You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

in Weekend Experiences โ€ข 3 years ago

Ok please promise me you are not going to laugh at me.๐Ÿคฃ

But when I read this topic if, the first thing that came to mind was 'I need to learn how to change my own car tire. And how to hitch me car battery myself. And well, just how to maintain my car.'

Of course I can do certain little things already. But some things I still can't. How depressing. Sigh. ๐Ÿ˜’๐Ÿ˜‚

Sort: ย 

No laughter from me, when I was younger, a hell of a lot younger, I enjoyed being a back-yard car guy helping friends and doing some work on my own car. Now-a-days, forget it, cars are just to sensitive to everything. So changing tires is a need when out in the boonies and jump starting a dead battery, beyond that, I simply gave up on.

ย 3 years agoย ย 

No laughter at all!

This is a good skill to have and one that so many do not have. I did a post on it a while back actually.

So many people who drive cars have no idea how to swap out tyres but I think they should - It should be taught as part of the learning to drive process. Same with other basic car maintenance items.

I hope you learn how to do it.

Thanks for sharing and don't worry,you're not the only one who doesn't know. It's common.

Haha, I think it's a shame not to know those things.๐Ÿ˜…
I always thought that this was a women's 'problem' uhh, but recently I was with a friend (a guy)..there was a problem with his car and he totally panicked. I realized that day that I knew more about cars than him.

I totally agree with you..they should learn us these things at the driving school.

It's a good thing that I'm writing about it today though.
Because of all the lockdowns lately, I kept putting it off and I kept forgetting about it, but I just made an appointment with a friend who is going to teach me how to change my car tire. So, I am making the first step...๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜…

ย 3 years agoย ย 

Yay! You've taken a step towards acquiring a new skill and once learned you'll know it forever. Different cars have different elements but essentially the process is the same and so you'll be able to change a tyre on any car once you learn how to do it.

Yes, hopefully I'll be good in it.๐Ÿ˜‚

That isn't depressing at all ๐Ÿ˜„ that's cute. We all face difficulties in doing what others consider easy. For Instance I can not maintain a single phone for more than a month or two. Every now and then my phone keeps on falling from my hand and kaboom it's broken ๐Ÿ˜‚

Hahaha..I know๐Ÿคฃ I am being dramatic.
Omg๐Ÿคฃ you just sound like my friend who breaks his phone every time. Only he has anger issues and throws away his phone when angry. ๐Ÿ˜–
I hope your current phone will last longer though...maybe we should challenge you for that๐Ÿคฃ

I have similar rage issues as well ๐Ÿ˜‚ I guess that challenge will be helpful for me ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜„

Oopsie...hahaha ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚