popular with joggers, mountain bikers and dog walkers.

UWR8JE1ATuOaPstQB1YA2g.jpeg

On the way along the path I spotted this nice patch of thistles - they are the national flower of Scotland - jaggy as f*** - thats us !!!

KxbZF7XdSsq7x892d6Wfmw.jpeg

There are some pretty nice trees up on the hill, and this part of the walk is also next to the zoo. The zoo is on the right of the picture above, just over that fence. I can often see some animals when I go up (usually zebra), but didnt see any on that night, but did hear either a lion or a tiger roaring, which was quite fun !

-DBiX-cHTk-ITjHieacyYg.jpeg

I hadnt actually been up this walk for quite some time. My wife and I would do it most lunchtimes during lockdown, just to get a break from our apartment. So it was nice to get out and go up there again. I was quite surprised to see that they have resurfaced some of the paths which is nice - the one above could get quite muddy, so I'm glad they did that part.

XwalgyJdRuWV55LhQB2-Lw.jpeg

Close to the top I passed another wild tree - with long arms like the whomping will from Harry Potter - maybe its where JK Rowling got the idea from, because she is from Edinburgh.

MzIxH7z_Tdyzhg6S5zhl3A.jpeg

And then I got to the tower. The sun was starting to go down, but it was still illuminating the top.

Kc1nBYDwQIqgp9Qru5UKMQ.jpeg

As per the details above, it was built in 1871 as a memorial to Sir Walter Scott, who is one of our most famous writers. Its locked so you cant go in, but it has 5 floors and I guess you can get up to the top and have a look out over the city - I guess someone must have the key to get in !

1rqeaNa8RcixMYvcAZvqMA.jpeg

And then right next door to it is a comms tower. Necessary, but not nearly as pretty ! The high point on the hill here will give good mobile phone coverage over the city.

S7gJoHINQdC2QzVXc91peA.jpeg

Making my way back down, I passed this lonesome tree - wouldnt it make a good totem pole !

EWXNkzDDSESk1If9O73CsQ.jpeg

Taking a slightly different path back down I also passed a shelter built by someone - maybe Bear Grylls was in town at some point !!!

wm6nQtoHQyGlYcE2uSQ-lg.jpeg

Then I stopped at the view point again, and took a different pic with the fire weed in the foreground - although a weed, I really love the pink flowers on these.

dRgrY3fvRo6K2J9uQ-UQHw.jpeg

The sun was beginning to set and cast nice long shadows over the golf course on the way back.

Q26AC3CjRrOeR6AKng61BQ.jpeg

Looking over the course on the other side of the path I did see two deer out on the far edge, although too far away to pick up with my camera phone - the views were nice too !

BdYBljyhSP-FGREINhxvJw.jpeg

And then back down the hill on the way to our apartment I took the pic above looking out over the school grounds - the sky was looking quite nice !

bvDYDZibTeSl09vTlwWKrA.jpeg

Well that finishes off my wednesday walk for this week. I really enjoyed going up the hill after such a long time from doing it. I must make the habit of doing it more often - it was such a lovely walk !!!

Sort:  

Wow, so much going on! This looks like it was a really great walk! When you have that as a destination, I can't really blame you. I like walks where you can go one way and then come back a different. Just so it isn't quite as repetitive. Although when my wife and I walk at our park, it's usually in circles!

We are quite lucky, because we cant do this walk direct from our apartment. Its just the fact that the first half is nearly entirely all uphill that puts us off doing it more regularly !

I gotcha. I just noticed those thistles again as I was scrolling down to this. I know they suck, but they have a certain beauty to them as well.

Sir Walter Scott is really a famous writer. Such a historic building.

Many thanks !
!PIZZA

Looks like a trail I could ride on my mountain bike! Lovely scenery there. Thanks for sharing!
!ALIVE
!WINE
!LOLZ
!PIZZA
!BBH

@hoosie! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @davidthompson57. (3/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

@hoosie! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @davidthompson57. (1/5)

Aye - there are often mountain bikers there. I passed about 3 during that walk.
!ALIVE
!BEER
!LOLZ
!PIZZA

@davidthompson57! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
hoosie tipped tahastories1
hoosie tipped davidthompson57
hoosie tipped littlebee4
davidthompson57 tipped hoosie
@hoosie(1/15) tipped @deraaa

That’s a pretty cool walk up there… just watch out for golf balls hahaha !LOL
Beautiful captures. The tower looks so impressive.
Thanks for sharing @hoosie
!LUV

@hoosie, @littlebee4(4/5) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Many thanks !
!LUV
!PIZZA

@littlebee4, @hoosie(2/5) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

You are welcome 👋🏻😊
!ALIVE
!LOL

@hoosie! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @littlebee4. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Why was it so easy for the scientist to learn how to make glass from lizards?
It was clear from the gecko.

Credit: reddit
@hoosie, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of littlebee4

(1/8)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

WOW I love that tower and the walk to it such a beautiful area

When I was younger I used to work in a market Gardens which was beside a golf course, often when working in the fields golf balls would drift of course and land near us luckily I never got hit with one

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

Many thanks. I would think that getting hit by a golf ball from the tee would not be fun !

You Crack Us Up!

This Post Was Manually Curated by the FUN Curation Team.
Help reward #fun content creators by joining our curation trail on Hive.Vote.
Or Delegate Hive to @lolz.curate and earn LOLZ farming rewards.

Click to delegate 10, 25, 50, 100, or 1000 HP with HiveSigner.

What a great place to walk.
It would be great to be able to climb the tower, there must be some nice views from the top.

!LUV

@hoosie, @coquicoin(1/3) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Many thanks - yes, I'd love to go up in the tower - that would be awesome !
!LUV
!LOLZ

@coquicoin, @hoosie(3/5) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

What did the tie say to the hat?
I'll hang around here while you go on ahead.

Credit: reddit
@coquicoin, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of hoosie

(3/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

We like the way you play the game! !PGM
Thanks for being a supporter of The LOLZ Project.

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 14

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


What a walk it was! I really enjoyed the view and the whole stories that followed. I couldn’t help but imagining falling into those thistles! Hahaha. And that view (we missed the deer unfortunately) was magical. To me anyway. I know it would be if I was there to experience it.

Many thanks - it is a really nice walk, I'm glad I went !
!ALIVE
!LOLZ
!PIZZA
!PGM

@deraaa! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 4

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Was in Edinburgh years ago. Visited the castle and other sights. Beautiful city! 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿
!LUV

@hoosie, @borsengelaber(1/1) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Yes, it really is - I'm luck to live here.
!ALIVE

@borsengelaber! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.