You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creativenonfiction #80 - A Forced Hand

in The Ink Well21 days ago

Kudos to you @rukkie Even as a girl you were in control of yourself. I know you write here of an incident when you lost your temper and got physical. But looking at the response of the adults around you it is clear that you had your temper in control, not just physical temper but vocal too. Otherwise adults are never ready to give children the benefit of doubt. Especially when we were young :)

Secondly I respect your mother a lot, as she reminds me of my father. He never used to allow me to hide behind a wall and jump out to say "boo" as kids normally do. Even though I was less than 10 then he said something very similar to

"What if the girl has an underlying illness? What if she had fainted? What if I had given her serious injuries? What if... What if...?

In his words it was "What if that uncle/aunty has a heart condition, or what if they lose control due to shock and fall down the stairs..." It made me very vary of playing practical jokes on people, or being physical with them. I cannot say i was never physical or I played no jokes, but overall I avoided it thanks to his explanations.

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife