Sublime & Beautiful Sunday - Film Festival!


sublimes (3b).jpg

I can't remember exactly why I missed last week's post but it probably had something to do with a busy day. So here is my #SublimeSunday (inspired by @c0ff33a) and #BeautifulSunday (initiated by @ace108) post to share how my week ended.

This week, I am hibernating happily and throwing back to a February Film Festival and not just for the fancy double alliteration.

 "image.png"

Where We Left Off


IMG_0549a.jpg

The last sublime Sunday was predominantly spent outside with this little guy in his happy place. To help snap my brain out of eternally stewing on business and life opportunities, I like to take out my phone and snap some pics of the things that thrive in the park.

IMG_0646.JPG

This week, the ice and snow had all just melted and mild temperatures made for some muddy dogwars.

 "image.png"

Stratford Winter Film Festival


IMG_0603.JPG

I have to find some time to whip up a @town-crier business blog this week because we were involved in this neat festival as marketing and promotion partners. The first of its kind, inaugural Stratford Winter Film Festival. I will not spoil the details in this post but give you a view into each of the films and venues on the final day of the festival.
 "image.png"

Revival House


IMG_0592 (1).JPG

This venue will seem familiar to followers as I visit Revival House quite often. How great was it to see this fine dining and events venue owned by a movie buff, transformed into a theatre? Not only that, we had our logo on the big screen.

Mr. Jimmy


IMG_0596.JPG

The feature was a documentary called Mr. Jimmy which was about a Japanese fella who dedicates himself to almost becoming Jimmy Page. I figured it might be silly but it turned out to be a neat story about dedication and respect that drives someone to dedicate his life to make a proper tribute.
 "image.png"

Factory 163

IMG_0612.JPG

Next up is Factory 163 which is the coolest old industrial building converted into an art and performance community.


IMG_0618.JPG

I haven't been in here for years it seems. My last visit was to help finish off the computer network quite a while ago so it was great to visit the old place again.

The End of Time


IMG_0615.JPG

The movie being shown this day was The End of Time which seemed a little slow but I only caught a small bit of it. On to the next one!
 "image.png"

Grayson Mills


IMG_0619.JPG

The next venue is a recently launched wedding and events venue right in the middle of town. A storied building preserved and restored into a rather nice place for so many different kinds of events including weddings.

Percy


IMG_0624.JPG

The film was a neat one starring Christopher Walken called Percy Again I was bouncing from venue to venue taking pictures so I only caught a few minutes of this one. Seemed like a good film and I will have to make sure and watch all of it now.
 "image.png"

Copperlight


IMG_0637.JPG

The last venue on the agenda for the day was the Copperlight which is another recently repurposed church right downtown. It is an historic building known as Knox Church up until recently when a new ownership group has decided it should be a "new home for local arts-based programming, exclusive events, as well as continued use by the church." Funny enough, this is my first through these doors.


IMG_0636.JPG

What a grand room! Big enough to make the screen look small and the crowd sparse. The sound was good and was accentuated by the cavernous old room. A great place to spend a couple hours enjoying a film!

32 Sounds


IMG_0634 (1).JPG

Seemingly made for the room, the film was called 32 Sounds about the elemental phenomenon of sound. "The film is a meditation on the power of sound to bend time, cross borders, and profoundly shape our perception of the world around us." Not your ordinary film for sure and a very neat selection for a festival that not only gathers people, but also exposes you to something you might not normally think to see.
 "image.png"

Sunday Brew?


IMG_0726.JPG

It is a guilty pleasure to enjoy a beer on days that end with Y like Sunday. I may showcase this one on one of the next #beersaturday posts. Here is the most recent one if you are into Mix Packs of your favourite type of beer..
 "image.png"


zekepickleman.jpg

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Sunday movie day for you?

Sort:  

The venues themselves are special for the outing to see the films.

Absolutely. The neat thing is that all of these buildings have been repurposed from churches or industrial buildings and this is the first time any of them have been converted into theatres.

Another reason for the community to gather and celebrate art in the middle of winter.

So good!

Sunday movie day for me!

Such an interesting day out and I know for sure you really made it s great day for your self. Thanks for letting us know how you enjoyed your day

Wouldn't be the same if I couldn't take people along with me. Thanks for taking the time to engage and share!

It's my pleasure, I hope to keep the fire burning in hive

It was really a beautiful Sunday from my side

The pictures are lovely and there are good write ups to back it up. The major thing I love is how it ended with a Beer
That’s the best way to chill and will be the last after a long day