Farm Cat To B&B Cat

in Hive Pets3 years ago

I must be the most unimaginative person out there when it comes to naming my pets... I sit there for days trying to come up with a really cool name but it just never happens!

image.png

Puss

Yip that's it!!

Sad but true!

A completely unoriginal name for a one of a kind cat. On the plus side, anyone can get her name right without knowing her at all.
It started off as Lizzy but I hated that, then it was Blackcat but meh... it wasn't right either so then I just gave in to Puss.
I've had her for close to 10 years now and I have to say our relationship started off pretty shaky. I got her from the SPCA when she was just a wee kitten.
She was wild and didn't really like other cats or people for that matter.
Eventually her best friend became my Chocolate Lab, Cara. They became inseparable. They started each day with a walk around the garden to check out all the new smells and see what had happened overnight. You could always find them asleep together on an old leather chair that I had put in the garage for them.
Puss was definitely the boss in this relationship - sometime I'd find Puss in the chair and poor Cara on the cold concrete floor lol.
image.png
Unfortunately, Cara got run over which was devastating for us all... Puss was extremely lonely for a long time!
With this turn of events, she finally figured out that I was pretty okay! A warm knee in the winter was pretty good too.

image.png

Puss was a great farm cat. She would come with me everywhere as she had a great fear of missing out!. She helped shift the cows to different paddocks, helped feed calves each morning, made sure I fed the pigs each day and generally supervised.
When I moved from the farm to the B&B life changed dramatically for Puss. No more animals to look after.
Now she has guests to entertain. She makes sure people are happy and welcomed. She's the highlight of people's stays here!!
image.png
She's taken to frightening me half to death by jumping on to the deck railing. It's a very long way down to the ground and I'm terrified she'll fall off. 😨 She's taking years off my life lol.

image.png
(Puss sitting in the sink waiting for her slave to get her a drink🙄)

She's my constant companion and friend these days...love her to bits 🥰🥰

Thanks for stopping by...

image.png

Sort:  

Well you cane up with a great name for your Labrador, even if I say so myself (that's my name too). 😉

Puss seems to embody the typical cat. You don't adopt them, they adopt you.

True that about cats adopting their person!! Cara is a lovely name :D

Awe, I like the name Puss and I think it fits! Puss looks a lot like my cat here that I named Sad Cat. His (he is a boy) has the stripes on his face that make him appear sad. He is a sweetie and, like Puss with you, follows me around the yard and loves pets. I'm sorry to hear of what happened to Cara and can imagine how that felt. Our pets truly become a member of our family and losing them especially in such a way can be heartbreaking. I'm glad though that Puss is settling in well at the B&B and is welcoming to all of the guests! 💖

Puss seems to love here as much as she loved the farm!! I'm so pleased with that as I did wonder how she'd be. Yes losing Cara was extremely sad- she was a truly kind dog and everyone loved her :) Sad cat sounds awesome!!

Puss seems to be enjoying the new location. A beautiful view you have from the balcony. I’m sorry you lost Cara and Puss lost a companion.

She really does seem to like it here - might be all the birds etc :D Yes I'm very lucky to live in a lovely place like this!!!

Loved reading about your cat's history. Sorry she lost her best friend to a car. But she has a good life!

:) Cara knew she wasn't allowed to leave the property and I never saw her do it but apparently she waited till I went to bed then wandered down the road... it was her demise!!! Yes Puss is pretty happy here :)

I can vouch for the fact that she is an awesome cat!