You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

Nine-tomatoes-claws girl...

I found your skill more than interesting because I also share a certain love for agriculture, in fact, this week I have made several posts on my blog where I share some of my experiences growing different types of plants.

Tomatoes to me get damaged a lot so I do not use to plant them, besides, I have an iguana that comes to visit my garden and eats the tomato plants without any mercy :'(

But what I do know is that tomatoes require a LOT of care, so much so that it is, as you say, almost an art to grow them. Here in my country there are places where tomatoes are only grown in greenhouses, producing really beautiful tomatoes. In my case, I do not grow such delicate tomatoes but a kind of wild tomato that produces a very small tomato but resistant to pests and diseases, here is a photo:

10_b.jpg

Sort:  

It depends on the way you plant the tomato and also how you water them. Except if you are not an expert, you will loose concentration

True, but the tomato is a delicate plant. The thing about watering the leaves is very true, if the leaves are watered they get sick, if they are not good seeds, the plant does not thrive and even if it has a lot of care, sometimes the same insects spread diseases.

I have my experience growing and tomatoes are one of the plants that require more care. There are certified seeds that allow you to grow certain tomatoes that will not get sick as much, but those are modified seeds and that is another subject. Tomato growing also depends a lot on the type of climate.