You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

The skill I would like is the ability to get rid of things that no longer serve a purpose in my life. I don't live in clutter. But I have too many things, and that creates psychological clutter. I tend to put things away in a drawer or a cabinet rather than removing them completely from my life. The thinking is that they may prove useful at some point. And in some cases that is certainly true. But much more often, the collections of things in the drawers and the cabinets just grow and grow!

Sort:  

Yard sales?

I like to go to them, but I gave up running them at my house several years ago. I discovered that it would take 2-3 days to prepare, 2-3 days to hold the sale, and at the end, you would have a few hundred dollars in your pocket and still have to clean up a bunch of stuff and haul many things to the donation center. Now I skip it all and go straight to the donation center! :-)

I'm here with you on this one! As a general rule I have had to move every one to two years, so I was constantly going through my things for the next place. I have been here a few years and I cannot believe the things I have accumulated. I could not possibly have all this stuff and so today I started sorting through a few things because nah, I had to clean out my dad's house and I decided right then and there nobody was going to have to go through my stuff and throw it out. I will do that myself.

@dswigle that's why we have very scarce furniture in our house Lady Denise, and we can move anywhere at a moment's notice.

I know, right? I can pack my entire house myself in two days. Wrapped, boxed, and stacked. Boom. I used to be able to do it in one, but, now I realize I don't have to work that hard. :) @papilloncharity

Exactly and one problem that I have is that I have a room full of tools that I am carting with everywhere that we go. My old carpentry tools, my welding machine and kit, plumbing, building and electrical tools only to mention a few. That I have used rarely, but I keep them to use for one day when I am old hahaha.

Always that something we cannot/do not want to let go of, almost like we are what we collect 😁

Well in that case if we are what we collect, I still have my priceless set of original Diston saws.
Then I also have a set of old brass gas blowlamps and many other old high quality tools.
I worked for many years in the trades before I moved into management and now in my charity world, there is hardly every use for the tools, except for small jons at the house, where I only need the basic stuff.

Maybe I am clinging onto my young past hahaha.

!BEER

Most of us hold and treasure things, then when you consider selling or passing on it is difficult to get into the right hands of people who would treasure it as you do... Yes we carry baggage!

!PIZZA


Hey @joanstewart, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@papilloncharity Really? It may be cheaper to sell them and rent it when you need it. You know, when you get old. :))

Problem here is that they have cheap tools and when a rented tool breaks one get's charged for a new one.

So if I want to build a ship when I am old, then I have all of the tools :D

!PIZZA


@dswigle! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

Oh! A man and his tools!

Same here my friend and I have carted my tools with me for thousands of kilometers all over our country. But one day I will have to let go and I dread that day.

!BEER

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Hey @nineclaws, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @nineclaws, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Wow... Packing entire house in two days...? This too much. This means you have loads of many things in your house.

So smart, @papilloncharity!

Thank you kindly Lady @jayna.

It means you have a free space to move about

That's what my life is all about my friend, the freedom of space to move anywhere.

I've lightened the load several times in my life. It'd be OK to think divorces and apartments or RVs. It seems like every time I perch some place for a while the stuff follows. Sooner or later it gets there and stays until the next move.

It's almost miraculous how that works.

That is a skill you should never lose! Imagine the money you could make on Craigs List? Especially when it follows you back.

I seriously agree with you. She should keep that because it is a skill amd the best for that matter.

It always comes creeping back! It is indeed miraculous how that works!

It does! Don't you ever wonder about that?

Maybe a topic for a sci fi story. Ha ha ha!

Idea is not to visit boot sales or second hand shops to keep it out!

Stop accepting family heirlooms for the next generation who more than likely don't want it, clean out soon, echoing in my head....

Yes! I haven't taken a family heirloom in years. If the kids want them, I let them.

Few and far between are taking, I might add.

I started asking family members, some has been with me all my life, now it is time to make the move, not looking forward to it either.

Have not bought anything nor brought anything in for years, still cluttered too much!

Moving is a perfect way to clear clutter, @dswigle. I've lived in my current house longer than any other home except the one I grew up in (after many years of moving every year or two). Next time it's going to be a true adventure!

Yup, rather clean through it yourself, Oh boy I have close on forty years in one place, nightmare in the happening!

Haha! The greatest motivator!

We arrive with nothing, we can take nothing with us...., yet here we are we all horde 😌 One task I have to do, soon, very soon!

I am fortunate to have been able to sort most of my adult life because of moving. In some ways, almost worse. I just pulled out 12 boxes of kids' memories from when they were little and they looked at me like I was a crazy woman going through some of their things that were from when they were born.

My things are sorted. But, theirs are so much harder.

Not a desirable task, but task it is that we have to do. Both sons looking to possibly get out of this country, nieces and nephews most are not married so it is going to be a task!

Really? Where do they want to move to? Would you consider going too? I hope its not too far, although the politics there is killing the country. :(

Sons are considering NZ, their Aunt, cousins and many friends there already, for us our age is against us so will stay put.

Perhaps with sister and sister-in-law sitting on their own, we move somewhere together like a family retirement home LOL, all thoughts being bantered about!

Wow. You have never let age be a factor..

You have done the best because, hadn't been that you allow someone to do it for you, you might ended up losing some useful things.

You have done very well to have made the arrangements yourself in other to keep your things safe.

Yes, that is a very good motivator. I had to clean up my parents' house and after a month of daily work I had made a dent in it. Then there had to be sales and then donations. I do not want to put my kids through that!

You are right. What we are passing through, our children should not pass through that.

It is a great motivator! Somehow, I am the cleaner in the house. So guess what happens?

Its good you gave them out as they caan serve as space collector in a the house. I also do give mine out because I don't want to take the whole of the space in my room

This is a GREAT thing to learn - especially when you can do it regularly. It's my favourite thing to do when I'm stressed - to release things that don't serve me and which being pleasure to someone else.

Just yesterday someone asked about paper magazines for an art project. And I happened to have a pile of home renovation mags someone had left in this house when we moved in. It made the day feel NICE that I was able to contribute something I didn't need to someone who wanted it, and had a use for it.

WE even have a "Buy Nothing" facebook group here in Chiang Mai, Thailand, where people share about things they're ready to release for no money. 😊

That's wonderful, @artemislives. I think it is very stress-reducing to get rid of things, and send them on their way to other uses and other people who need them more. We also have a local "Buy Nothing" Facebook group. You have inspired me! I'm going to start using it. I have several friends who swear by it. Thanks for engaging in this topic with your ideas!

You should, @jayna! I use it all the time. It is great! No tax deduction, but, I am more than okay with that if it is going to someone who can use it!

By the way, around here, the less fortunate who used to supplement their households with Salvation Army and Goodwill, (not so much St. Vincent de Paul) can no longer afford it, they have gone up so much in prices!

That's so sad. I have witnessed that at Goodwill. You put capitalists in charge of a business designed to support people in low-income brackets, and the dynamics instantly change. The good news is that it does employ a lot of people who need work.

We have that too @artmislives! It is on Facebook and we also have one call FreeCycle - things looking for a new home.

Ahh yes I can relate... It's not uncommen and I could be because we were taught to value material things a lot more than we needed. On the other hand I'm not a fan of just throwing things out either but maybe you can find a purpose for them by giving them away or donating them to charity?

Yes, exactly. I usually donate things I no longer need. But I have to keep working on changing the definition of what I "need." Ha ha.

Many people have the habit of selling things they no longer use but this is not the best .

Do we refer to that as a skill? I think some people just want to keep their stuff because they were never brought up that way, of trying to dispose of things they don't want any more. Some people just love to sell off or gift it away.
Until.i see the need to five an item I may not want to use again, it stays with me.

Looking at it in the other angle we cannot call it a skill because many people have the mind of keeping things or train them away.

To me, I don't like selling my stuffs. The best iasnto give them out instead of selling them.
I think somehow, we can still manage to refer that as a skill, but the one which is not yielding income.

I rather give them out to those I feel would need it.

Yes, exactly. I have friends who are very good at it, and when I go to their homes, it feels very serene. I love that feeling, but lack the skill to do what they do!

Bingo! You hit the nail on the head! Something in, something out is my rule!

Yes...you at right. People are there who always receive lecture on how to keep things instead off throwing them out.

I admired your analogy. The way you are analysed it is just too perfect

The best is to donate them to orphanage home to to the less privilege. This is what I think should be the best.

No matter what, those things you are willing to throw away may have some tangible uses later. So, the best is to keep them safe until they are useful. I'm also a fan of keeping things in other instead of throwing them away when I know they may have some use later.

At some point, you may just have wasted what you ought to have given out. Some could be clothes, shoes, books and so on. There is always someone around you who may need it.

This is exactly the perspective I have taken. If its no use to me, I remind myself that it could be of use to someone else.

It is not even good to waste your property instead give them out to those who need them most.

You arr nit using it does not mean someone should not use it. You are right

You summed it up pretty well!

Hahahahahaha Nine wellll for now I am not actively searching up for it but I should be on the lookout.

We have a Neighborhood House in my town. Anything you don't need, you can pack in a box and drop it off at the Neighborhood House. Volunteers go through it and organize it. Sometimes, you can see people walk up to the porch and collect stuff that's been left. It's much easier to let go of stuff when you see that. Sometimes I give away stuff now that I might have use for because I know it's better to see someone walk off with my almost new pair of shoes than to have that pair sit in a closet.

Neighborhood House is one of the best antidotes to hoarding:)

Wonderful. I love donating in ways that benefit others!

This will give room to those who need them to consult the neighbor's house. It is a best method to keep those things away from the house.

You are right. I just wish that there is a place of such right here in my country were one can drop used things which may still.be useful to people.
I think the person who built that place should receive kudos.

They are wonderful.
All volunteers.

That is brilliant, @nineclaws. It's a win-win for everyone. Can I stop by with several closets full of stuff? Ha ha.

That is a wonderful idea!

We have something similar in our community but, they put it in the community bulletin, which is sent electronically every Friday. Or people put it our curbside with a sign if it is big. Take me! :)

It is even ungodly to waist your properties when somebody is out there to make good use of them. So the best is to keep them and give them out or keep them for later use.

Yep. There is joy in the heart of the giver and the receiver. To act of giving is a good skill that can help our society grow.

This is why we have to give whatever we are not using any longer

Could that act be referred to as a skill. I think giving is an act not a skill.

For me, useless stuff is just garbage! I don’t keep old things.

The definition of useful vs. useless is the tough part. Is a picture frame that doesn't currently have a picture in it useful or useless? What about supplies for a hobby I only do from time to time, like candle making? Then there's the box of charging cables that will possibly be needed at some point, and the little portable tripod for the camera I only use when I travel. And books I haven't read yet, sudoku magazines I haven't yet used... etc. etc. etc. These are the things that trouble me.

What do you think do to them? Do you burn them or dispose of them?

Some things I give away and some just throw away.

Not keeping them is not the best. We all know that useless things our garbage, but keeping them or giving out those useless things to people that need them may go a long way.

Ah yes this is very recognizable. I have moved a lot in the past two years and I still keep finding things I don't need or don't use, but it is still difficult to part with these things

The worst is when you need it and cannot find it, so, you buy another. Now you have two to give away!

If you can find it again. @plint

I sometimes buy another one just so I can find the first one when I put the new one away!

Stamps. I'll bet I have at least 100 stamps in this house and don't know where a single one is. Maybe stamps morph into single socks?

Ha ha ha. Oh those stamps and single socks. They are so sneaky.

Sometimes I buy something and intend to bring it back to the store. But then I lose track of the item and rediscover it later. At that point, I don't need the hassle with a store, so I give away. Brand new! I like to think of someone getting that brand new thing. What a surprise that must be. Takes the edge off losing money.

I have been the recipient of your approach, @pokerm. I love finding a brand new thing at thrift prices.

With the tags on!
:)

Instead of throwing them out, you just need to give them out to those who need them, and when you need something like that on the long run, you have no choice other than to buy new ones.

You have found one good secret to keeping the clutter away — moving regularly!

Haha that is true but moving all the time is a lot of hassle!

I have given most of my things out to give space. I have moved a lot as well in the recent times. Despite the movement, I still have some things to give out.

Ah yes this is a good one, the skill of exiting stuff. We all need that one I think.

My problem is I might move an item on as I've not used it for a long time then...Yep, there weeks later so need it. So annoying! 😁

Lol, seems I share this kind of habit a bit too.

Ah, so I am not alone in this, @galenkp! :-)

Oh no not at all...We should start a club: You, me...Anyone else who suffers this affliction awesomeness.

Doooood. There's 125 responses on just this comment. I don't think the community likes this engagement initiative thingy at all.

125 126.

Yeah, A few comments this week huh?

So I was gonna attach a gif, that was the plan. I was thinkin someone doing the little violin fingers where you can barely see through them, squinting like teeny tiny number of comments this week.

I searched "barely see it, gif." That's it. Got dang man!! I can't search anything anymore without getting pages full of ass. Back when I was a kid I had to stash the playboy inside the sports illustrated at the market. Lookin back now, of course the dudes workin there knew what we were up to.

My point is all kids have to do now is type "barely see it, gif!"

 3 years ago (edited) 

Lol, yeah it's a bit like that. One never knows what's going to come up on what should be a totally normal search. I'm not sure when things crossed over...nor where it'll lead. Sad really.

You made me a sign?!

Dope!!

Is it a sign like banner sign, that's it, or is multi-use sign as in a spin off Simon Says and I'm the leader?

Wow. I think possessing that skill will help you put things in their right places and as at when due.

It is a bad habit I have, it annoys my family. :) When you are finished with something, I think it should go back where it belongs because then you will always find it. @mrenglish

That’s a very good skill! I’m learning it, too. And I like to throw away old useless things! That’s freedom!
Such a wonderful skill is called minimalism!

Donate it. One man's garbage and all that.... :)

Is getting rid of things that don't add positive value to your life a skill? I'm confused o, could you please explain?

Maybe some examples will help, @mhizerbee. How about a vase that you only use when you buy cut flowers? Some of us have one for small flowers and one for large flowers. Then someone brings us some flowers in a vase, and now we have a collection. These certainly add value when you need a vase to put flowers in. There are many things like that.

I don't understand sir😏

Then you must live a very simple life, with no excess. Not one thing in your life that is not needed. Good for you.

Thank you
Do have a wonderful weekend

I'm thinking of an economic purpose for this,a legit Pawn shop or outlet. You never know some people can find your personal collections amusing and Wana pay for it.

Absolutely, @oluwoleolaide. Giving things away, taking them to a pawn shop, selling them on eBay or Facebook... so many options. But the first step is the ability to say: I no longer need or want this, and I'm getting rid of it!

That's totally true, there has to be a resolution first

If you genuinely don't need it anymore, find someone who does. Otherwise if it fits in a drawer and might be useful, why not have it on hand?

Yes, that is my reasoning, @wrestlingdesires. But I think I say that to myself too many times. Why not have it on hand? And now I have many many things on hand. Ha ha.

lol I guess it depends on if it bothers you! If it makes you feel weighed down, give it away :) !

Exactly! I do so... but it's never enough. I am vowing to develop the skill to be much more selective in what I keep!

I wish you a lot of luck :) It might also help to "share" things? As in give them to friends and neighbors with the understanding that you might need to borrow them sometime? This would guarantee that the items are used and yet still allow you access should you need it.

My dad tells me a cluttered space is also a sign of a cluttered mind, I tell myself that there is order in my chaos but yeah both forms of decluttering are important.

You nailed it, @diebitch. I definitely have a cluttered mind! Ha ha.

Yes! me too!

When I was visiting my brother a couple of weeks ago he showed me a really cool thing. It is a shirt folder. A plastic form for folding a shirt perfectly and very flat. Prior to his retirement he traveled a lot for business so it was really handy.

When he showed it to me he was folding perhaps half a dozen shirts with collars and such. He said "I'm going to donate these to the homeless. They really do like precisely folded shirts."

I tried it with a clean T shirt out of my bag. Worked perfectly. Maybe you need a shirt folder? :)

Those are awesome, @bigtom13. Several of my family members use them for travel. I like the idea of using them for organizing what you need. Maybe that would help the decision making. If it doesn't fit in the the defined box spaces, out it goes!

I have definitely struggled with having too many things put away in cabinets and drawers. I use spring cleaning time as well as December break to remove any excess items that I don't need or sell and donate few things. Over the last two years, the clutter has accumulated way less than before.

That is clever, @moon-city. I think you really make a good point. One must make a very concerted effort, including setting time aside at certain points throughout the year, to declutter. It's a great feeling, isn't it?

Thank you for your comment Jayna! It feels extremely good. In fact sometimes when I am down, I find myself randomly cleaning up my space just to feel a little better.

Side note: there is no better feelimg than walking into a kitchen in the morning with no dishes to clean. Great feeling.

I agree completely, @moon-city. It's rarely the case around my house, as I have a family and the kids come and go and leave messes everywhere. But I often spend my first hour of the day clearing everything away and cleaning off all the counter tops. Even knowing it will quickly degrade, it's a great way to start the day.

In our house we have "baskets of catch alls!" The problem with baskets of catch alls is that they do indeed catch all. Once they have caught all the only recourse seems to be to get a new basket and repeat the process!

Ha ha. That made me laugh out loud, @wwwiebe. I can absolutely see that happening! I have several such baskets. They do help to tidy up counter tops... but they also fill up and then you've just got an overflowing basket!

It's true! Baskets are like solitary socks; they seem to keep multiplying. Looking around the room I'm in right now I see three baskets overflowing with Other Peoples Things (i.e., children's crap) and four baskets actually doing what they were designed to do (and are probably empty as a result!)

I started the same by getting rid of things that I can disassemble and scrap. Feeding my childhood passion about scrap collecting and selling.

By the way, iron is still too cheap over here. I read about prices of iron going up globally, but we seem to be still in the eighties or something ;). Alright, I'm kidding. It's 10 times higher than my childhood times but it hasn't moved for years.

I guess that's due to the fact that our country is one huge scrapyard.

Well, @manoldonchev, it seems you should hold onto your scrap metal until your country catches up. Then you will be able to reap a fortune!

If only getting rid of things were not the main goal here...

Ooff..I really had to learn this the hard way.
I used to be unable to get rid of my stuff either. I even got mad at my mom when she threw away an old dress of mine, even though it was worn out.
But in the past 3 years I had to move 4 times. And believe me, lugging all that stuff with you when you move again and again. It is no fun. So the universe sort of forced me to get rid of unnecessary stuff. And the most important thing: cleaning up my house is now much easier with all the unnecessary stuff. 😂

That is really true, @angie08. Moving is the absolute best way to clear out clutter. I haven't moved in 17 years, so I'm way overdue. I think I should probably start now clearing things out so when the time comes I don't have to hire an army to help!

@jayna hahaha.. good luck with it 😂😅

wow great skill that I also lack, I fill myself with a thousand things and no matter how much I want to throw away there is always something I leave for later, the idea of selling is good, but sometimes I would like someone else to come and take everything without me seeing it.

Oh yes, that would be ideal, @jennynas! Then we don't have to see it go out the door, and probably wouldn't miss it.

That's right, if you see it you put it away again, you can think of a thousand ways to use it and it stays in the same place again, hahaha. We can help each other, I'll take out your stuff and you take out mine .... Jajajaj

Ha ha. I like this plan, @jennynas! I have a great women's group, we call "House Girls." There are four of us and each month we meet at one of our houses to do a project. That means I get three turns a year. Sometimes we do gardening or room painting, but my favorite projects are decluttering. Four women can completely overhaul and declutter several rooms and closets in a few hours!

I just developed a new skill, it is called LOOKING!!!

I call it de-cluttering and it's the most rewarding and liberating feeling once I've thrown away those things; still have a long way to go, but I have started as we are getting to the stage in life where we will be selling up and moving to a smaller place! Just do it, start with small things like only clearing out a drawer at first; small beginnings make it less painful but one almost feels lighter when you've started throwing unnecessary things out!

Yes, that's it exactly, @lizelle. It's such a liberating feeling. And you do feel lighter when cupboards and closets are cleaned out, and you have just the things you need. I have vowed to myself multiple times to get better at this, as I do love the feeling it gives me to declutter. And we will also downsize our home at some point! I must start now.

Oh, my... Yes, getting rid of unnecessary things is a must have in life. But sometimes it feels unnatural to get those pesky treasures away. It's even worse with all the psychological and emotional clutter. I find myself remembering unimportant things all the time. I wish we had an erase button.

Spring clean, over due here as well @jayna don't use it, someone will appreciate it time to move it along...

Absolutely, @joanstewart. I basically need to do a spring cleaning, a summer cleaning, a fall cleaning and a winter cleaning. Maybe then I can keep the clutter at bay!

Tasks that become straight boring and tedious but have to be done....

Many people today do not have the habit of keeping things in a responsible and reasonable place but can try hard to leave things the way they are.

You truly have a great skill as nothing is wasted for sure. I love your courage and the way you love keeping things in other.

I think elves sneak in and leave us things that we never actually brought into our homes, @nineclaws.