Prisms - Light Painting on Hive

IN THE WOODS

To test some new prisms I walked into the nearby forest yesterday. The walk there takes about 30 minutes. For this reason I limited my luggage to camera, Nikkor 17-35/2.8, tripod, Camera Rotation Tool, Emisar D4V2, Noctigon DM11, colour filter, RGB Critter, light whip, two bottles of beer and the new prisms. This was one of the few trips where I actually used nearly everything I had in my luggage.

Um einige neue Prismen zu testen spazierte ich gestern in den nahe gelegenen Wald. Der Fußmarsch dorthin dauert ungefähr 30 Minuten. Aus diesem Grund beschränkte ich mein Gepäck auf Kamera, Nikkor 17-35/2,8, Stativ, Camera Rotation Tool, Emisar D4V2, Noctigon DM11, Farbfilter, RGB Critter, Lichtpeitsche, zwei Flaschen Bier und eben die neuen Prismen. Das war einer der wenigen Ausflüge, bei denen ich fast alles, was ich im Gepäck hatte auch tatsächlich benutzt habe.


📷 Nikon D750 - Nikkor 17-35/2,8 - f5,6 - ISO 100 - 132 seconds

I started with the Halo Prism. This, and also the other new prisms, are screwed directly onto the lens with a 77mm filter thread. For this reason I used the zoom lens. This allowed me to use the effect of the prism at different focal lengths. I aligned the camera, positioned myself in the picture and illuminated the forest, in this case with the two torches mentioned above and green colour filter. In the second step, I removed the prism from the lens and illuminated the forest without a colour filter. The working method was the same, or at least similar, for all the pictures in this post. As I was travelling alone, my options were limited. With a model, the work would have been easier.

Ich begann mit dem Halo Prisma. Dieses, und auch die anderen neuen Prismen, werden mit 77mm Filtergewinde direkt an das Objektiv geschraubt. Aus diesem Grund benutzte ich das Zoom Objektiv. Somit war es mir möglich den Effekt des Prismas bei verschiedenen Brennweiten zu verwenden. Ich richtete die Kamera aus, stellte mich ins Bild und beleuchtete den Wald, in diesem Fall mit den beiden oben erwähnten Taschenlampen und grünem Farbfilter. Im zweiten Schritt entfernte ich das Prisma vom Objektiv und beleuchtete den Wald ohne Farbfilter. Die Arbeitsweise war bei allen Bildern in diesem Beitrag gleich, oder zumindest ähnlich. Da ich allein unterwegs war, waren meine Möglichkeiten eingeschränkt. Mit einem Model wäre die Arbeit leichter gewesen.


📷 Nikon D750 - Nikkor 17-35/2,8 - f5,6 - ISO 100 - 84 seconds

And how could it be otherwise? Once again, the bright moon illuminated the forest. So I was limited with the exposure time and the moonlight illuminated parts of my silhouette in some pictures.

Und wie sollte es auch anders sein? Wieder einmal beleuchtete der helle Mond den Wald. Ich war also mit der Belichtungszeit eingeschränkt und das Mondlicht leuchtete in eingen Bildern Teile meiner Silhoutte weg.


📷 Nikon D750 - Nikkor 17-35/2,8 - f5,6 - ISO 100 - 105 seconds

I experimented with different colours and different focal lengths. The halo effect certainly comes into its own better when you paint light traces into the picture. For this reason I had packed the light whip together with the RGB Critter.

Ich experimentierte mit verschiedenen Farben und verschiedenen Brennweiten. Der Halo Effekt kommt sicher besser zur Geltung, wenn man LIchtspuren ins Bild malt. Aus diesem Grund hatte ich die Lichtpeitsche samt RGB Critter eingepackt.


📷 Nikon D750 - Nikkor 17-35/2,8 - f4 - ISO 100 - 65 seconds

No, it's certainly not a masterpiece. Alone, standing motionless in the picture and painting a halfway respectable light figure from the wrist is something I probably need to practise a bit more. But it was enough to test the effect for now.

Nein, das ist ganz sicher kein Meisterwerk. Alleine, regugslos im Bild stehen und dabei nur aus dem Handgelenk eine halbwegs ansehnliche Lichtfigur zu malen muss ich wohl noch etwas üben. Aber um den Effekt zu testen genügte das erstmal.


📷 Nikon D750 - Nikkor 17-35/2,8 - f5,6 - ISO 100 - 97 seconds

While lighting this picture, I heard my beer bottle, which was on the tripod, fall over. Shortly afterwards I heard a loud smacking sound. A hedgehog had knocked over the bottle and was drinking my beer with relish. Fortunately, there wasn't that much left, otherwise the hedgehog wouldn't have found his way home in a drunken stupor. I offered him another cigarette, but he didn't want it. This time I was spared further visits from the forest dwellers. No wild boars, no foxes and no hornets.

Bei der Beleuchtung dieses Bildes hörte ich, wie meine, am Stativ stehende, Bierflasche umfiel. Kurz darauf vernahm ich ein lautes Schmatzen. Ein Igel hatte die Flasche umgeworfen und trank genüsslich mein Bier. Glücklicherweise war nicht mehr so viel drin, sonst hätte der Igel im Vollrausch nicht mehr nach Hause gefunden. Ich bot ihm dann noch eine Zigarette an, aber die wollte er nicht. Dieses Mal wurde ich von weiterem Besuch der Waldbewohner verschont. Keine Wildschweine, kein Fuchs und keine Hornissen.


📷 Nikon D750 - Nikkor 17-35/2,8 - f5,6 - ISO 100 - 150 seconds

And what, of course, can't be missing from a junkie like me? Exactly. CAMERA ROTATION.😂

Und? Was darf natürlich bei einem Junkie wie mir nicht fehlen? Genau. CAMERA ROTATION.😂


📷 Nikon D750 - Nikkor 17-35/2,8 - f5,6 - ISO 100 - 193 seconds

It was quite a fiddle to align the camera so that it would fit halfway. But I think it was worth the effort.

We were out of beer. I was starting to get cold. I still had the 30-minute walk back ahead of me. So I packed everything back into my backpack and headed back.

Es war ein ziemliches Gefummel, die Kamera so auszurichten, dass das halbwegs passt. Aber der Aufwand hat sich gelohnt wie ich finde.

Das Bier war alle. Mir wurde langsam kalt. Ich hatte noch den 30 minütigen Rückweg vor mir. Also packte ich alles wieder in den Rucksack und machte mich auf den Rückweg.

divider_1.png

WHAT IS LIGHT PAINTING?

Light painting is a unique form of art. The darkness is illuminate by the artist with diverse light sources and light traces are paint into the picture with various light tools. Various techniques are use, such as camera rotation or other movements of the camera during the exposure. The creative possibilities are almost unlimited. All the pictures were taken during one single exposure. Apart from denoising, sharpening, cutting and possibly adjusting the white balance, the pictures are not processed on the computer.

divider_1.png

LICHTKUNSTFOTO

If you like my art visit www.lichtkunstfoto.de for more Light Art Photography and informations about Light Painting. Join me on Flickr Twitter

divider_1.png

cover.jpg

divider_1.png

For more great Light Art Photography, Light Painting and inspiration check these light painters: @marlasinger666 @fadetoblack @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau @gunnarheilmann @neilru75 @maximepateau @ryuslightworks @lightstabeu @candelart @lacelight

divider_lp_1.png

WE ARE LIGHT PAINTERS

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture. @lightpainters

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
Delegate 1000HivePower, [1000HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lichtkunstfoto ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Na das sieht nach einem erfolgreichen Ausflug aus, auch wenn der Igel sich die Rest gegönnt hat. Das Halo-Prisma macht interessante Effekte.

Ja, war cool, auch wenn ich alleine unterwegs war. Das Halo Ding testen wir demnächst mal gemeinsam. 😁

Na da bin ich doch gerne dabei. Mal sehen was man mit den Dinger noch so für lustige Sachen anstellen kann.

Bestimmt sehr viele lustige Sachen. 😁

Ich werde hier zuhause mal ein wenig damit üben. Mit so einem Glas vor der Linse muss man ja ein wenig um die Ecke denken, bei der Bildgestaltung. Deshalb wollte ich es eigentlich vermeiden, den direkt an das Objektiv zu Schrauben, da ich dann ja quasi festgelegt bin. Ach herrlich wenn man neue Spielsachen hat 😬

Um mehrere Ecken...
Viel Spaß damit. 😊

I vote for animal models.

I tried lightpainting with the cats. But I am sure they don't like it.

You did?!!! Brave and hilarious. I'm imagining what must have went on. I bet a dog would be more cooperative, aside from unpredictable wild animal walk-ins.😂

Maybe the animals will model, especially if beer bribed.

While lighting this picture, I heard my beer bottle, which was on the tripod, fall over. Shortly afterwards I heard a loud smacking sound. A hedgehog had knocked over the bottle and was drinking my beer with relish.

😂 I see now why all the creatures head your way at night. I had wondered why only bring two beer and even more so reading this.

The green one, the orange one and the first camera rotation are my favs, although I like both camera rotations, the double figures and other differences in the first one really appeal to me.

I looked at this "critter" thing and boy, oh boy, does that look fun.

Thanks 😊
Don't think a about the Critter flashlight. Great colours but expect from that a piece of crap.

Didn't mean to drop out of conversation suddenly, had things come up I had to attend to and catching up now.

So the Critter flashlight is a piece of crap, good to know. I can't seem to stop thinking about lightpainting, as I went by a place today that might work (and not make myself a target), if there's not too much light from other sources.