Back in the Driver's Seat

in Daily Blog3 months ago

8 February 2024

Hello everybody I hope everyone is doing fine! I'm going to do something today I haven't done in quite some time. I'm going to do some delivery driving.

IMG_20240207_163723474.jpg

IMG_20240207_163742629.jpg

Just before I got off work yesterday I got a call from the auto body shop that my car was ready for pick up. I dropped it off on 30 January and let me tell you it's felt like an eternity waiting on it. The actual incident that caused the damage happened on 10 January. The last week I drove a lack luster of a rental car that didn't meet a lot of needs. Anyways it feels good to have my car back. I'm happy with the job the body shop did, it looks even better than prior to the incident.

I last did some delivering on January 1st so it's been nearly 40 days. So today is only the 2nd time this year. Before I go on with what I do today let me recap with what I did last year driving.

I felt last year I slowed down a lot the last two months of the year. Even doing so I still made $15.1K in total between the two companies I drove for. I ended up logging 11,470 miles on the car. I strive to at least make $1 a mile and I certainly exceeded that. Looking back, I did put some hours in driving and I'm satisfied with my earnings 😊

IMG_20240208_073849257.jpg

IMG_20240208_081041703.jpg

Screenshot_20240208-101105~2.png

Miles logged in, seat belt clicked, delivery application on, and car started. I'm stoked to be driving today and not just because of the potential money. Driving that rental car was rough and very uncomfortable so it's good to be back in a comfortable driver's seat. The weather here is gorgeous today for it being February. The temperature is 52° F (11° C) and its continuing to get warmer. I have just jeans and a sweatshirt on. I'm also driving with the windows down. The sun feels warm and the breeze through the window feels refreshing.

Screenshot_20240208-110909~2.png

Screenshot_20240208-090927~2.png

I couldn't get onto both delivery applications but that's fine. I mean I don't mind it's a little less to worry about flipping between the two anyways. I will continue to see if I can get on the other though. I did notice the one I'm currently working on has a promotion going. Pretty simple one too, complete 10 deliveries before Sunday and earn $25. Easy enough I have to make deliveries to earn anyways so I just got to do my thing. This promotion is just a little gravy on the top of what I will make already, no complaints 😁 I shouldn't have a problem knocking out 10 deliveries by Sunday.

Screenshot_20240208-184355~2.png

It has been a rather slow day but that's fine. I use the down time by jamming to music,reading, playing phone games and even writing some of this post. I only drove for a little over two hours and logged in 30 miles. Just over $36 on 7 deliveries. I'll get the 3 more I need to bag the $25 on Saturday.

Screenshot_20240208-183820~2.png

Above is my worst and best deliveries. The best was a grocery order it's really nothing too much to brag about but if every delivery paid that I'd take it. The worst one I have a story which happens every so often.

I have this standing rule to not take any order that advertises under five dollars. I thought it would be quick and since it was my seventh delivery it would get me close to the 10 I needed for the little bonus. Another grocery order, I did 5 of them in total today. I was actually in the grocery store parking lot when I got notified of the delivery.

I received the order from the store in good time. Also it didn't take long to get to the resident. Both of these factors took about 12 minutes, not bad. It was the dropping off that took forever.

I had a trunk full of groceries and it was going to an apartment 4th floor. I first go inside the building to get a cart. There was one but it was a tiny ass cart that was almost not worth the time. I load it and have a hand full of groceries in my other hand. I head in but this time I have to be buzzed in by the customer. I waited a good minute before they buzzed me in. Also of course it was clear down a very long hallway. I head back to car for trip number two. Same thing have to be buzzed in. Waited another minute to be buzzed in, smh. I'll definitely remember this place on map!

This delivery took me over thirty minutes and unfortunately I got stiffed (no tip). It was about the time I was ready to quit though. I needed something for lunch and had some other errands to do. I dropped my taxes off to get done and than went to an exhibit at a museum. I'll get back to doing some more deliveries on Saturday.

This is all I have for you today. Thanks for taking the time to read it's much appreciated. Take care, stay safe and have a great weekend.

Sort:  

Take care! Glad your car be back for work 😊

Thank you and you take care as well 😊

You're earning a decent amount in delivery while having a chance to travel and sightsee on the road hehe..

Yes I did. I hope I can back to it. The last few months I haven't been doing it all that much.

You're doing awesome, big bro! Be safe out there!

Thanks country girl :) TGIF 😁

TGIF, big bro!!! You're very welcome :)

Ohh finally you car is ready and you too!!! Hope you have a nice driving work day!!!
!LUV

Thanks Amiga. Though I didn't do a full day or make a load of money it was nice getting out there :)

!LUV

duvinca, coolmidwestguy sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

!HUG

Dear @coolmidwestguy, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @duvinca.
(1/3)

coolmidwestguy, duvinca sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Happy that you got your car back after an eternity of waiting😁. You still have plenty of time to reach your desired target for delivery.❤️

I don't miss the street lawn mower 😂 I don't think I will do as well as last year, I have a lot going on this year. Take Care 😊

!LUV

asiaymalay, coolmidwestguy sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

I dropped it off on 30 January and let me tell you it's felt like an eternity waiting on it.

😬 Unfortunately i was right, this is what usually happens. They don't tell you the truth as no one wants to face the angry clients, but also, they only know what's up when they check and work on it. Anyway, good thing you got your car back and you're satisfied with it.

I feel like I'm driving a Cadillac compared to my rental. They intially told me a work week to complete, they took a few more days. I left them alone I didn't call until Wednesday. It was done later that day 😊