Sort:  

I have known about it for some time. I haven't bothered to check any competition of Hive. It seems like they all fail sooner or later, no matter how much money they have behind them or how much hype they stirred. They either turn into plain Web 2 - and there's enough competition there - or they try to mimic Web 3 and fail.

You may be right, but I think its a mistake to assume that none of these projects will succeed, since all it really takes is to copy Hive with more up to date technology and properly market it.

Yes, that is true, which means, as Achim also said, that we need to keep evolving. And yet, most of them try to reinvent the wheel, and that gives us time. Hopefully, we'll use that time well.

I've navigated the Deso platform for a couple of weeks and I was amazed to see how few people there had ever heard about hive. I'm not even sure that the ones running the platform have heard of hive... They have a big project running with focus.xyz that attracts a lot of funds and eyes. They got listed by crypto.com because of that and it didn't cost them a dime.

I have told them on social media now that Hive/Steem got there first, but I have zero expectation that anyone will pay any attention.
I am 99% sure the operators know about Steem and probably Hive. You don't enter into a marketplace and spend that kind of money without doing the most basic research.