Buying Cheap Doesn't Always Mean Cheap

in The MINIMALIST10 months ago

Buying cheap doesn't always mean cheap. Some of us learn this along the line of our buying. At least I learned this a long time ago when I bought my first blender.

You walked up to two similar products, one is 10$ and the other is 12$, this might trigger you to go for the lesser price, after all, they all seem to perform the same functions. But will the cheapest item cost you 10$ on the long run?

Actually, before that my first blender was my first Android phone that ended up frustrating my life just because I failed to save more money and go for a more quality Android phone. There are other stuff I bought that I thought were cheap but in the long run, I ended up spending more as most of the products with lesser prices don't last as compared to some slightly expensive ones.

I still remember walking to the blender vendor shop some years back and she showed me her varieties of blenders according to quality and prices.

On hearing the different prices of the different brands she had, I settled for the cheapest. A big mistake I regretted just two weeks later.

I could have waited to save more money so that I could afford a more quality one but ended up settling for the cheapest, thinking that at least it will serve me for a while. But after just two weeks it stopped working and when I tried to return it I was told by the seller that the brand does not have any form of warranty. I guess the cheap price of the blender doesn't even let me remember to ask if it has a warranty before buying.

I had to go back and start saving for a more expensive and a quality brand. This actually cost me more, I could have spent less if only I put quality and durability into consideration before buying the first blender.

Ever since that experience, I vowed never to buy things just because they are cheaper. Yes, I still consider prices but that comes after considering the product quality and durability.

This saves me money in the long run, as some cheap products make me spend more and still be frustrated in the end.

Expensive products/brands don't mean they are the only good product

Just because the product is the most expensive doesn't mean they are the only best quality. Sometimes such brands have come a long way with their name, and people trust them easily so their price doesn't matter to their loyal customers. This can make their products more expensive compared to a new brand and sometimes the new brand's product might be as good as those old brands.

I learned that new brands will most of the time beat down their prices to gain access to the market and gain people's trust. So, I'm always on the lookout for such brands that lower their product price and still offer quality and durable products.

What I usually do is look for quality products with a certain assurance of durability and a fair price. This way I save more money in the future than just buying cheap products without putting the quality into consideration.

IMG-20230722-WA0010.jpg

When I bought my current phone for $202 over a year ago, I took my time to research exactly the quality and specifications that I need. Then plan and save towards the cost. On the day I bought it, I discovered that the market price was about $10 above what I thought I would meet in the market and I could easily go for another product with lower specifications. But I chose not to as the phone has exactly everything that I need, from a great camera to long lasting battery and storage space. So, somehow I just get to source for the money and buy it and today it happens to be one of the best buying decisions I have made.

Everything is still serving me greatly. And for someone that loves taking photos a lot, if I had gone for a cheaper phone with smaller storage space by now I would have started thinking of buying another phone. That will have been an extra cost most especially in this high rate of inflation.

IMG-20230722-WA0009.jpgone of the picture I took with the phone.

Being a minimalist has taught me how to put quality and durability of products into consideration and it has been proving to save me cost.

This is my entry into #KISS-BLOGGING-IDEA WEEK#69 in the minimalist community. And you are welcome to join us through this Link

All pictures used in this publication belong to me.

Thank you very much for visiting and for your support. 🙏❤🥰@funshee

Sort:  

This is right, buying cheap doesn't always mean you save because in the long run you spend a lot by replacing and buying again and again.

That is just the truth, thank you for visiting !luv

@jenthoughts, @funshee(1/4) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

What I usually do is look for quality products with a certain assurance of durability and a fair price. This way I save more money in the future than just buying cheap products without putting the quality into consideration.

That's a good strategy there, and yes, I think that we learn too hard way sometimes that trying to save just a few dollars could leave us at a real disadvantage. It's like being pennywise and pound-foolish in a sense.
small KISS Gif.gif
Thanks for your #KISS
I enjoyed it 😉


lips sealed

speaking lips

Yeah, penny-wise, pound-foolish is the right word for it.

Thank you for such a delicious #kiss
!luv

@minimalistliving, @funshee(3/4) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

It means cutting the price is not cheap, you can get a better product that is cheaper and also get a fake product that is expensive, I love your simplicity

Exactly, thank you for stopping by.

You welcome

That's true. Quality must come first when it comes to buying any item specially if we intend to use it for a longer time like many appliances and electronics at home.

That is true, I had to learn that after a few mistakes of focusing only on the price.

My aunt would always commend me for something; it is that I go for quality things which I don't mind the price. Once I can compare the prices and can afford it, I ignore the cheap price and most times, my instincts doesn't disappoint. Though there are also products with less price but quality enough and that shows you how trusted those brands are to their customers.

You are doing the best thing with such a mindset, I learned the hard way, though it was a long time ago.

I have to agree with you on this, expensive products, most times mean more quality and durability. It is not always the case, especially in cases of new products which you also mentioned here as well.

Funny enough, we had this same blender issue in my house. And after spending a lot of money to fix the substandard blender, we finally threw it out and bought a new more expensive one. And it has been serving us well without any issues.

Thanks for sharing this with us.
And I want to say a big thank you for gifting me those points, I appreciate it from the depths of my heart🌝. God bless!

Funny enough, we had this same blender issue in my house. And after spending a lot of money to fix the substandard blender, we finally threw it out and bought a new more expensive one. And it has been serving us well without any issues

I guess we all learn at some point how to consider quality when buying things, as time has proven that it saves us more money in the long run.

Thanks for sharing this with us.
And I want to say a big thank you for gifting me those points, I appreciate it from the depths of my heart🌝. God bless!

Amen🙏 and you are welcome, keep on producing original and quality content.

A strike of balance must be made between cost and quality. One needs to have a good understanding of the functionality of a commodity before settling for any price. Minimalism is awesome.

Yes, I learned that many years ago but not without after some buying mistakes.

Thanks for reading me🥰 !luv

@lightpen, @funshee(4/4) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Congratulations @funshee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 7250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Check your ranking!
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the third day
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the second day

I always appreciate you keeping track of my progress on the chain. Thank you!

You're welcome @funshee! Have a nice day 😊👍🌹

Well done @funshee! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Check your ranking!
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the third day
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the second day

Every expensive things does not belongs to good quality. Some things become expensive because of hype and a minimalist should need to understand it. Sometimes moderate high and mid range budget also give us the best quality. We can go for it if we want to buy something for longer time. But always we need to think about that the things we are buying are worthy compared to money or not.

But always we need to think about that the things we are buying are worth compared to money or not

Exactly, there was a time I use to focus only on the cost of things, thinking I will be saving more money but not anymore.

Thank so much for visiting, do have a great time at your end.

Well done @funshee! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 4
Women's World Cup Contest - Check your ranking!
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the third day
Well done @funshee! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 4
Women's World Cup Contest - Check your ranking!
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the third day
Well done @funshee! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 5
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 4
Women's World Cup Contest - Check your ranking!
Well done @funshee! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 6
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 5
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 4
Well done @funshee! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 6
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 5
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 4

Thank you very much, it's been fun all the way.

Glad to read you enjoy our contest 😃