It's not easy 'bein Green and Jim Henson's Muppetational May: A song about accepting ourselves the way we are.

in Music15 days ago


This is a very short excerpt of "Bein' Green" also known as "It's not easy being green" originally sung by Jim Henson as Kermit the Frog.
You can listen here:

As I have mentioned I admire the kind wisdom in many of the songs by the Muppets and the fantasy worlds he created. I just found it's MUPETTATIONALMAY and people are encourage to use this tag to share Henson's works this month. I also found by coincidence (as I had already recorded this) that famous director Ron Howard (Willow, A Beautiful Mind and more) has directed a documentary about Jim Henson's life that will premiere on Disney+ later this month. I watched the trailer and I shed some tears. My favourite movie is The Dark Crystal, and I love Labyrinth, the Muppets, Fraggle Rock, The Storyteller... they all were part of my childhood and told me about kindness, and tolerance, and daring to be a dreamer. So I will likely share more about him this month.

green witch -1080- by Priscilla Hernandez.webp

It was just a coincidence I had recorded this little short of "Bein' green" feeling myself a misfit (and truly wearing green) and as a self-reminder when I wish to be anyone else, that we are all unique and perfect the way we are. This short is just around 40 seconds but it also conveys lots of metaphors, my love for Nature, and my hope for growth and renewal.

"Bein' Green" (also known as "It's Not Easy Bein' Green") was written by Joe Raposo and performed originally performed by Jim Henson on Sesame Street in 1970. It has become a signature song for Kermit the Frog. In the full song Kermit thinks that bring green he "green blends with so many ordinary things" and wishes to be of a different colour, but then slowly realizes that green is the colour of very beautiful things, grass and leaves and Spring, and understand how beautiful it is. The song ends up with the positive note that he wishes to be nothing else but green.

Mp3 is available for my patrons here:
https://www.patreon.com/posts/its-not-easy-mp3-103275141
This little snippet is to remind you that you need to be comfortable being who YOU ARE. Don't try to blend with others. Just be yourself. It's beautiful.

The lyrics in my little excerpt (which are not the full song)
It's not that easy bein' green... but why wonder? I'm green
and I think that's what I want to be

What are your favourite green things?

As you know I grew up with Jim Henson's works and I find many of the things I learned from the muppets, sesame street, fraggle rock, and my favourite movies "the dark crystal" and "labyrinth" of great value. There is a mini playlist on youtube with all the tributes I've done so far to Jim Henson's fantasy works to which this little snippet will be added.

For the ones up so far there is a mini playlist on youtube

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLfu7TASV8SHWc4JKp4wEjbG3_pky2E7TN

Do you like Jim Henson's creations?

I want to live a quote from him

My hope still is to leave the world a bit better than when I got here.

“Watch out for each other. Love everyone and forgive everyone, including yourself. Forgive your anger. Forgive your guilt. Your shame. Your sadness. Embrace and open up your love, your joy, your truth, and most especially your heart.” (Jim Henson)

Green is all I want to be

I know I have shared several times the story of my little oak tree "Suuri Tammi" I planted the acorn some eight years ago and since it had been growing on a pot.
Here are some older Hive posts about it and how it has endured some challenges (just like me)
https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@yidneth/my-suuri-tammi-big-oak-a-lesson-of-endurance-and-strength-that-i-hope-you-find-motivating-mighty-mystical-oaks-in-my-region-old

I somehow always dreamt I would plant it in my own land, in my own little cottage somewhere. But this year, as I went on my healing journey I accepted I had to let it go. I couldn't keep it in a pot forever. It needed to "Grow" just like I sing in my song and so I planted it by the coop. Even if it's not my own place I hope to be able to enjoy it for long and should I ever move, to visit. Since I took it out of the pot into firm soul, it has unfurled so many new branches and leaves. It's lush and exultant and it has expanded for the first time in height and size. It made my heart leap in happiness and kind of "closure"
I hope he survives many seasons, year sand generations to become a colossus like his father tree.
The oak leaves at the end of the short belongs to him.

1.jpg
Suuri Tammi is finally becoming a tree and not a seedling anymore.

image.png

And here a picture of myself this April 2024 by the Orchard, when everything turned green and dandelions bloomed.
I lost two of my feather ladies (my hens Aughra and Layah) in April and still dealing with it. If I'm posting less it is because I have been dealing with a health issue and finally they're narrowing down the root, so on one hand it is stressful tests and on the other hand I'm relieved to start to know and have closure about it so I can make good choices and insist on habits that will keep me on my healing journey. I'm so much better, but it's still a journey I'm on :) I have been walking almost every day since late Summer :). Being more consistent with so many things.

April2024_Priscilla_hernandez.jpg

And music, I hope to rekindle, so if you have two seconds, grateful if you follow me on Spotify or in any streaming, or consider to subscribe to my channel. Here are all my links should you consider to support. Now they have changed policies so unless certain songs reach a minimum they don't even pay, but sad as it is, we need the exposure there too, so grateful if you follow and add me to your playllists if you use it. I'm also on pandora, amazon, apple, tidal or your preferred provider. I feel that due to my slow pace I kind of shrunk into invisibility but I still have many songs to sing and I'm sure my fellow Hivers can make a difference.


But of course you already do here too as always
https://linktr.ee/yidneth

Which is the colour you feel drawn into?

Let me know in the comments...

I think. I am... "green"

FiAlcHmX0AA4b8I.jpg

A blooming heart - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-3.jpg

Grow green - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-7.jpg

urbasaforest (2).jpg

Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com

As always I will upvote all significant feedback and proof of reading :)

1.jpg

Photo Above: Me in the Orchard, April 2024

Sort:  

I’ve always been drawn to green and sky blue, my favorite colors. In my home the green is provided by 75+ house plants and I have many blue things throughout. May is my favorite month on the farm due to everything turning green and blooming.

When nature awakens after the harsh bleak winter it always reminds me that there is a time to grow. And for me this is so healing. I am very drunk to Earth colors green and water blue. Whatever there is water and Earth there is life and those shady Palms surrounded by forests are my sacred place

Those were very heartfelt words of inspiration yidneth.

Jim Henson was very close to my heart growing up in the 80's. My heart scarred when I learned of his early passing.

One of the common traits in all his epic works I appreciated, was that kids can be heroes too. The youth are sometimes forced to undergo challenging journeys, and are every bit as grown up as the ones with wrinkles. In Jim Henson worlds, the old ones tend to be more childish and weird, and the young ones are more straight and serious. So in real life I always struggled with wanting to be taken seriously like and adult, and often did not get along with peers who were wild and unhinged.

My favorite characters in the Dark Crystal were Augra and the Chamberlain, because I loved their voices and movements. Classic examples that you can't judge people at surface level.

Something about trees have always pulled at my spirit. I feel like I should be able talk and understand them, but I haven't learned how to hear them yet. Sometimes I feel like I would like to be one among them too, as weird as that sounds.

I think being green means not worrying about mammal survival problems, and focused more on sunlight, air, and harmonizing with nature, yet understanding the busy people of the world will underestimate your true value. Being Green is a sadness too, because might not feel accepted/appreciated for what we are.

Thank you so much for this thorough reply. The Dark Crystal is my absolute favorite movie. In fact do I make my own original music as it's linked on Spotify I have also recorded several tributes to Henson's works that can be found on my channel
This is the Dark Crystal


April was a tough month for me I lost two of my hens and they are pets to me. One was named Aughra.
I think the lessons I dance from the Muppets and all these fantasy movies helped me to keep the child in my soul. I am generation X, barely on the edge of it, but this works helped me on my journey of acceptance and also I'm a tree hugger and nature lover so green isn't it my favorite color to behold

Jim Henson seen ti be a very special creative person and you can also learn from his work of art
Thanks for sharing with us

I really hope that the new documentary will make his work remembered,he created nagic for children like myself
Try to live and leave this world a better place when you go

Congratulations @yidneth! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 300 posts.
Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners

I grew up with the Muppets and loved them for their anarchy as well as the great music. I tend to wear a lot of blue, but then that is a sort of default colour for guys. I like to blend in :)

I hope you are feeling better soon. We just lost a chicken too, but we can't expect them to live long. We may get some more to share our garden.

!HUG

Dear @yidneth, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @steevc.
(1/3)

Loading...