Sort:  

The worst is when you need it and cannot find it, so, you buy another. Now you have two to give away!

If you can find it again. @plint

I sometimes buy another one just so I can find the first one when I put the new one away!

Stamps. I'll bet I have at least 100 stamps in this house and don't know where a single one is. Maybe stamps morph into single socks?

Ha ha ha. Oh those stamps and single socks. They are so sneaky.

Sometimes I buy something and intend to bring it back to the store. But then I lose track of the item and rediscover it later. At that point, I don't need the hassle with a store, so I give away. Brand new! I like to think of someone getting that brand new thing. What a surprise that must be. Takes the edge off losing money.

I have been the recipient of your approach, @pokerm. I love finding a brand new thing at thrift prices.

With the tags on!
:)

Instead of throwing them out, you just need to give them out to those who need them, and when you need something like that on the long run, you have no choice other than to buy new ones.

You have found one good secret to keeping the clutter away — moving regularly!

Haha that is true but moving all the time is a lot of hassle!

I have given most of my things out to give space. I have moved a lot as well in the recent times. Despite the movement, I still have some things to give out.