William and the Wyvern

I've always been close to the land. My father is a smith, and a farmer. My mother, a healer. Both are known well beyond our little village for their skills.

I have talent in both areas, but my real expertise is Earth Magic. I can encourage a freshly planted field to produce a bountiful harvest in mere weeks. Rock and soil will move at my request, allowing crops to be irrigated.

Imagine my surprise when Wizard Ruillen gave me a quest well outside of my expertise. I always knew he would find something difficult (if not downright impossible) for my final challenge before official apprenticeship. But I'd always assumed that it would be something tailored to my skills...

I was sitting on the chopping block in my front yard when the visit which was to change my life forever occurred.

The man in the flowing black cape just seemed to appear. Even old Shep was startled, and he's the best watchdog for miles. "Hello, young William. The last full moon I told you it was almost time to go on your quest. I'm pleased to say that I've found the perfect one."

The old man was actually beaming! This made me nervous - the only time he ever seemed happy was when he was making my life miserable!

I got up, and bowed respectfully. "What would you have of me, Master?"

He smiled in such a way that most would take as friendly. But I knew better. Those twinkling blue eyes meant trouble. "Ah... always so helpful. There's a wyvern nest up in the hills, at the base of Mistdom Mountain. The roosting pair lost their clutch, and stole a dragon egg. I want that egg, before it hatches."

For a few seconds, I couldn't speak. My stomach clenched, and I struggled to keep my knees from buckling. I finally managed to say a few words, as I gagged up a little of my morning oatmeal. "Why would you want a dragon?"

Wizard Ruillen clapped me on the shoulder, as if we were old friends. "The better question is, why wouldn't I want a dragon? It could easily carry me on long journeys. If anyone tried to harm me, it would kill them instantly. I've wanted one for centuries, but I wouldn't dare to risk stealing an egg from a dragon nest. They almost always find their babies..."

I latched onto the last part as if my life depended on it. Because it did!

"They're sure to come looking for this one too. Maybe they've already reclaimed it," I insisted.

Wizard Ruillen shook his head, still smiling. "The parents won't be looking for this one, I saw the whole thing from the cave I was sleeping in. Some crazy knight came along while the wyverns stole the egg. He hid until the two were gone, then went in and smashed the rest of the eggs."

I whistled. "That was a stupid idea! I'll bet the dragons hunted him down."

The old man's smile was gone. "They didn't have to, the mother caught him in the act. The knight died in the nest."

His unusually grim expression told me that it had been an especially horrific scene, so I didn't press for details. Instead I continued to impress upon him why this quest would be entirely wrong for me.

"Even if the dragons believe their egg was destroyed, the wyverns are just as deadly. What's the difference between being fried or torn apart?"

I was shocked when Wizard Ruillen's smile returned.

"Young William, if I thought you would fail, I wouldn't send you. Your gifts are especially strong."

I blinked. "Master, I can make crops grow. I can prevent floods from destroying homes. But I'm not a warrior."

He somehow managed to look proud and disappointed at the same time... "I've seen you in action, William. You don't even realize that you can use those very same gifts in battle if necessary. That's why I'm giving you this quest, instead of claiming the egg on my own."

"I can't do it, Master. At least not yet. May I please have another year before I go on a quest? Or at least attempt one better suited to me?"

Wizard Ruillen looked at the ground for what seemed like an eternity. "No, this feels right. You will bring me the egg."

My knees buckled, but I still didn't see any sympathy in those smiling old eyes.

"I'll loan you my staff, and five of my most powerful healing potions. Don't worry, boy. You'll do fine!"

I gasped. "Master... I can't take your staff. You've not been away from it since you were my age!"

Without a word, he helped me up, and placed my hand atop the smooth wood. "There now, you get used to it. Spend a couple of days practicing, while I prepare your potions."

I did precisely that. You see, when my master gets an idea, there's no talking him out of it. So I tried to find ways to use my powers for combat - but I had very little success.

My attempt to throw dirt at an imaginary opponent resulted in my needing to jump in the creek, fully clothed. I'm not even going to talk about what happened when I tried to convince the land to open up underneath a boulder...

Three days later, Wizard Ruillen returned. I still hadn't mastered the powerful staff, but it definitely amplified my power. I just needed more time...

"Hello," I greeted him. The first thing I noticed was the small package he carried. This meant I wasn't going to get a reprieve...

"Hello, I trust you have become well acquainted with my staff, young William?" he asked, as he handed me the package.

"I've been practicing, but I can't seem to get the control I need. Maybe if I had a couple of weeks?" I tried hopefully.

Wizard Ruillen shook his head. "No, the skill will only come when there is great need. This part of your education can't be taught, or learned through practice."

I slumped. This wasn't going to be a good week.

When I didn't make a move to pack, he picked up his staff. He whispered something, then tapped the staff against the chopping block. A cloud of thick black smoke slowly became my pack - and to my dismay, it was full.

Soon I found myself heading towards the distant Mistdom Mountain. The staff and potions gave me some security, but I was still confident that I would never set eyes on home again.

Locating the wyvern nest wasn't difficult. The problem was that one of them always stayed behind.

I decided to face the male, despite his larger size. It's a well known fact that mothers of any kind are the most fierce creatures ever to exist.

I waited until she was well on her way, then I tried the boulder sinking spell again. The results were... spectacular!



To be continued!



Cover image made in Canva Pro using their gallery

Serfdom and Sorcery is a discord based game where you can play for free, and earn crypto. Become immersed in a world of fantasy and adventure today!

This has been a story from the fantasy world of Serfdom and Sorcery. To play the game, go to the Serfdom and Sorcery Official Game Discord

Visit @psyberx for updates

Sort:  

Spectacular can mean a great many things here! Great story!

I think it might have a surprising meaning :) ...

I'm glad you enjoyed it so far 🙌

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@owasco! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

What do you call an airline full of bald people?
Receding airlines.

Credit: reddit
@owasco, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(2/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

!DHEDGE !PIZZA !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@dibblers.dabs just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @wrestlingdesires.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Thanks so much 🙌🍕🙌

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@dibblers.dabs! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Why did Stalin only write in lowercase?
Because he hated capitalism.

Credit: reddit
@dibblers.dabs, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(3/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @dibblers.dabs! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.alive

@dibblers.dabs has 8 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
dibblers.dabs tipped wrestlingdesires
wrestlingdesires tipped dwixer
wrestlingdesires tipped rukkie
samsmith1971 tipped wrestlingdesires (x2)
wrestlingdesires tipped dibblers.dabs
wrestlingdesires tipped owasco
@wrestlingdesires(3/15) tipped @samsmith1971 (x2)
wrestlingdesires tipped luchyl
wrestlingdesires tipped jazclassic

the only time he ever seemed happy was when he was making my life miserable!

He sure did.
There's a little possibility he do successful steal the egg, if the wyverns doesn't get him, the dragon might come to realize not all of the eggs were broken.
#dreemerorlife

It's definitely not an easy quest 😂

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@dwixer! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

What did the sand say as the tide came in ?
Long time no sea.

Credit: reddit
@dwixer, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(4/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @wrestlingdesires.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks so much 💙

This is a beautiful work of fiction. Going on a journey like that takes a lot of courage.

Can't wait to read the concluding part. Thanks for sharing.

Came in from @dreemport #dreemerforlife

I'll be writing it soon, I'm glad you like it :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@rukkie! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Why did the farmer dress his pig in an apron?
Pretty soon he would be bacon.

Credit: reddit
@rukkie, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(5/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

And when I had begun to enjoy the story you had to cut it, lol.

Great script.
#dreemerforlife

It was long enough for part one 🤣🤣🤣

Two will be along soon!

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@luchyl! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

I told my wife that a husband is like a fine wine: we just get better with age.
The next day she locked me in the cellar

Credit: playbyhive
@luchyl, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(6/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Awesomeness... I am anticipating what will happen next. Will he succeed or be torn apart? Maybe something incredible may happen. Hehe..

I waltzed in from #dreemport for I am a #dreemer. An awesomely made #dreemerforlife.

Oh willy was a master here, imagine the guts he had to go take a dragon egg not a hen, a dragon, he is lucky the mother didn't see him or he would have been a dead meat... beautiful work, can't wait to see the next part...💃🦋

#Dreemport
#Dreemetforlife

Thanks so much for enjoying it :) I'll finish the story soon!

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@jazclassic! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Where do boats go when they're sick?
To the dock

Credit: reddit
@jazclassic, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(7/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Congratulations @wrestlingdesires! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2023
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 8
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 7

Oh my gosh! I love this 💗💗💗 I am hooked... tired at just after 2 am... but hooked. I am keeping this open on my laptop so that I can find the next parts to read tomorrow!!! Your writing is fabulous, my friend. I loved the interaction between William and his mentor and especially the humour in his self-deprecation, insights, and reflections 😂 What a great job! !LUV !ALIVE !PIZZA

Thanks so much, that made my day ♥️ I hope you'll like the other two parts just as much :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@wrestlingdesires just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @samsmith1971.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@samsmith1971! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

I faded quickly last night so was unable to match the mamoth reading session I had the day before. But they are fired up and ready to read today. Wow, your writing is blowing me away, my friend, truly!! I'm so proud of the commitment you have and the efforts you have put into honing your craft. You have a wonderful voice for fiction and it is becoming more and more layered as you mature in the art. !PIMP !LUV !PIZZA


You must be killin' it out here!
@samsmith1971 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @wrestlingdesires.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@wrestlingdesires, @samsmith1971(2/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

I'm doing my best :) ... I have a rather long series promised to a friend, which is going to be exciting to write!

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@samsmith1971! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

What is black and white and red all over?
A penguin with a sunburn.

Credit: captaincryptic
@samsmith1971, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(2/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

@wrestlingdesires, @samsmith1971(4/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

@wrestlingdesires! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.