You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: He's So Shifty

in #mindset9 months ago

I'm probably the same way, but I think a lot of it has to do with my ADHD. It's pretty rare that I will look anyone in the eye when I am talking to them. In fact, most of the time I won't even look in their general direction. It just feels unnatural to me. I know it's the proper thing to do, but I just haven't been able to condition myself to do it. Throw some degraded brain function on top and I don't think I would be able to handle it. It sounds like you have found a great way to cope, whether people appreciate that or not.

Sort:  

A psychologist once explained it to a group that people without ADHD go outside and they may focus on something out there, whereas someone who has ADHD their focus is on everything out there. Their brain is trying to take it all in.

Yeah, that sounds about right!

I'm probably the same way, but I think a lot of it has to do with my ADHD.

You came to mind with this. I know a few people with ADHD and they have similar. There are also people on various spectrums that have some of these things too.

In fact, most of the time I won't even look in their general direction.

And I wonder if the cause is similar, where the brain is racing, getting pulled into "new attentions" unwillingly. For me it is trying to build that image, for you it is the brain constantly realigning interests.

You are probably right! Either way, it's a struggle. Being a mental health professional, my wife tries to help me as best she can, but 30 years of habits is tough to break!