You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to make cordage from willow bark

in DIYHublast year

Wow, @fenngen - I absolutely love this post, and your videos especially help make it really clear... As a child I remember naturally playing with materials like these and forming very primitive ropes - but obviously this is a beautiful level of skill that you are transmitting! I will share it with my partner, as he loves this kind of skill, and we have a lot of willow around here to use, as well as other similar-bark-y trees which might work. I've been experimenting with basketry recently, using whole twigs/ withies, but was thinking too about using strips of bark for the horizontal aspects... Thanks so much for the inspiration!
Blessings,

Sort:  

So glad to read this 😁, I recommend this channel for all things willow:

https://youtube.com/@HannaVanAelst

Tons of material and she makes living willow structures which is awesome

Thank you, @theapothecary ! I also follow Julie Gurr, a fabulous willow worker who used to live in the village where I grewup on Arran 🌟🙏🌈🌿🌿🌿🌿

Whoops, answered with my microblogging account haha, typical Ecency issue.. I'll check out Julie, thanks for the tip!