You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Market Friday!

in Market Friday11 months ago (edited)

Hi, Dan. @bluemoon I did not forget about this, as a matter of fact, I read it almost immediately and was truly devastated for your family. For Ilinca, even though her mom is not taken by cancer, it has changed her in a way you or I cannot understand. Even your son, this has to have affected him. they were a family once upon a time. I know something very profound was happening in the background with you, I just didn't know. She is a very accomplished woman and obviously is doing her best, well enough to go back to work. All that she has endured, all the worry, all this for her and your family. I hope she has a mom and dad too, one that surrounds her at this time.

I could see it in Ilcinca's face, that day at the restaurant. Nothing obvious, just not here lighthearted little girl charm.

The stress! I would have stress too, my friend. Things that are out of your control. I know how your heart is sad right now. This is more than a family can bear, especially one that loves as much as you and Magda.

I hope that you see the healing and recovery that should come with time. You and your family and especially Ilinca's mom are in my thoughts and prayers. xo

Sort:  

Thanks, @dswigle! I know you are praying for good to return and I thank you.

The life Magda and I had prepared for when we retired was totally changed, both spiritually and materially. We kept putting things off for ourselves, thinking that when we didn't have to work anymore it would be better. Life decides otherwise. We hope it will be good for Ilinca's mother and, implicitly, for Ilinca. Obviously, Ilinca doesn't understand what is happening but she is, as you say, deeply scarred.

I wouldn't want to tell that story. Telling you helped me and thank you again!

I'm not sure I would call her deeply scarred and perhaps confused as to what was happening all around her. That would be confusing to a child so young. At the time it was going on, the treatments and such, I am sure it was not easy explaining to her, something that she would be able to understand.

Life never really goes the way we plan, at least not anyone I know. The unknown can never be fully planned for, because, it is unknown. I am sorry that things were put off for a better time. What I can say is that we never know how our future will work out and perhaps God or the Universe will see fit to make some of it better. Where there is life, there is hope. Be well and take care of your beautiful little family. XO

Life doesn't go as planned. That's for sure! I never even planned and yet I was taken by surprise, even though I didn't have high expectations.

Hope remains. We always hope for the best, both for ourselves and our loved ones. Sometimes hopes come true.

Wishing you a good week, @dswigle!

PS In my most recent post I wrote about how I met Magda. If you want to know the story...