WE167 | It doesn't make less of a man if he does the household chores.

It's another meaningful and interesting topic that Sir Galenkp provided for this #weekend-engagement. I am supposed to share my weekend experience about our exhausting yet fulfilling whole-day trip from North to South of Cebu (approx 7-8 hours travel time) but when I read the topics this weekend, I am interested in the particular topic which I think is "more" serious and substantial that needs to be shared even though it's a little sensitive for men, especially husbands. By this I mean - the husband doing the household chores "full time".

IMG_20230821_120050.jpg

For this weekend's writing prompt, I'm choosing Topic # 2 which is,

For the women...Do you have to push your partner into chores and housework? Explain and tell us any funny stories or methods you've used to get that partner of yours working! (Sex usually works well I guess.) Tell us what chores you'd rather they did and didn't do, and the reasons.

As I mentioned earlier, I think this topic can be a sensitive subject to men or everyone because of the prevailing gender stereotypes and traditional roles that most of us grow with. And I think this is the reason why the words "push" and " methods used to get that partner of yours working" are used when it comes to "men doing the household chores" for this writing prompt. Hehe.

IMG_20230821_114637.jpg

I found him macho doing the laundry!

Almost all of us are aware that these gender roles have often pigeonholed men into specific roles as providers and not as a doer of household chores or domestic tasks. I even have this orientation before I got into marriage and even elder married couples somehow conditioned my mind that once I get married I need to serve my husband, cook for him, wash clothes, clean the house, and do all the household chores there are.

IMG_20230821_114617.jpg

But believe me when I say, that I am fortunate and blessed when my partner does all the household chores for almost the first two years of marriage. From cooking food, doing the laundry (including my undies, yes), washing dishes, cleaning the kitchen and the house, buying groceries, everything of it!

All husbands reacted: Seriously!

While the wives said: Oh! you're lucky!

[ Insert my big big smile here! ]😁

This topic made me miss my husband and reminded me of how lucky I am to be pampered with so much care (every wife's dream). This time I'm sharing with you a bit of our activities under our roof. Hope you can learn from this especially the tactics I used. Haha. Kidding aside.

For the women...Do you have to push your partner into chores and housework?

I got married last 2020 and gave birth in 2021. The nature of my job as a Secondary Teacher at a Public School requires me to spend 8 hours a day in school from Mondays to Fridays plus the allowance time for my preparation and travel time going back and forth to the school. On some weekends, we are also required to report to school if there are School evaluations or upcoming big events.

My husband sees all of this and automatically sets aside his plan to go back to work. Too much to say, he served me and my daughter like a queen and a princess. He wakes up very early in the morning to prepare breakfast, clean the dishes afterward, wash our clothes, take care of our daughter when I go to work, and clean the house, water the plants, he even gives me time to hike early in the morning while he was busy preparing everything. He creates a comfortable and organized home environment for our little family.

IMG_20230821_115108.jpg

He told me that he enjoyed doing it and he is happy doing it for us. At first, I thought, I need to convince him to do these tasks while we are still building our own. It might be very convenient for us (financially) if he goes back to work and we will hire a house helper, but I was happy that he choose to do this for us and shower all his love and care for us. We had more time to bond and be with each other because I know that one day he needs to get back to work for our future plans.

IMG_20230821_114629.jpg

Explain and tell us any funny stories or methods you've used to get that partner of yours working!

I know that he gets tired too, and sometimes feels ashamed. He even self-pitied sometimes and uttered words like "I should be the one providing for the family". I greatly understand how he feels and sometimes degrades himself every time he compared himself to other husbands.

IMG_20230821_115150.jpg

So what I did was, I was very vocal about my appreciation for him and how grateful and blessed I and my daughter for him. I also gave him random hugs and kisses while he was doing the chores. A back hug is his favorite! Ssshhh! Do you think this is a method? Naaah, That's my appreciation and acknowledgment for his love and I think turns into our love language.

But girls, if you want your partner to do the household chores for you, maybe you can apply these and improvise it a little more. What do you think?😉

(Sex usually works well I guess.)

[ I leave my big big smile here. ]


Thanks sir G for this interesting #weekendengagemet topic. This made me appreciate my husband and miss him even more. I'll be sending this link to him (he now works abroad) to remind him how grateful and feel loved I am and my daughter because of him.


Thank you for reading guys. Have a beautiful week ahead! I wish you all safe and well always!

Don't forget to smile often! 🤗😘😉

 All photos are taken by my husband. I requested these photos of him last night so that I can include them on my blog. He supports me 100% on my Hive Journey.
Sort:  

Oh this is so lovely. And yes. It's totally a love language. @zakludick and I share chores and cooking. We even get the kids involved. It's something that we're trying to teach them: that the love for your family is expressed in how you treat your home ❤️ @aimeludick @merenludick and @matthew-williams really do try their best!

Thank you Ma'am.❤️ I find doing household chores together a great way to bond and have quality time together with my partner. I also plan to involve my daughter on the household chores as part of her trainings very soon.☺️

that the love for your family is expressed in how you treat your home

Ohh, I love this.😍❤️

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

!LUV

@clairemobey, @zakludick(4/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

I smiled till I got to the end. Why did you avoid the sex part?😂

Your husband is doing great and if course you're blessed. These type of men are rare but you have one. I call that a blessing. I really enjoyed reading your post and your images are lovely too. Have a great one!

Ohh.😍 Thank you for your kind words Ma'am.🥰 You're right, it's rare to find a man like this considering their masculinity/gender role. I felt blessed and super cherished to have him

The downside was, I was having a hard time adjusting to the household chores when he went back to work 3 months ago. I miss his presence in the House and the way how he pampered me and my daughter. 😅

Wow you are very lucky to have a well rounded husband ma'am!

oh Thanks, Ma'am. It's a lot easier and more convenient to have our husbands around especially since we spend most of our time in school. 😊

Ka swerte ni misis nga naay pagkabuotan nga mister. Ingon ana d ai ang sekreto @callmesmile?hehehhe

tinatagong pangmalakasang teknik Maam Cha!😄

True. Doing household chores isn't base on gender but rather a life skill that we all should know, regardless of gender. Thank you for sharing your insights.

Absolutely.🤗

Doing the household chores are for everyone, regardless of gender. 😊 Lucky are you Smi, you have that kind of husband. Gasa gyud na gikan sa Ginoo.🤗

Find a husband jd Nenetz nga kaatbang nmu sa balay, not just a provider but also partner sa household chores.. and the term is very right " Gasa sa Ginoo".

Let a husband material find a wife like me nalang Smi oiy. Hahahaha.

I've known a lot of couples that the husband is the one who is in charged at home because when they are together, the wives has a bigger salary than the husband and they decided that the wife will work and the husband will take care of the baby and the house. This is similar in your case.

Kung Baga nabaliktad Ang Mundo but indeed you are fortunate having a kind of husband who understands the situation and prefer to take care of his family than let other people do it.

Pero di Rin talaga maiwasan na makaisip Sila na dapat Sila Ang bumubuhay sa pamilya.

In my field of work, with a decent wage, I honestly wanted my husband to just stay and take care of our home. On the other hand, I also understand that I need to consider our future plans and the growth of my husband. I also wanted him to pursue his dreams and his personal growth. So in the end, he now goes back to work abroad to support the family and started building our plans. 😊

I miss him so bad and how he took care of and pampered us with his service of love. Hopefully, after his contract, he will stay home na. 😊

Ah okay nasa labas pala sya ngayon sis. Okay lang Yan Basta for the plans din talaga.

Ka kugihan sa mister, happy gyud ang wife if ingon ani pirmi.

Blessing jd sa atu mga wife ang kugihan na mister Maam. 😍

Mkamingaw ang kukugi, peru laban para sa future.

A responsible man who knows when to act inside the house is a real man! For keeps kumbaga, you are really lucky to have found you man, maalaga, responsible at Turing pa dayiny prinsesa. Ganyang lalaki ang wish ng ilang mga wifey dyan ee.

True Miss Ruffa,. wish ng mga wife yong magkaroon ng responsible husbands who also help us with the household chores if they have the time.

Kayo Miss Ruffa, ano arrangement nyo sa bahay?

You are blessed because you have a very buotan nga husband mam Smile. Lahi ra gyud. God bless your family.

You also have a bootan husband Maam Ler.,

Thanks Mam Ler, God bless to your family too!😍

UwU gwapo ni sir, pati lahat tayo natutu at one point gumawa ng chores sa bahay.

Marunong siya magluto ng breakfast, pero paano ang adobo cooking skills niya. HMMMMMMM

Thanks Takuri,😍 I smiled when you said "gwapo ni sir". I told my husband there's someone who commented on my blog who said "he's gwapo" and kinilig cya., haha!

He is good at cooking. He cooks well. Yong luto nya hindi lang pambahay, but pang resto yong style and also his very resourceful, dami nya naiisip na pwede lutuin. 😁

So I really was sad when we decided that he will go back to work. Nasobrahan sa aruga. hehe. Peru syempre I support his dreams and his pursuit of personal growth.🤗

House husband at working husbando.

Very sarap ng lutong minudo!

I really don't understand those mothers or fathers who raise their children by putting so much crap into their heads that a man doesn't do housework. The only thing they create is a parasitic man and a good-for-nothing.

That's what my mom says every time someone tells her that her boy son doesn't get put to do housework because men don't do that 😂😂.

Hi @callmesmile, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

How sweet is that backhug. Prang sa kdrama lang 😄. My husband loves doing household chores too. He cleans the kitchen, do the laundry and he loves cooking more than I do. He does it everytine he's home without me asking him to do it. So while reading your post I was smiling as I can relate to you. It's a treasure to find abhusband like this.

Congratulations @callmesmile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the play-off for third place