You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

Ahhh! This old trick. One of my absolute most hated interview questions is the ole, 'What's your best attribute?', question. It invariably rears its ugly head every time you suit-up and prepare to explain how good you are for a position.

Self-reflection can often be the most difficult of all things to accomplish, and yet, I suspect that it's also one of the most valuable things we can do. Not necessarily for ourselves, but for those around us. Without self-reflection/rumination/analysis/whatever-you-like-to-call-it, we are most likely to become selfish jerks. At least, I am!

Having said all of that, I'd like to believe that my greatest skill lies in my ability to tell a good yarn, and by tell, I don't mean orate. No, no, no, no, no, no! I mean write. Like, really write. I have tabs on myself! No, not really.

What I do hope that I can accomplish, though, is to engage an audience through the written word. It is important to be able to do this. Especially in the digital age. I'm always grateful that I grew up in a time where I was forced to learn how to spell and wasn't able to simply rely on the in-built spell checker of all word processors.

I'm in the process of writing a book about my experience as an adoptee in the hopes of helping other adoptees understand the intricacies of this complicated process and to find peace in the fact that they are not at all to blame for the situation that they find themselves in, and to do this, I really need to be good at communicating through writing.
(Shameless self-plug, I know!!)

...anyway, have a great weekend, everyone. Looking forward to seeing some of the skills you all have!

Sort:  

'What's your best attribute?

I always say my long eyelashes. [Not really.]

The ability to capture and engage an audience with the written word is incredibly difficult indeed, or so I feel. Still, it's an awesome skill and is one that reaches, and often touches, so many people. That book you're writing sounds interesting and I'd say would have wide appeal in society. I know many adoptees, some of whom have dealt with it well and some not so. Interesting stuff Steve.

Sadly, there are al great many adoptees who have not been able to deal with the hand they were dealt. A great deal of guilt and remorse that is unwarranted, but they don't have the ability to reconcile this.

I'll have to see your long eyelashes before I vote on that one, I think! I'm sure they're amazing!!!

Thanks for another engaging weekend topic.

Writing is a believable skill that can turn the world around. When you have an audience, no matter how small it looks, word gathering, if it served a purpose would become a huge venture when the audience can increase and become a skill for the writer.